We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff and good eats”

The Goodview Restaurant
Ranked #12 of 29 Restaurants in Ko Yao Noi
Price range: $3 - $36
Cuisines: Thai, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Description: The restaurant is on one of the most beautiful locations you will find in Thailand. We specialize in FRESH seafood, you can pick your fish or lobster from the aquarium.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great staff and good eats”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

A little bit of a hike, but worth it. Really fun and friendly, accommodating staff with a great menu. During my week on island I went with a group of three, twelve, and seven, and each time we were comfortable and well attended. Great for grabbing a couple of Singhas or an assortment of appetizers and main courses. A go-to for Thai food on island.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nicoya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    20
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Reviews, Average in Reality”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Was excited to try The Goodview since it has such high ratings and is even boasted by Andaman Adventures (travel agency). Was expecting great things but it was only average. Staff was in what appeared to be PJs and seemed to be a little disconnected/jaded like they didn't want to be there. There was a group of guys who did an hour long sound check, hearing the mic whistle, and "test" for an hour long was distracting...

The Thai dishes were good--chef has a heavy hand in salt. Rice didn't come with any of the dishes so we had to order everything separate. Drinks were good, recommend the Pina Colada. Didn't get the hype. Plenty of restaurants on Yao Noi with a "good view" and good food to boot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Traveling_Polkadot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great little restaurant!”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This restaurant was in a lovely location, which had a great view during the day. We went at lunchtime, by moped and liked it so much, we decided to go back for dinner by taxi.
The food was delicious. If you like fresh seafood you'll get it here. A local fisherman arrived when we there and brought his catch. They have an area to keep them alive and then you can choose and they will prepare!!!
Good service, very reasonable prices and pleasant surroundings, set by themselves, what else does one need?

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank vgaymartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vereeniging, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent View”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Good food, reasonably priced. Loved this restaurant. The staff were extremely friendly. The cocktails very yummy. I recommend the Mojitos. Complimentary fruit after my meal an added bonus.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Divediva22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent fish”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We turned up on an evening of torrential rain, so we were almost the only people there. I expect the views are lovely, but it was dark! It was a nice touch that the waiter put little bottles of mosquito repellant on the table with our menus. Although we were already deeted up, a top-up is always welcome, and there were plenty of the little horrors there. We wanted fresh fish, and certainly go that as we were invited to the fish tanks to choose our dinner. Not for the faint hearted, but I reckon if you're going to eat it, you might as well look it in the eye. Anyway, the meal was excellent, the staff friendly and despite being the only customers, we didn't feel pushed out at the end of the meal, though they were obviously going to close up.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anjistar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Goodview Restaurant also viewed

Ko Yao Noi, Phang Nga Province
Ko Yao Noi, Phang Nga Province
 
Ko Yao Noi, Phang Nga Province
Ko Yao Noi, Phang Nga Province
 
Ko Yao Noi, Phang Nga Province
Ko Yao Noi, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to The Goodview Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing