We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the paradise we were looking for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Koyao Island Resort
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ko Yao Noi
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“the paradise we were looking for”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

from the moment we arrived we were made to feel incredibly welcome and the view from koyao is breathtaking, especially from the infinity pool! Tom and all the wonderful staff were always full of smiles and were incredibly kind, nothing was too much trouble. the resort has kayaks and bikes that are free to use making exploration of the island very easy. we stayed in a bungalow with indoor/outdoor living. there is so much space around it felt very private. we spent a lot of time sat in our open living room looking out at the view, absolute paradise. the complimentary afternoon tea and snacks helped add to the family atmosphere. the restaurant served delicious thai and western food and there is also a good cocktail menu in the bar. although we were very sad to go we also had one of the smoothest and most relaxing check-outs we have ever experienced, everything was organised for us without us having to ask. thank you koyao, we'll be back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank biba32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    557
    142
    32
    18
    10
See reviews for
181
436
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Fantastic stay - our room was simply heavenly with incredible views of the beach. Highly recommend hiring a scooter and driving around the island, or using one of the free kayaks at the resort to paddle out into the endless blue! Meant to be rainy season when we went but barely trickled once.

Essentially have your own private beach, the water is always warm! An infinity pool to spend time relaxing and a bar to enjoy a few cheap cocktails. The owner and staff are incredibly friendly - on one day a soccer game was organised in which all the staff and the majority of guests joined in, fabulously uniting experience - and this was in off-season! Might be better to lodge in the on-season as their appears to be more activities held every night.

Only negative were the prices of the food and excursions - if you do a little research you can find much cheaper options around the island (snorkelling and kayaking tours, restaurants and massages). Also the price of hiring a taxi compared to hiring a scooter for the entire day is incomparable - if you have little experience with one don't worry, their easier than riding a push bike.

Also while off-season can be much cheaper, the island is almost asleep! Most of the restaurants we wanted to visit were closed so you may have to consider going when it's high season.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GarethMorkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have always loved little island getaways..through recommendations, made our way from Phuket to Koyao on a 30min speedboat ride. The weather was excellent. The view, simply breathtaking! Highlight of our trip, Koyao Island Resort's friendly and charming General Manager Miss Regina Salzmann - thank you for a wonderful experience on the island..we will definitely be back!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Rachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KoyaoIsland R, General Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Rachel

Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We are delighted to hear that your and your husband enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your kind comments to the team

I also would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your personal recommendation, which has already resulted in another guest reservation. It is very much appreciated and please rest assured that your friends will be looked after.

Thanking you again for your kind comments and we look forward welcoming you back in the not so distant future

Best regards

Regina Salzmann
General Manager
gm@koyao.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

The most wonderful place and in such a fabulous location. The bungalows have so much character, whether the spectacular views of 'garden' bathrooms. The staff were wonderfully friendly and helpful, although the dining staff need just a little more guidance. Well done Tom for such suitable attention, without being overly friendly.

Sitting in the pool with the breath-taking views was such an amazing experience, whilst strolling along the private immaculate beach was so special.

We unreservedly recommend this to anyone, whether families or honeymooners.

We loved it so much..

Room Tip: Go fro the bungalows...wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KoyaoIsland R, General Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this nice review. We are dlighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your kind comment to both Tom and the team.

Thank you also for your comments about the service staff. With Tom placing great emphasis on staff training, we aim to constantly improve our service standards.

Thank you again for your kind recommendations which are very much appreciated and we hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back in the not so distant future

Best regards

Regina Salzmann
General Manager
gm@koyao.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed at the resort with 3 friends in August 2012. The location is absolutely superb, on the beautiful island of Koh Yao Noi. The food, whilst more expensive than in Bangkok, is absolutely delicious (which helps when you are a good half hour's walk from the nearest restaurant), and the breakfast, included in our rate, very filling.
We stayed in a family villa - very romantic, with walls on the side, open at the front with roll-up shutters, and a beautiful outdoor rain shower.
It is so relaxing to be able to fall asleep to the sound of the sea.
The service is exceptional, even by Thai standards. Regina and her deputy Tom go the extra mile to make you feel at home, and all the kitchen and bar staff are attentive without being constantly on your case.
If you need a break from the hustle and bustle of Phuket, this is the place for you, whether you're a couple in love, a family, or a group of girlfriends.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fralombardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KoyaoIsland R, Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Ladies

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review and a personal thank from Tom and myself for your kind comments. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed you stay so much and I will pass on your kind comments to the team.

Thank you also for your recommendation of our family villa, which is a very good option for a family or friends travelling together.

I would also like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind recommendation, which has already resulted in another guests arrival. We sincerely appreciate your support and hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the not so distant future.

Best regards

Regina Salzmann
General Manager
gm@koyao.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

it's a beautiful place, i went there with my friends and family. it is a beautiful place and very peaceful, it is a great retreat for everyone. the food is very good and the spa give the best massages. i really think that i will return again next year because i loved it so much.

the rooms are great, all by the beach and the ocean view is fantastic!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Isabelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KoyaoIsland R, General Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Isabelle

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted that you, your family and friends enjoyed your stay with us and I will pass on your kind comments to the team

Thank you also for your kind comments about the food and the spa, which is very much appreciated.

I am delighted to hear about your plans to return next year, which is the best compliment we can recieve. Please do not hesitate to contact us direct and I will be delighted to personally look after your reservation

Best regards

Regina Salzmann
General Manager
gm@koyao.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Spent a week there early this year with the family. Had a wonderful time. Beautiful resort & area. Was exactly what we wanted with very friendly staff. Definitely to be recommended.

The boat pickup was not cheap, but made a wonderful start & end to the holiday.

A couple of notes: The rooms are rustic / natural (some creepy crawlies in the open air bathroom). The hotel is also isolated, the best way to explore is either Kayak (free from hotel) or scooter (can be rented from hotel) which might not be to everyone's taste. Both of these items however added to the charm of the place for us!

Room Tip: Older rooms / huts nearer the restaurant looked better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nbfkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KoyaoIsland R, General Manager at Koyao Island Resort, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Dear Guests

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I will pass on your kind comment to the team.

I am also happy to hear that you enjoyed your experience by arriving by our traditional longtaill boat direct to the resort. It has proven to be a very popular choice amongst our guests.

The open air concept of the resort sometimes does invite small visitors, but I trust you were not disturbed as it is unavoidable on some occasions, although we are doing our utmost to keep unwanted visitors outside.

Thank you also for pointing out the availability of complimentary kajaks and mountain bikes available in the resort, as well as the opportunity to rent a motorbike. It certainly is the best way to explore the charm of the still unspoilt island of Koh Yao Noi.

Thank you again for your kind comments and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort in the near future.

Best regards
Regina Salzmann
General Manager
gm@koyao.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Noi
0.6 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
6.1 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
690 reviews
1.9 mi away
Koyao Bay Pavilions
Koyao Bay Pavilions
#3 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
1,804 reviews
4.1 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
638 reviews
10.1 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koyao Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koyao Island Resort

Property: Koyao Island Resort
Address: 24/2 Moo 5, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
#2 Spa Hotel in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Koyao Island Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our villas are built in the original Andaman Sea - gypsy style which is optimal for comfort and for the environment. We have used unique local resources with a traditional background while still maintaining, if not surpassing, all modern standards. The mangrove palm leaf roofs of our villas breathe and do not store heat, and air conditioners are definitely not needed.All villas have an undisturbed, spectacular sea view of the famous Phang Nga Bay and can be opened up to the stars at night - and in the morning the rising sun shines onto the beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Koyao Island Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koyao Island Hotel Koh Yao Noi
Hotel Koyao Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing