We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tic and Denny make Nam Tok a friendly, fun, easy going place to stay. I didn't want to leave!”
Review of Namtok Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Namtok Bungalow
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tic and Denny make Nam Tok a friendly, fun, easy going place to stay. I didn't want to leave!”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Relaxed atmosphere, read and chill in the hammocks, share the kitchen, good space to meet other travellers, great family meals, basic bamboo bungalows are fine with natural air conditioning ;) and the wooden bungalows look good. Near the pier, beach, local shops and great restaurants. You won't want to leave! Stayed 6 weeks ago and It's still my favourite island. Nam Tok is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francesssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
11
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pushkar
Level Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Namtok mainly because of the friendliness of the owners and the family atmosphere of the place - it really felt like a 'home away from home'! Denny is the most welcoming, laid-back person ever and the hammock chill-out veranda was a real meeting point for locals and other travellers alike. I stayed in a simple, yet lovely, bungalow with a view on the fish pond. Went for daily walks to the nearby waterfall ('namtok' in Thai hence the name of the Bungalows) and to the beach across the road. I could have stayed forever!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donatella65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Lets start with the good points...
It was a good price and by far the cheapest on koh yao noi but you do soon realise why it's so cheap if you have the basic room (like us). It's in a very good spot, just a 5 min walk to the local shop and a couple mins from a deserted beach. The only way you can get around the island is by scooter, we'd never ridden one before so we were a little nervous but the road (there's literally only one) is so quiet you can take it as slowly as you want.

Off the topic of namtok slightly... make sure you go to a restaurant called 'Para Bar' (it's not on trip advisor) as the food was amazing and by far the best meal/meals we'd had during our first 2 weeks in Thailand, to top it off the staff there were so friendly and funny it was unreal. A must go if your staying on koh yao noi (its the place shaped like a boat on the hill, you can't miss it).

Anyways back to namtok, now the bad points...
It was genuinely a glorified shed, it had panels missing so bugs and mosquitos could fly/crawl in freely! The panels missing from the walls weren't small either, 6inch gaps the whole way round at eye level! You'd think it would be fine as you get a mosquito net (think again), it had holes all the way through it and we got bit so many times... even if you did manage to keep them out then the bed bugs would definitely get you (counted the amount of bites on my girlfriends legs, 47!!!). To make a bad nights sleep worse, every morning we were woken up at exactly 5:30 by a member of staff singing for 10 minutes (really loudly and every day the same song).

So to sum up...
It's a shed with a bed in a good spot, however you could probably build your own shed on the beach and end up getting bitten less for a cheaper price, there's loads of trees on the island so it wouldn't be too difficult either.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PyeTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Lovely atmosphere. I got invited the day I arrived for a barbeque with fresh caught fish. Felt at home immediately. Everyday from then on I got invited to nice excursions. Danny is the best host you can imagine. He will show you around the island and beyond. Enjoy!

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Capoyoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arunee_Tik, Owner at Namtok Bungalow, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks so much for your review on Namtok Bungalow.
Hope to see you again soon
Tik
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

Denny and Tik are excellent hosts. Lots of chill hammock time, and great location. Several nights we had beach bonfires and fresh fish BBQ's. Denny went out of his way to show us all a good time. I stayed 5 days longer than planned because of their hospitality. Wonderful experience, great island, great people.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Backpacker-Koko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I've travelled around Thailand quite a lot and, in a country known for being laid back, Koh Yao Noi might be he most chill place of all. If slowing down and taking it easy is your objective, you can't find a much better place to do it than Nam Tok Bungalows. From one of the half dozen hammoks strung up in the main reception area you can cast your eyes over a beautiful garden and fish pond and let the day drift by. Hosts Denny and Tik make Nam Tok a friendly and enjoyable place to hang out, but if the motivation to move beyond the hammoks takes ahold of you, Koh Yao offers some amazing activites like climbing, deep water soloing and kayaking. The island is also tailor made for relaxing bike tours (no guide required). There is great food available at Nam Tok too, especially the family dinners, but if you have he chance, travel a couple of kilometers down to road to La Luna for delicious pizza and pasta by Romano.

Room Tip: Put your fan inside your mosquito net and tuck everything in tight. Aircondition is not necessary!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Douglas O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budoia, Italy
Level Contributor
111 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My husband and I arranged a deep solo diving trip with Mr. Denny of Namtok Bungalow. We had such a great time riding around Koh Tao Noi in the long tail boat with Mr. Denny. Then jumping in a kayak to hunt down the perfect spot for us newbies to try rock climbing. The experience was amazing! I felt like a child giggling over every jump into the warm water. Halfway into the day we had a great picnic lunch made by the Namtok Bungalow crew and ate on a private beach in a hidden cove. I definitely suggest you give deep solo diving a try! It was so much fun!!!

Room Tip: We did not stay at the bungalows but they are located in a great area on Koh Yao Noi island with a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelSanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Noi
1.8 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
3.0 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
609 reviews
1.1 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#2 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Koh Yao Seaview Bungalow
Koh Yao Seaview Bungalow
#2 of 18 in Ko Yao Noi
73 reviews
0.9 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
1,777 reviews
11.1 mi away
Santhiya Koh Yao Yai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Namtok Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Namtok Bungalow

Property: Namtok Bungalow
Address: 4/4 Moo 4 Ta Kao, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich experience for reasonable price. We have two types of bungalows for your choice: budget and luxury, scooter, bicycle, boat and kayak rental available as well as fishing, camping , climbing and deep water solo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Namtok Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing