We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Ko Yao Noi
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (934)
Filter reviews
934 results
Traveler rating
577
193
93
36
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
577
193
93
36
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jacuzzi room plunge pool beach bar superior studio cape sienna activity center bumpy ride captive audience village tour local village al fresco remote location batik painting main restaurant rooms are beautiful yoga classes private beach
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 934 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

While the hotel is pleasant enough you should know it is right at the North Tip of the island with no shops, bars or restaurants anywhere near. You are basically trapped there for the duration of your stay. The onsite catering is mediocre at best and very expensive. You get better, certainly more authentic Thai food at Tesco Lotus food Hall for 1/4 of the price. Drinks are shockingly expensive, even soft drinks are marked up 1000%!
Although there is a longish beach all the sun beds are concentrated in one area making it seem very cramped and not at all private. The swimming pool is small, only a handful of sun beds and the water makes your eyes sting.
Staff aren't up to much. At check in the receptionist ignored me completely and only talked to my Thai wife. Quite rude I thought.
The boat schedule doesn't make much sense. You would think they would synchronise with check in/out times but they don't. This means you arrive at 12 noon and have to wait around 2 hours before you get a room. On check out you can either leave on the 09:30 boat, i.e. 2 1/2 hours early or check out at noon and wait for 3 hours for the ride back to the mainland.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank spacemonkey2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseKY, General Manager at Paradise KohYao, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guests,


Thank you for being our guest and for your feedback about your recent stay at Paradise Koh Yao

Your various comments have been noted and were discussed with the respective department heads.


Sincerely Yours.

Marc Landgraf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hide away gem of Paradise Boutique resort is breathtaking. Hidden amongst limestone cliffs and jungle with pristine water and sand.The low key atmosphere setting with hammocks swinging between the shaded trees. The open bars sitting around on bean bags watching the sun go down with a cocktail. If your looking for pure relaxation added with wonderful staff, scrumptious food, good spa, this is the place for you. The jungle so close is a good spot for a walk. The base room was spacious, clean and had a great swing seat to enjoy reading a book.
Highly recommend Paradise and defiantly want to return.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank chuckyMtGambier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseKY, General Manager at Paradise KohYao, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guests,

Thank you for choosing Paradise Koh Yao as your place for a break It was a pleasure welcoming you and we are delighted to read about your impressions of your visit.

We hope we will have the pleasure of a return visit to Paradise Koh Yao very soon and we look forward to your next stay with us.

With Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2019

During our stay, X000 Euros worth of Jewelry disappeared from our room. Because we noticed the incident just after the checkout and just before leaving to the airport, we notified the hotel by email just 2 hours after leaving the premises. We received an insulting reply. The general manager questioned our honesty in a very straight forward way. His response contained series of inaccurate facts aiming at proving that were dishonest people and that our allegations could not be trusted. This response is all the more surprising as we had were not asking for any compensation (as we had not put the jewelry in the safe). We just though that notifying the hotel of the incident was the right thing to do. It was not This totally ruined the memory of our stay.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Service
Thank ludovicdufetel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseKY, General Manager at Paradise KohYao, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guests,
thank you for your note and i do not think my email to you has been insulting but just giving facts that we do not have proper evidence that one of our team member has stolen your jewelry as mentioned by you and also questioning the fact that you raised the issue 2 hours after leaving the premises which came as a surprise to us
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2019

If you are looking for reviews of past guests, consider browsing some from the "Average", "poor" and if you would entertain some "terrible" reviews because I wish I did.
They give a pretty accurate state of the resort as well as a clearer depiction of what to expect.
Don't be fooled by the room rates to expect the 4/5 star resort standards. We all know sometimes prices are sometimes a good indication of services and products. Not in this case, NO.

I would write an essay about our poor experience on PKY but I think many prior negative reviews echoed my sentiments so I would try to highlight a few things without getting emotional.

1. 1hr+ check in, 1 hr+ wait for room "to be made"

2. The hotel grounds looked quaint and welcoming upon arrival on first sight. It could be seen as an ecological marvel at some point, weaving nature and comfort. But it has lost its glory over the years. It needs desperate upgrades from rooms to bathrooms to common areas. Some other reviews mentioned bugs, stench, hygiene etc Hence, it does not deserve what it is charging. You can find similar accommodations on the island for far less while offering much more.

3. If you are booking from their website, do not pay extra for the massage and cocktails. Our booking on a third party side did not show a package (booked room only) but it came with the free 30min massage, free yoga class, free cocktail beverages (everyone gets all these).
Except for the 2 cocktails, we did not get to enjoy any of the stuff because the timing was very restrictive eg staff blatantly informed us because it is "free", you can only have the massage during a small window and that happen to also be the breakfast hours.

4. The prices of everything is exorbitant, and they would explain that it is due to the high cost of living on Koh Yao Noi, to maintain the tourism or livelihood of the locals there. That is not true- We have a Thai friend who lives on KYN - whom we met and know from frequenting her restaurant in Krabi for many years.

No matter how much they are charging for service/things, they do not need to gouge their customers multi folds and call it "supporting the local economy". Yes, things are more expensive because they need to be shipped in, yes gasoline costs but c'mon overcharging is a totally different matter. You just drive your guests to somewhere else where they could find better value.

Meals are very costly by Thai tourism standards. Lunches and dinners are typically US$20-50 per person. For the first time in a hotel in Thailand, I resisted to indulge in an alcohol beverage with my meal. It was as if I was vacaying in Europe. Remember, you really have no choice unless you want to fast.

5. Julien, an inexperienced French speaking supervisor. I was appalled by his acute arrogance, lack of respect, insensitivity to some guests, including ourselves, and if he did not disclose his position, I'd guess his is a management trainee interning, still new to the hospitality industry. No sense of customer service. His lack of finesse and tactfulness in addressing guests is sad and a shame further bringing down the rating of this resort.

6. There is no common standards and services for guests. We were lucky a golf cart shuttled us and our luggage from the dock to the check-in desk (more than a 8 mins walk under hot sun and sandy across the frontage of another property). We saw some guests on foot the next day. Yet, we also saw certain guests gets preferential services like personal golf cart ferrying them from their rooms to common areas.

7. Families with kids, read the fine print. Not the notes on your booking website, but they expect you to go cross research and read the fine print on THEIR website.

Above 4 years old, pay US$33 or 1000THB each, for "breakfast". How much can a 3+ foot tall kid old eat? "Sorry, you pay or you leave." They tried to show us the door (after our boat left, and we waited 1+hr to check in). Hmm, some Thai hospitality maybe, Julien?

Julien got frustrated and complained they often get families with young kids show up so he inadvertently let out that this has been their recurring issue. By omitting the "maximum person symbol" that show the capacity of each room on the booking sheet, this is a sneaky disguise of the room's limitation misleading one to think like many other Thai/Asian hotels, kids under 12 are free.

We would have walked out but PKYN is on the tip of a peninsula with no other resort within the vicinity other than an adult-only next door neighbor resort. There is nothing around. No other hotels, restaurants, medical aid etc. So, when you show up you really are stranded. They fed on our vulnerability and took advantage of our situation. And it sounded from what we were told, this has happened before.

If they do not welcome families, they should just make it an adult-only resort. Do not lure us here and make us bleed.

8. We were looking forward to the raving comments of the friendly resort staff. Unfortunately, we did not experience the usual Thai smiles nor warmth arriving from a 2.5 week of traveling in other parts of Thailand. We did experience staff waiting around to get tipped (which we did of course) but did not see any change in their attitude/service. Exception was a sweet Thai waitress at breakfast who was genuine and sadly, the only person who carries a smile the whole time we were there.

I recommend staying elsewhere on the island until PKY buck up their act.

Date of stay: June 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank jinshui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseKY, General Manager at Paradise KohYao, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guests,


Thank you for being our guest and for your feedback about your recent stay at Paradise Koh Yao


Your various comments have been noted and were discussed with the respective department heads.


Sincerely Yours.

Marc Landgraf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2019

I went there with my family, we had an amazing time... Perfect atmosphere, friendly staff, very good food, and amazing breakfast.
Rooms are beautiful and spacious.
Beautiful and quiet beach.
The pool is quite old, only bad point.

Date of stay: March 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Salomé C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParadiseKY, General Manager at Paradise KohYao, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guests,
Many thanks for choosing to stay with us at the Paradise Koh Yao and for taking the time to share your feedback.
I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your very kind comments about the property and our team. It was great to see you enjoyed all our facilities.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Paradise Koh Yao.
With Kind Regards,
Marc Landgraf
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews