We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NO room, NO apology, NO responsibility, NO care!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Koyao Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Ko Yao Noi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I booked, paid for and confirmed our booking for two beach bungalows (two couples) for seven days. There were emails back and forth to discuss ferries, timetables and our preference for bungalows.
We arrived and the staff greeted our friends but not us, I gave them our paperwork and they started checking in our friends but not us. I asked if there was a problem and was told that they didn't have a room for me because I had cancelled. Strangely enough, the second room was on the same booking! Fortunately, I also had copies of all emails and they were passed on to the manageress.
While we waited for someone to come and speak with us, I walked down to the 'infinity' pool. The bad feeling I had in my stomach suddenly got worse when I saw that the pool was green with slime, certainly not safe to swim in. I headed straight back to the others who were being given resort information. When I asked what was wrong with the pool, it's green, they said, Oh is it, we'll have to have a look at it! Was I having a bad dream?
Our friends luggage had been taken to their bungalow but they waited with us at reception until eventually, the manageress came back to say they did not have a booking for us. Worse still, they had no rooms available even though it was fully paid for.
This time she said it was the booking agent's fault even though I had given them all the supporting documentation to prove otherwise. The Manageress just kept repeating it wasn't their fault. There was NO Apology, NO Responsibility taken and NO Care whatsoever. I asked to speak to the girl I had been emailing only to be told that she no longer worked there. (We found out later that the resort has a very high turnover of staff including managers.)
She did suggest a nearby Bed & Breakfast might have a room and called a taxi to take us away. When asked her name, she wouldn't even provide that. I said I wanted a full refund, but, it wasn't their fault.
It was nearing dusk on a small island that has one main road. We didn't know where we were, all we knew was we had to find two rooms for the night. Our friends were not staying either.
Thankfully, we were able to get two beautiful villas at Villaguna where the staff were not only helpful but really friendly as well. (See separate review). The travel wholesaler, TripaDeal, were absolutely wonderful. They are refunding our money, guess what, the mistake was not from them.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
23  Thank Rhonda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (780)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 780 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2013

The location of this resort was good, far from the big city. I did really enjoy the view and had fun swimming in the sea, walking on the beach.

We stayed in villa number 1 with the view directly to the sea, it was wonderful.
However, right next to our villa was a construction site, and they worked from 07:00 until 22:00!
Not good if you plan to sleep until late during your holiday here!

We complained about the noise to Stefani, the receptionist manager who was very friendly and helpful. She suggested us to move to another villa, but the view was not as good as what we had, beside one could still hear the noise from the construction site, so we refused. We received two vouchers for an hour massage to compensate the noise.

The first morning I woke up with little blood spot on the bed sheet and a little bug which I did not think was a bed bug at all. Who would expect bed bugs in such resort? I just assumed that little thing died because I sleep on it. But then there were bite marks on my left fore arm, my right arm, below my stomach, and my legs. It was very itchy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stevenanggrek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The location and the beach is first class. We spent a week there. The villas are obviously constantly kept updated and renovated and we got a recently renovated one (# 2). Since the buildings are "open" you have frequent animal visitors but the mosquito net keeps them away and this is part of the island experience. Room quality and service is good. Unfortunately there was a lot of construction work very close around the resort /which might even continue into the high season this made relaxation during the day impossible. Unfortunately there is/was no information about this although the construction sites seem to belong to the same property.
Breakfast buffet (eg, toaster did not work and was only replaced after complaining), restaurant offerings and the bar do not meet 5-start standard. All staff is very friendly and responsive. The pool and the view from there are definitely worth a visit and also the island hopping trips are a unique experience.

Room Tip: Ask if the construction work is done. Book the long-tail boat to get to the resort this is a unique...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank meduc11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wistin W, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Meduc11

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this candid review. We are glad that you liked the view from the villa and appreciate the friendliness of our staff.

We regret that you couldn't enjoy your stay due to the construction work next to our resort. Although we offered you a villa in a calmer part of the resort which you refused, we would like to apologize that the discount we offered you didn’t satisfy your stay in our hotel.
Please note that currently we are modifying our menus in the bar and restaurant. Rest assured that we are taking your comment seriously as we currently are modifying our menus in the bar and restaurant.

Thank you again and we do hope you will return to the island
Best regards
Koyao Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Great location. Quiet, private beach with beautiful views into the bay.
Accommodation is rustic, 'traditional' and trying to appeal to wealthier couples who fondly remember their 'back packer' days.
Restaurant food and service is poor.- walk 400m down the road to Chan Restaurant for quality food from a family restaurant.
Grounds and gardens are ok. Looks like a work in progress. But will take much more planting to becoming anything more than it is know - lawn with random trees.
snorkling equipment poor and water NOT clear. Some old badminton nets doesn't impress.
A few of the Villas (number 4) have bats and giant geckos in residence. Giant Geckos are VERY loud!! 4pm -4am; so don't expect great sleep. We moved villa's after first night because of this.
The island is wonderful, like Ko Samui 25yrs ago. un-spoilt and great to investigate.
When you read up about the resort - DON'T BELIEVE THE HYPE.
Generally not good value. The staff need alot of training and to put it into practice.
P.S Villas are OPEN. No locks, just blinds and trust for security.
i would go back to the island but would not necessarily go back to the Island Resort. It could be so much better. It SHOULD be so much better at the price.
I've travelled through out Thailand and SE Asia, so was not naive as to what to expect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jon0024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wistin W, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear Jon0024

Thank you for taking the time to post your genuine review and we are happy to hear that you liked the view from your room.

We apologize that our hotel didn't correspond with your expectation and that geckos interrupted you during the night. Our beach villas are indeed all open air and the natural surrounding we see part of our resort. For guests who don’t like the open roof our panorama villa might have been the better choice, as they can be completely locked.
We are striving to take all necessary measures to bring our hotel and equipment to higher standard as well as we continually train our staff.

Thank you also for your comment about the unspoilt island which is truly a wonderful paradise.

Kind regards
Koyao Island Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Have visited several times over the past 9 years or so (at different times of the year) & always enjoy coming back. This is the perfect place to unwind & to recover from the tat and trash that unfortunately defines most of Phuket now. Apart from the salt water pool & beautiful low key grounds, there is a very clean beach which is safe for swimming & kayaking. Though there are now some air con rooms, highly recommend the non air con ones; you will miss the whole point of the resort otherwise. On my most recent visit there was no manager; it will be interesting to see what, if any, changes are made. Hopefully they will only be superficial: this place is a gem. Bring bug spray, a good supply of books & enjoy.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank laansa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wistin W, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Dear laansa

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

We are very happy to read that you loved our resort as well as the villa with all his natural charm

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
The Koyao Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We arrived early around 9.00 AM. Normally, the check in is at 2.00 PM, but our room was ready at 11.00 AM. The hotel staff was kind enough to let us use the hotel facilities during that time and welcome us with drinks and smiles.

The hotel staff is very kind and give you all the information that you might need. Tom, the manager takes his time to discuss with you and welcome you.

The hotel itself is gorgeous, with an amazing garden and swimming pool with view on the bay. We booked a See Breeze room with view on the sea, which was very nice and relaxing. Just staying in the room and listening to the sound of the waves ... Amazing !

Few negative point: no hot water in the shower, not possible to lock the door.

Overall, this hotel is excellent

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phuketlove45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KoyaoIsland R, Guest Relations Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear Alexandre K,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review.

We are very happy to read that you loved your stay with us. We will pass your kind comments on to our staff.

We hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
The Koyao Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

This resort was definitely the highlight of our recent trip to Thailand. We got upgraded to a family beach villa on arrival and our room was absolutely beautiful. I just love the open-style living of this resort. It is also quite small and intimate, which was also a bonus.

Thanks to Tom & Tammy (resort manager and his wife) for your hospitality and friendliness during our stay. It was great to meet you and leka to speak in our own language to Tammy!

We can't wait to be back at Koyao Island Resort!

I can honestly recommend this hotel and island to anyone who loves Thailand.

Room Tip: All the beach villas are absolutely beautiful. Room 16 (studio) is also great with a lovely view an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WilIls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KoyaoIsland R, Guest Relations Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2013

Dear IllsCar,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

We are all looking forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!

It was indeed fantastic to be able to speak Afrikaans - it does not happen nearly as much as I would like it to.

Best regards,
The Koyao Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Noi
0.6 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
6.1 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#1 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
780 reviews
1.9 mi away
Koyao Bay Pavilions
Koyao Bay Pavilions
#5 of 8 in Ko Yao Noi
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Island Hideout - Koh Yao Noi
0.2 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 8 in Ko Yao Noi
1,849 reviews
4.1 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 8 in Ko Yao Noi
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koyao Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koyao Island Resort

Address: 24/2 Moo 5, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range: $224 - $737 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koyao Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our villas are built in the original Andaman Sea - gypsy style which is optimal for comfort and for the environment. We have used unique local resources with a traditional background while still maintaining, if not surpassing, all modern standards. The mangrove palm leaf roofs of our villas breathe and do not store heat, and air conditioners are definitely not needed.All villas have an undisturbed, spectacular sea view of the famous Phang Nga Bay and can be opened up to the stars at night - and in the morning the rising sun shines onto the beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koyao Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koyao Island Hotel Koh Yao Noi
Hotel Koyao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing