We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Koyao Island Resort
Nearby Hotels
Six Senses Yao Noi(Ko Yao Noi)
$662
$576
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Koyao Bay Pavilions(Ko Yao Noi)(Great Value!)
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Kudu Hotel(Ko Yao Noi)(Great Value!)
$126
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise KohYao(Ko Yao Noi)(Great Value!)
$84
$63
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$136
$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$405
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mookdamun(Ko Yao Noi)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Katathong Golf and Resort(Phang Nga)(Great Value!)
$39
$37
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (830)
Filter reviews
830 results
Traveler rating
610
154
34
21
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
610
154
34
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsopen airfamily beachcomplimentary boat trippum puifree bikessea breezefree yoga classesother guestsmountain bikesmosquito netlong tail boatoutdoor showerthatched roofprivate beachlaid backtuk tukstunning views
Filter
Updating list...
397 - 402 of 830 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed for a week and enjoyed the location and size of the resort.
The villas are totally open which was good except for the mosquitos in the evening. The bed has nets but if you get up in the night, mosquitos tend to get in, so go prepared!! The staff provide coils and sprays, so they do all they can, but I did get a lot of bites!! We did have a few problems with the room, first thing, but the staff sorted them out.
The restaurant was good, we ate in 3 nights and went to local restaurants for the others.
We hired a moped for 2 days, from the hotel, and went round the island. Really enjoyed seeing everywhere. The resort provides bikes free of charge and also provides kayaks free of charge. Enjoyed both.
Well worth paying for the transfers, very efficient.
Make sure you walk through the mangrove area, in the Six Senses grounds.
All in all a very pleasant stay We thought it was the best resort on the island.

Room Tip: Some villas have more privacy than others, all being open. We had villa 13 and we were happy with it.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vgaymartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KoyaoIsland R, General Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that you liked our recently refurbished Villa 13.

I would also like to thank you for aknowledging that everything possible is done in the resort to keep mosquitos to a minimum. With an open air concept it is unfortunately unavoidable although regular fumigation is done.

Thank you again again and we hope to be able to welcome you back in the near future

Best regards
Regina Salzmann
General Manager
gm@koyao.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This resort delivers on all levels. That combined with the remoteness and the outer charm of the island and its people have given us lasting memories that could not have been found in a more tourist-filled destination. We truly loved it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaraB84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KoyaoIsland R, General Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time and post this review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us as well as enjoyed the Island.

We are very fortunate to be situated on lovely Koh Yao Noi, which is still very much authentic and unspoilt with a very laid back atmosphere.

We hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future

Best regards
Regina Salzmann
Genral Manager
gm@koyao.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Stayed here in aug 2012 and absolutely loved it.
This hotel is wonderful, has great attentive staff and everyone was really nice and helpful.The food is great, and its easy to get around from the location.
Me and my partner really enjoyed or stay and just booked to come back in aug 2013.
Thanks for last time
Disa and Sam

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank disaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KoyaoIsland R, General Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your kind review of your stay with us last year. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I will forward your kind comments to the team.

In the meantime we have done some improvements and hope we will be able to welcome you back in the near future

Best regards
Regina Salzmann
General Manager
gm@koyao.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

I would highly recommend Koyao Island resort for those who want to experience relaxation in wonderful surroundings. It is an open air style place and sleeping with the sound of the sea is divine. The team are also working hard upgrading furniture/rooms etc. The staff were very attentive and willing to help with anything needed.
It is definitely a "no shoes" sort of place which makes it so special. The beach is the best one on the island. The GM is working hard with her staff and we enjoyed our stay (1 week). The spa is really good with very good treatments and good value. Yes, the hotel has some rough edges but they are minimal compared to all the delightful aspects of this resort. Our room had new mosquito nets and the linen was changed daily.

We would like to thank Nok & her spa team and also Ms Salzmann, the GM, for all their hard work to make everyone who stays at Koyao Island feel special. We met at least 5 sets of guests for whom it was their 4th, 5th even 9th trip back to this resort.
We will definitely go back.
Our thanks to all the staff at Koyao Island.
Fiona & Rudy

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fhrpw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KoyaoIsland R, General Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Fiona & Rudy

Thank you very much for taking the time to share this lovely review. It was a pleasure having you here as guests and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay. I will pass on your kind comments to the staff.

We also appreciate your comments about the ongoing teams effort of upgrading and improving. There is certainly always something to do to keep us all busy.

Thank you again and we hope to be welcoming you back very soon

Best regards
Regina Salzmann
General Manager
gm@koyao.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

One of the best villa we ever had chance to stay in, if not the very best ! Villa Lydia is managed by Koyao Island Resort and located just a 5-10 min drive from the resort and 2 min from the beach. High class Villa is very spacious with breathtaking views from infinity pool and both bedrooms, built in the best traditions of Tropical House style. All is there for your comfort and needs. Apart from two bedrooms there many other rooms and relaxing areas plus big fully equipped kitchen. Villa is very private and surrounded by impressive jungle garden with exotic birds. Everyday cleaning is done discreetly by friendly villa's stuff. Service from the resort (including restaurant delivery) is flawless and there always someone ready to help with any quire on first call, be it question of a personal means, regarding the villa or boat trip organisation and such. Shops, restaurants and beautiful island bars are all within easy reach from the villa.
We are company of creative friends, and I must say we are very spoiled travellers )), but time we spent at this place was unforgettable, truly felt in love with Villa Lydia and Koh Yao island.
Phang Nga Bay is definitely one of the most beautiful places in our world.
One little tip - if you will be looking for nearest beach for swimming - the best one is at Koyao resort as there no rocks in the water and the sea view is what seems like hundreds little islands in front of you!! Almost unbelievable, we even found it hard to comprehend sometimes, as if it would be just a post card in front of us )
I am sure Villa Lydia will be also great for family or romantic vacation. There's perfect mix of style, comfort and relaxing, but in the same time inspiring energy in this villa.
* Special thank to Tammy and Mhee, who took great care of us.
Lali W.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaliWhisper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KoyaoIsland R, General Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Reviewer

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this very complimentary review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Private Residence and I will pass on your kind comments the staff

The Villa is a recent addition to Koyao Island Resort and with the added facilities of the Resort it has proven to be a very popular option for guest who require absolute privacy, but still would like to recieve the service and use the facilities of our Resort.

I would like to thank you also for the very kind comments of Koyao Island Resort and am happy that Tammy and Mhee where there to assist you.

We hope we will be able to welcome you back in the not so distant future

Thanking you again

Regina Salzmann
General Manager
gm@koyao.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews