We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Thai food I've ever had”
Review of Chan Restaurant

Chan Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 28 Restaurants in Ko Yao Noi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $116
Cuisines: Seafood, Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Chan restaurant is located between Six Senses Yao Noi Hotel and Koh Yao Island Resort Hotel. Chan is the owner of Thailand. With over 30 years experience in cooking, and in Germany for 15 years, can speak English, German and Thai. We are serving Thai food, seafood, vegetarian and international. Open daily 12.00 pm. - 11.00 pm. Four days off a month early.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The best Thai food I've ever had”
Reviewed April 7, 2014

My wife, myself and friends ate there twice last week while we stayed at Six Senses next door.
The restaurant is physically very basic but clean. Not air conditioned but covered so that we could appreciate the thunderstorm one night.
The food was spectacular! The first night, I had Tom Yum prawn soup. An amazing explosion of flavours with the freshest herbs, prawns and vegetables. The Tamarind Tiger Prawns for the main meal was also spectacular. Again, fresh vegetables, herbs and spices added to the great flavour and texture of the Tiger Prawns.
The next night was chicken cashew and chillie and a Massaman curry. Great basic Thai food again cooked to perfection.
The portions are large, the service excellent and friendly and it is not expensive.
I highly recommend this place. Some of the best food I have ever eaten.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steveedl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    21
    3
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Holbaek, Denmark
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best thai food ever”
Reviewed February 23, 2014

I would divide the experience of Chan in two:
The atmosphere and surroundings of the restaurant is not important here. The food is! And that is absolutely tip top!. Close to the best thai food we´ve ever had (been to Thailand four times). No matter which course we chose (between 10-12 different courses each time we came - and we visited Chan three times in six days) it was all perfectly and carefully prepared, always freshly ingredients, both fish, meat and vegetables. And always lots of it. The serving by Chan was amazing. Chan gets my best recommendations possible. Can´t wait to be back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vibeke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Family Restaurant”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I eat here on several occasions during our stay in Ko Yao and would highly recommend that you take the time to visit.
Located in between Ko Yao Island Resort and Six Senses. It offers customers a peaceful location.
The food was excellent and the staff were extremely polite and friendly.
We walked the 400 metres from our Villa at Ko Yao Island Resort, where the food did not compare to the delicious fare offered by Chan Restaurant.
We tried chicken dishes, prawn, squid and various noodles and salads. All delicious and reasonably priced.
The restaurant even supplied a 'Take Away' service, so that we could have a mid afternoon meal back at the hotel.
As we left, the restaurant was just having some water tanks fitted for keeping the sea food alive and fresh. We hope this work goes well and the food will taste even fresher and better.
Good Luck for the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jon0024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naded, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Chan Restaurant, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Thank you for you lovely feedback.We welcome and glad you like our food and place. When you come back to Koh Yao Noi. We welcome to serve you seafood again. Thank you very much. Hope to see you next time.
Best Regards
Weera Khammongkol
diamondtong@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Prawns ever”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

A real basic place but had some of the best authentic Thai food I have ever tasted. I asked the lady what she recommended, Tamarind Prawns - they were so delicious, my husband had a beef salad, we had extra noodles and drinks all for THB600.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bevmiller21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naded, Owner at Chan Restaurant, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you for your lovely feedback. We welcome and glad you like our food. When you plan to come back again. We are happy and willing to serve shrimp with tamarind sauce and beef salad that you like again

Best regards,

Weera Khammongkol
Diamondtong@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Smashing Authentic Thai food!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This place is fantastic! It may not be the most luxurious of restaurants but the food is simply second to none. It is all cooked fresh to order and is so scrumptious it is unbelievable. We ate like kings for less than £10 each including drinks and sampled the freshest seafood and most flavoursome curries you can imagine!

Yes the presentation may not be the fanciest, but frankly who cares when it tastes this good!! In fairness, the presentation was good, I don't get the comments on other reviews, everything came with salad and garnish, but if you don't like the fact that the crockery doesn't match, well...this isn't the place for you and you probably need to return to the comfort of your resort.

The staff are all Thai, and by that I mean native, non-hotel Thai, with limited English but you can be easily understood and they are all friendly and eager to please.

If you want authentic Thai food then you cannot get better than this on Koh Yao Noi. It was head and shoulders above the food in our 5* resort (Six Senses) and was within walking distance of it. Don't bother going any where else as the food will only disappoint if you like real Thai food. Je T'aime was perfectly pleasant but the food was sadly lacking in comparison to Chan. All the staff at the hotel eat there which in my mind must mean it is proper Thai food and it is soooo delicious!

I particularly recommend the Thai Yellow curry, the chicken in pepper and garlic (or prawns if you prefer) and the tempura prawns. All mouthwateringly delicious! Empty plates every time!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naded, Owner at Chan Restaurant, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comment. We welcome and glad Tom and Sophie enjoyed our food. We hope when Tom and Sophie come back to Koh Yao Noi again. We will have served chicken and shrimp garlic pepper. Prawns tempura and Thai yellow curry like you again.

Best regards

weera khammongkol
diamondtong@hotmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chan Restaurant also viewed

Ko Yao Noi, Phang Nga Province
Ko Yao Noi, Phang Nga Province
 
Ko Yao Noi, Phang Nga Province
Ko Yao Noi, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Chan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing