We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“still great island retreat” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koyao Island Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Koyao Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Ko Yao Noi
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
175 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“still great island retreat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

I consider myself already a regular customer - coming back again and it is still a great place to be. Great open air concept villas with lots of privacy, good and friendly service, food good and tasty (even so I would suggest to prepare a few new dishes - but this is perhaps only being a regular guest). I certainly will come back!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vie4you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Guest Relations Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear vie4you,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this beautiful review about your stay at Koyao Island Resort.

It was a great pleasure for all us here to welcome you for the second time.

We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed the open air, natural concept of our uniquely designed villas and are happy to hear that you enjoyed the fine food and the friendly service at our restaurant.

We will be sure to pass your very kind comments to our staff.

On behalf of Koyao Island Resort, we are looking forwards to welcoming you here once again in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Yours Koyao Island Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    538
    140
    32
    18
    10
See reviews for
173
424
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I've actually never stayed overnight in the resort but I know it quite well since I often go there as external guest. The receptionists provide a very warm welcome when entering the resorts property, the food and drinks are always yummie and the waiters and waitresses seem to have pleasure doing their job. The garden is in very good shape and the open villas - I was shown around once - are quite spacious and designed in a rustic but also elegante and beautiful style. Being there in the morning time you get to see spectacular sunrises over the unique limestones of Phang Nga Bay - breathtaking! Make sure you get up early enough at least once during your stay to witness this spectacle. Do also not miss the Spa treatments - of course it's a bit more pricy than the massage salons in the streets of Phuket, but it's not only a price difference, it's more a difference of quality and service. Definitely worth it!
Furthermore the management at Koyao Island Resort does a brillant job and is always present and available for the guests. If there is any issue or open question the Guest Relations Manager and/or reception are happy to help and the F&B Manager is always present during meal times to take care that the service in the restaurant and bar runs smoothly - btw, the restaurant at the resort is situated in the garden area but you get a very nice view to the infinity-pool and sea.
So, if you are looking for a getaway from your busy live back home, Koh Yao is the right place to go to. You will find a very relaxed and laid back atmosphere, most adorable locals and Koyao Island Resort is a wonderful place to stay at. The best way to get around is by scooter, which you can rent at several places on the island, or by mountainbike. It's definitely worth to explore!
A very warm thank you to the Koyao Island Team for those many happy memories that we're sharing!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEtraveller88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Guest Relations Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear MEtraveller88,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

We are extremely happy to read how much you enjoyed your visit at Koyao Island Resort - It is always a pleasure for all of us here to welcome you.

We cannot agree more that our resort is situated at one of the best locations on the island and that it is a real treat to enjoy such a spectacular view over the Phang Nga Bay while drinking a refreshing cocktail in our garden and leaving everyday life behind you.

On behalf of our resort we would like to thank you again for this lovely feedback and we are looking forwards to seeing you back here once again very soon!

Best regards,
The Koyao Island Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I've just read the previous reviewer's comments and couldn't disagree more!
We also stayed in room 11 and were very impressed, in fact it exceeded my expectations, especially the enormous open air bathroom and wonderful views from the decking area. Bed was beautiful and comfortable and I loved the fact that there were no keys - I've never been anywhere else where this has been the case and it only added to the very special feel of the place.
There is plenty of room around the delightful gardens to lounge around, with sun loungers in abundance. The pool is smallish but fine, with a fantastic view over the bay. Beach was better than I hoped as well. Yes, there is coral etc washed up but it is a beach after all and doesn't impede swimming in the balmy ocean and is long with beautiful golden sand.
Thought the service was very good. Stefanie, who I'd emailed a couple of times ahead of our visit to check our reservation etc, introduced herself when we arrived and knew our names. She greeted us the next morning to check that everything was OK. All the other staff were friendly and they work all day to keep the garden looking lovely.
Breakfast was good, added bonus of an egg station, which I always enjoy! Didn't eat in the restaurant at any other time so can't comment further on this.
Used the kayaks which were fun, and got soaked but this is the nature of the beast!
Really we had such a wonderful time at the hotel that it will leave some special memories. The views to the karst islands are just so stunning I simply stared for hours.
There's a couple of restaurants within walking distance. We had a fun night at La Luna, unexpected Italian pizza and pasta place about ten minutes away on foot. Very busy and we waited a long time for our pizza but a good buzz and worth it.
Anyway, can't recommend this hotel highly enough. Koh Yao Noi is definitely worth a visit as it's so peaceful and unspoilt.
Oh yes, had a couple of massages at the spa. Very relaxing, and even got to see a monitor lizard as I was drinking my tea post massage!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Xanadustar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Dear Xanadustar,

Thank you for your kind words!

We are very happy to hear that your beautiful open air Beach Villa exceeded your expectations and in contrast to our previous guest comments, who were staying in the exactly same room.
As you have already mentioned that the fact of having no keys makes our place even more special and free. It is a very safe and relaxing environment in which you can really appreciate being away from western constraints. We are very happy that you enjoyed and made the most of this freedom.

We are delighted to hear that you made use of our free kayaks to explore the stunning surrounding by sea... although you were soaked after the trip as you said it's all part of the fun!

It is a shame that you didnt have the opportunity to sample the fine cuisine in our restaurant, we are sure that you and your husband would have very much enjoyed our menu & our garden BBQ's which take place two times per week.

We will share your very kind comments with our team and we would like to thank you again for staying with us and for taking the time to write this review on TripAdvisor.

We hope you have many fond memories from your holiday and we hope to welcome you once again in the not too distant future.

Kind regards,

The Koyao Island Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

I apologize for the length of this review, however, these things must be noted.

Disappointing and dissatisfied pretty much sum up our experience at Koyao Island Resort. It presents as - maybe - a 3 star resort, while charging as if it were a 5 star accommodation. It is in need of a serious makeover, from the rooms to the grounds to the management.

The rooms are open air rooms - we were in #11. The open concept is a nice idea, but there is no privacy since anyone can walk directly in front of your open room. This was a bit unnerving as there are no locks on anything, so your room is accessible to anyone while you are away from it. Our room happened to be beside the path that lead to the bar, the spa and to the front of the resort so it was frequently travelled by guests. Fortunately there is a small safe in each room, however it wasn't large enough to hold my camera and lenses.

The beds had mosquito netting that was pulled down by housekeeping in the evenings. They also lit several mosquito coils throughout the bedroom and sitting areas. On this note, the housekeeping staff were very attentive to the rooms.

There was no air conditioning, but it was not required, and, there were ceiling fans that did do a good job of circulating the air.

The wicker chairs and wicker couch in the sitting area were well worn and the rooms in general appear to need some serious TLC.

The bathroom in the room had both an indoor area (toilet & sink) and an outdoor area (shower & sink). There was always hot water and water pressure for showers. The shampoo, conditioner, lotion and liquid soaps were all in well worn ceramic pump containers with their labels imprinted into the ceramic ( a bit hard to read). But, if one was not available with the correct label on it, they would stick a piece of tape over the label and hand write on it to rename the bottle. A bit tacky to say the least. (see pic below)

A minor issue was that there were no hair dryers in the rooms. Not a really big deal, but as we were in and out of the ocean, the pool and showers often, having dry hair once in a while would have been nice. For the rates being charged at this resort, it also would have been appreciated if we had robes to use during our stay. We did take advantage of the spa for massages and having a robe to come and go in would have enhanced that experience. As well as having the robes to lounge in during the evening as the sitting rooms are open to the outside.

The beach lounger mattresses need some attention and there need to be more of the available. As usual, many guests would claim their lounger in the morning, then vanish for hours leaving other guests without an available lounging chair.

The pool was small but adequate, however, the decking is in need of refinishing or replacement.

Our dining room experiences were, on more than one occasion, disastrous. The menu provides for various spicy options for the Thai dishes, however, when ordering non-spicy, this refers only to the amount of chili pepper resulting in spicy dishes if other hot spices are present. Or when choosing a different side dish, this too was not what was delivered. On a couple of mornings during breakfast, when the resort appeared to be particularly busy, many buffet items were in short supply - it was like they didn't plan enough food to feed a full house. The quality of the breakfast items were below average. The food was often cold and there was never anyone around at the hot prep. station to provide eggs, omelets, or whatever. You had to find a person to get something made. Then they had to fire up the cook elements for cooking. That individual should have been there from the start of breakfast to the end (7 am - 10 am) ready, burners on.

Staff absence was also true during "happy hour". The bartender had to be located if you wanted to get a beverage. Someone should have been tending bar during the posted times, otherwise, don't post the times! Also, during happy hour, drinks were 2 or 1. However, it was not "buy one drink and get the second of equal value free", it was "buy one and get the second SAME drink for free". We misunderstood this concept and ordered a margarita and a Tom Collins - same cost - different names. We were charged for both. Upon discussion with the food and beverage manager, we were surprised at his unprofessional attitude toward us and our concern. This transaction, in no way, cost that resort any more money than providing two same drinks, yet he was adamant that we pay for both. My husband said fine, he'd sign the receipt, but we were extremely dissatisfied with this silly policy and it would be better to give the guests more flexibility. Later during dinner the receipt was presented for signature by a waitress, not the manager, but he had removed 1 charge. From a management perspective, some serious training needs to take place here.

The music during dinner was also inappropriate as "trance" is hardly relaxing mood music. And the bar music at sunset, while looking out at the gorgeous view, was "dance"! We don't have an issue with either type of music, but they have their place and thump, bump and grind don't belong in either of these places.

The view of the islands was gorgeous out in front of the resort. However, the beach is tidal and consequently littered with broken coral and shells. It would have been nice if even a small section had been groomed daily. It certainly would have made the view even more pleasant.

Kayaks were available for use to paddle about in. However, they were not maintained nor were there enough of them. Some of the kayaks were missing interior storage covers or proper seating or seat tethers. Many of the paddles were cracked or broken right off. We took one such kayak out only to have it fill with water, tip and sink while we were in it out in the sea. Luckily we are both experienced boaters and good swimmers. However, we lost some possessions and damaged others. Once back at the resort and having reported this to reception and the Customer Service Rep, we were surprised that no one seemed overly concerned. They were busy with other guests booking tours etc., and even after some time passed, no one dropped by to check on how we were recovering.

After we had dried out, my husband had a second conversation with the Customer Service Rep and showed her why the kayak sank and explained what needed fixing and also explained that had we not be capable swimmers or had a child been in the kayak, someone could have drowned! At this point I think it sunk in. She was most apologetic and, to her credit, did offer us a massage to compensate for our botched afternoon excursion.

The other issue with the kayaks, as I mentioned, was there were too few available. When the tours went out in the mornings, they would take 1 or 2 kayaks with them. So anyone left at the resort did not actually have access to a functioning one. This was extremely disappointing for us and others as we expected to be able to have use of them as advertised. It is a simple and not terribly costly fix to acquire a few more.

There are tours available through the resort. Kayaking through the caves, trips to other islands, James Bond island, kayaking through mangroves. etc. They are expensive though. The tour guides are knowledgeable and did know how to beat the crowds to some of the locations of interest. Unfortunately, some of the kayaking into the caves could not occur because of timing and the tides. This tidal issue is not the fault of the long tail boat operators or guides, but the resort should provide all pertinent information to guests when they book such tours. Tides are affected by lunar cycles that vary during the year and they should know what is good and when it is a good time instead of trying to sell something that isn't fully possible. It only adds to the disappointment of the guests.

There is a nature boardwalk trail beside the resort - actually between the Six Senses resort and Koyao Island resort. It is a joint effort between the government and Six Senses that is open to the public. It is excellent and informative, but no one told us about it. We stumbled upon it while wandering around on our 3rd day. We enjoyed taking the walk each day and saw many interesting creatures along the way. There is also a Hornbill nesting on the resort that was most interesting and a monitor lizard that gave us a show one afternoon.

The spa offered various massages and other treatments. It is more expensive than going out into "town", but the massages we had were excellent and less costly than in North America.

The resort also had motor scooters for rent - 1/2 day or full day. And there were bicycles available to use free of charge as well. However some of those are in need of servicing also. The island is not very big and easy to get around, although there isn't too much to explore.

Prior to arrival, we had arranged a taxi from the Phuket airport to the pier, and a private long tail boat transfer from the pier directly to the resort. All went smoothly. It is however, quite a long boat ride compared to a speedboat. On the return, we opted for a tuk-tuk to the pier, a speedboat ferry to Phuket pier, and a taxi to the airport. Again all went smoothly and all was arranged through the resort directly.

Overall, I do not feel that we received value for our dollars at Koyao Island Resort. For the price charged, staff should be more attentive, sufficient lounge chairs and kayaks provided, the facility and equipment better maintained, and the dining experiences improved.

Some of the staff appeared to be under-trained for their position, including the food and beverage manager, and this gave an unprofessional air to the resort. It also appeared to be without adequate management as a new GM arrived on our last day there. Not once did this stay feel like a resort experience. It does have potential, but needs some serious work and staff training and professional management to bring it up to the level that they portray the resort to be at.

If you can afford it, try staying at Six Senses up the hill from here. We had a couple of meals there and spoke to their Guest Experience Manager and had a tour. Lovely, and staff are truly guest focused there!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HardCurves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Guest Relations Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Dear HardCurves,

Thank you very much for taking so much time out to write this lengthy review of our resort. We are sorry that you didn't fully enjoy your stay here but we do appreciate your feedback and would like to take this opportunity to respond to some of your points.

We are firstly very happy that you enjoyed the refreshing sea breeze in our beautiful open beach villas. These are uniquely designed to offer a real feeling of luxury but with a natural feel. It is a shame to hear that you felt that you lacked privacy in your villa, and we are surprised that you say that a lot of people walked past your villa each day. Actually the location of your villa means that only the occupants of 4 other villas may walk this way and this is only if they decided to take one of 2 routes to the restaurant/bar area. Most of our guests give fantastic feedback about our villas and choose to visit here specifically because of the natural feeling environment they provide. We try our very best to meet the needs and satisfy our guests requirements during their stay, if you were unhappy with your room this was never mentioned to us during your stay. If you had made us aware we would have ensured that you knew of any alternative solutions available for you to maximize the enjoyment of your time. We do provide hairdryers at the hotel for use, it is a shame you hadn't asked during your stay for one from our reception.

It is great that you wanted to try the local food here. Thai food is known for being spicy, although it is possible to have meals made without chili, a lot of curries for example are made from a variety of herbs and spices and can therefore mean the dish is still a little spicy. We are sorry that you didn't enjoy our authentic Thai dishes but there are many western options also available for guests that already know that they don't enjoy spicy food.

Our breakfast is served between 7 & 10 am, during busy times between 8 and 9 a large number of people can come at once sometimes and some of the food options may deplete but are always quickly filled up. This is a tropical climate and we would prefer to fill up the food provisions at the breakfast buffet as opposed to over filling and having fresh food out in the heat for any longer than is necessary. There is someone attending the egg station at all times during the morning. We are a very eco-aware resort and we would never see it necessary to keep a burner going at all times over the 3 hour breakfast period, as gas burner takes just a few seconds to warm up as required.

The area surrounding the island was unfortunately affected by the devastating tsunami here in 2004 meaning that broken shells and coral are washed up on the beach twice per day with the movement of the tides. Our staff here do their best to take care of the beach and surrounding areas but in some instances this is just not possible 100% of the time.

It is a shame that you had a bad experience with our complimentary kayaks. The kayaks do get water inside them when out in the sea and the plugs are pulled daily to drain them ready for the next guest to use. We have ordered new kayaks for our guests to use at their convenience and we now include a short explanation about ensuring that the plugs are in place in the kayaks during our introduction to all of our new guests to ensure this doesn’t happen again in the future.

It is a shame that you felt the management did not treat you fairly when you queried the 'happy hour' promotion. He acted in the way he saw best in the circumstance and felt it wouldn't be fair to make one rule for you and a different one for all the other guests who understood the advertised offer at this time. You ordered 2 separate drinks at happy hour and therefore were entitled to 2 additional drinks for free, it was not the case that you were made to pay any additional costs just that you would have received 2 drinks each instead of 1 each of the same drink. He then made a special exception for you by amending the bill anyway which was presented by your waitress, along with your dinner bill, to be signed at the point you finished for the evening. We are sorry that the Manager in question was not around to bring you the bill himself and explain what he had done for you but we can assure you that he did this with the best intentions.

We pride ourselves on hiring staff from the island as much as is possible to provide work to local people, which can mean that some of them do not have as much experience in the resort environment as others but training is ongoing in both service and English language and we are very proud of their progress and think that the service they offer is thoughtful and of a high level.

Our spa team are both highly trained and experienced in all treatments, whereas many of the masseuses in 'town' are not and do not need any qualifications to offer services. We offer a stunning and well maintained on-site spa to enjoy and relax in with fabulous staff and high quality products, hence the price difference.

We are glad that you were happy with the transfer organized by the resort but a little surprised that you had not imagined that a traditional Thai long tail boat may take a little longer to reach the resort than a speedboat. The long tail journey here is stunning and most people enjoy very much a relaxing introduction to their vacation and the novelty of arriving at our resort beach front in this traditional style.

This island is beautiful and unspoiled and visitors are fortunate to have stumbled across it. The level of exploration here is only limited by your imagination. You only need to ask the staff at the resort to inform you of various stunning locations to visit and activities to partake in if you so wish. The beauty of Koh Yao is that you really can relax as little or as much as you want to.

Six Senses is a 5 star luxury retreat and not really comparable to Koyao Island Resort. The cost to stay there is very much higher which is reflective in the services and environment that they offer. We offer value and quality for the amount that we charge for our accommodation and a very high percentage of our guests agree. Perhaps you could consider that level of expectation is too high in comparison with the amount of money you are willing to spend on a holiday.

We hope that, in spite of your disappointments you took many fond memories home with you.

Kind regards,
Koyao Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

First time on Koh Yao Noi. What a stunningly beatuful island. So relaxed and unspoilt. So little road traffic. I hope it stays that way for a long, long time. If you're looking for Thailand the way it used to be .... then this would be a great choice.

Koyao Island resort is set up on a beautiful part of the island. Villas discreetly and privately dotted around a large and lovely palm filled garden, with stunning views over Phang Nga Bay, and even wild Hornbills busy in the trees.

Let me start with the positives. Great staff - very friendly and helpful - both the 'farang' staff and the local staff were very customer service oriented. A very nice 'outdoor' dining room and the food served for dinner was excellent - both in the choices available on the menu, and the freshness and flavours of the dishes selected.

Here's where there's room for improvement. The villas, while spacious and quirky, are somewhat dated. I have no problem with 'rustic', however these villas, whilst having large and very comfortable beds, are very basically appointed and equipped. As has been stated by other visitors - 5-star accommodation prices, but 3-star villa experience.

The same could be said of the public areas around the resort (other than the dining room which was, while basic, pretty well presented for dinner in the evening). Time for a refurb and an up-grade I'd suggest.

I applaud the use of natural materials which is in keeping with the location and natural feel of the island. However, a similar approach has been taken by Six Senses next door - but with a vastly different outcome. And although rates at Six Senses are twice those of Koyao Island Resort, I think the latter could achieve a better villa experience without investing as much as Six Senses have obviously done.

Breakfast was way too basic. Too little to chose from, and what was available was sadly way below expectations in terms of taste and quality (having experienced dinner the night before).

There has to be more to a 5-star rate than the natural beauty of the location. Unfortunately, Koyao Island Resort has room for improvement to truly have the experience match the price.

Room Tip: Villas on the South side of the resort have the best views and are closer to the nicer stretch of be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Guest Relations Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear davidamacdonald8888,

Firstly, we would like to thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We can't more agree how beautiful and unspoilt Koh Yao Noi is and we hope as well that the peacefulness of this island remains for a very long time.

As an eco-friendly resort it is a high priority of ours to use locally sourced natural materials as much as possible, which complement our surroundings perfectly.

It makes us really happy to hear that you enjoyed the fine cuisine at our restaurant and service provided.
Although it is a pitty that you found our breakfast too basic. We are very happy to let you know that we have re-launched our breakfast buffet selection to now include bacon & cheese selection as well as all the other breakfast options you would usually expect at a resort of this standard such as a selection of fresh bread, homemade jams, cereals, fresh fruits and our live cooking station with eggs & pancakes, as well as a Thai option for those that wish to indulge in the local specialties!

Some of our rooms have been renovated last year and we are planning to complete the remaining rooms very soon.

We hope that you have many fond memories of your holiday here and we are hope to welcome you once again in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Koyao Island Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HumptyDumpty77
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

This was supposed to be the highlight of our trip. The scenery is amazing, and Koh Yao Noi is nice downshift from the chaos of some other places in Thailand. But something bad seems to be happening at the Koyao Island Resort.

We experienced some astoundingly warm hospitality while in Thailand, and here it seemed nobody really cared.

One of the managers came up to us on the first night and introduced herself to us on 3 separate occasions, as if it were the first time, trying to get us to buy into the fresh seafood they had available at the restaurant. It was like she had been replaced by one of the clones from Invasion of the Body Snatchers - devoid of warmth and clearly not keeping track of what she was doing.

On a separate occasion, after dark, the ATM at our end of the island was non-functional. I asked whether I might borrow a scooter to zip into town for cash, and the woman at the front desk insisted I pay the half day rate and bring the scooter back full or face a penalty. Some may disagree with my interpretation, but it was the lack of warmth, the lack of interest in finding a fair solution that was puzzling.

The grounds are looking a bit tired. There were elements of our room that were broken. The floor drain cover in the shower was missing. The list goes on. Sure, it would be acceptable if the price reflected these inadequacies, but the price is high to stay here.

They have a peculiar New Zealand fellow running the grounds. He told us a heart wrenching personal story while we were in the pool. We felt deeply for him, but it made for an awkward situation. He also mentioned how things had fallen apart at the hotel (a large portion of the staff had quit).

In summary, I think the spirit of the place is lost. It is by no means worth the price of admission. Koh Yao Noi is quite lovely and accommodations are scarce, but if you are thinking of staying here, consider yourself warned.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HumptyDumpty77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear HumptyDumpty77

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this review.

As a resort we pride ourselves on our interaction with our guests to ensure that they get the experience they are anticipating during their stay here. Our Guest Relations Manager would indeed have welcomed you to the resort upon check in and would have then taken the opportunity to speak with you at dinner time, and perhaps as you have mentioned, at another point in the evening to ensure that you had everything you needed and were settling in well. This is always done with a polite and respectful attitude and never as you have described as a ' clone from Invasion of the Body Snatchers - devoid of warmth', which we regard as a very unnecessarily immature comparison on your part. The staff member in question receives very high praise and excellent feedback for her level of service and her warm and welcoming attitude on a regular basis.

With regards to your statement about our other staff member, it seems that in the circumstances surrounding your conversation, this person felt comfortable with you to discuss a personal matter. This is not a reflection of the resort itself and we therefore feel it is not appropriate to share this information or your personal opinion on it in such a public forum which is designed to offer future guests an overview of the resort itself and the facilities we offer.

Unfortunately the rental motorbikes here are managed by a company separate to the resort and we therefore do not have the authority to offer these as a complementary service in any circumstance. We understand that it could have been inconvenient for you that the ATM within walking distance was out of service but we are certain that our staff here would have done everything they could have to provide you with a helpful solution. We offer a 'tab' service which can be paid upon departure so it is not necessary to have cash within the resort itself, if you wanted cash for food or an activity outside of the resort you would have needed to rent a motorbike or use a taxi service for this anyway.

Our resort is in a stunning location and we have a team of hard working gardeners that tend to the grounds around the clock to provide a beautiful and relaxing environment reflective of the standard one would expect of a 4 star resort.

We hope you will have many fond memories of your stay with us.

Kind regards,

The Koyao Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

Hotel has a nice garden and is a in a very beautiful location, now having paid premium price over Christmas you except also to have some kind of premium services which you unfortunately don't get service level overall is really just close to a 3* hotel and we have been to 3* hotels that were much better than that.

Breakfast lacked of choices, juices were like cut with water, and service was horribly slow waiting for a simple fried egg could sometimes take up to 20 minutes I don't even mention the same music all the time. Prices for the lunch or the evening are also way over killed.

The room are open to the nature which is nice but if sleeping along animals and insects is not your thing don't go there. While large (one outside part and one sleep part which is a bit more closed) were not very well organized eg: to hang things / clothes, no in room wifi, no tv and rooms are left open as there were no keys. The bed was comfortable and there was a nice garden shower. Cleaning of room was not very good bathroom and toilets have never been cleaned properly during our whole stay.

Location is great just in front of the beach but a bit far from the village, they offer you free bikes during the stay so its not so much of a problem. The pool was nice also.

Overall this hotel has a feeling like a total lack of experienced management. They also seem to totally forget or care that people are there for holidays and want to rest, was it really necessary to start un-building work at 8 am just in front of the bungalows on Christmas day to remove the night scene and wake up everyone... Thai staff was very friendly though

Koh yao noi is a beautiful island and we will certainly come back but not in that hotel, there isnt anything that justify the price. We will either chose a much more cheaper option (there are many nice one on the islands) that will offer the same level of service or rather move to the higher end six sense option.

Room Tip: ask for a villa far from the construction noise as there is a new resort being build right to the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bugs667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management T, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Dear Bugs667 & Murie0912,

I will take the liberty of answering the last 2 reviews at the same time as they belong together.

First of all I would like to thank you both for taking the time to write these comments about our resort as well as your nice comment about the garden and the location.

We regret to hear that our resort did not meet your satisfaction during your stay. I would like to take the opportunity to explain a few thing you have mention.

We do regular price surveys with similar resorts both on the islands and on the mainland and we can assure you that our prices are adjusted and the same for our restaurant.

We apologize that you experienced bad service for breakfast, but please note that during busy time when 30 guests arrive on the same time it can be possible that you have to wait a little bit longer but meanwhile to bridge the time gap you can as well enjoy our breakfast buffet with a choice of bread, fresh fruits or a variety of cereals.

It is always one of the management in the resort and available to our guests, it is just difficult to speak to everyone very day when you have a 70-80 guests in house. We did mention to you that we are always available if there is a problem. Not once did you contact us or complain when we greeted you at breakfast on a few occasions during your stay.

To get everything ready for the Christmas Dinner, we had to start in the morning and if we would have started later you would complain that there is too much noise during the day while you were relaxing on the swimming pool.

In our concept we renounce to have TV and Wifi in the rooms so that our guests can take a break of the everyday life stress but nevertheless we do have a TV and Wifi available at the bar area, which is free of charge. We appreciate your comments about the cleanliness of the room and please rest assured that we take the measures that this won’t happen in the future.
Furthermore all our Villas are open air, which makes no sense to have keys, but still every room is equipped with a safe box for your valuables.

Our guests really appreciate that our resort is not near a village and as you already mention you can take our bicycles or a motorbikes but if you prefer a hotel near to the village, you might be better served in Phuket or Ko Samui.

We hope you have fond memories of your stay.

Best regards
Koyao Island Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Noi
1.9 mi away
Koyao Bay Pavilions
Koyao Bay Pavilions
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
6.1 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
0.8 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
10.1 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
8.7 mi away
The Tubkaak Krabi Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koyao Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koyao Island Resort

Property: Koyao Island Resort
Address: 24/2 Moo 5, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koyao Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our villas are built in the original Andaman Sea - gypsy style which is optimal for comfort and for the environment. We have used unique local resources with a traditional background while still maintaining, if not surpassing, all modern standards. The mangrove palm leaf roofs of our villas breathe and do not store heat, and air conditioners are definitely not needed.All villas have an undisturbed, spectacular sea view of the famous Phang Nga Bay and can be opened up to the stars at night - and in the morning the rising sun shines onto the beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Koyao Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koyao Island Hotel Koh Yao Noi
Hotel Koyao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing