We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorite places to stay in Thailand”
Review of Suntisook Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Suntisook Resort
Ranked #2 of 8 Ko Yao Noi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of my favorite places to stay in Thailand”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Suntisook is located on the island Koh Yao Noi (KYN). KYN is small and peaceful muslim island that hosts some of the best rock climbing in Krabi. Suntisook is a small, family owned and operated resort conveniently located in walking distance of the beach and main pier. Its bungalows are very comfortable and clean and priced affordably. The food and service are both excellent. I hope to come back and stay here again soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cogitate_At_Altitude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    18
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
22
59
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Home isn't a crazy expensive chic and trendy room with monochrome strait-edge furnishing. Home is vibrant, colourful, warm, inviting, and relaxing.

This lodging is definitely the latter. With individual cabin-rooms plenty of space and all you need. Loved how it felt warm and each bungalow had swing chairs and hammocks to just unwind and enjoy the atmosphere.

Also had a great selection of food available and rental options. Very friendly, helpful, welcoming, and pleasant family-run business. Always greeted with a smile and interest in our comfort.

Definitely recommend and hope to find myself here again in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vak88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magdeburg
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This place is acutally on Koh Yao Noi and it's very beautiful.
It's owned by a Thai family and they do everything to make you feel comfortable. It's an easy 10 minute walk from the Pier (coming from Krabi), people come from all over the island for their food (yummy!!), bungalows are very clean and nicely decorated. Suntisook has everything you can ask for and I would highly recommend staying at this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank die_christin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina del Rey, California, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We weren't expecting to stay as long as we did. We arrived on a rainy, gloomy evening and could barely see where we were. We were able to choose from a few of the bungalows and though they were all very nice, we chose the one that suited us best in the back corner, with a view of what we knew to be ocean beyond the dark haze. We had dinner, which was good and well priced, and called it a night.

We awoke to the most beautiful sunrise. Phang Nga bay is just off the coast, and watching the colors bounce off the limestone and low tide proves for a spectacular sight. We ended up running out to watch it almost every morning. It really is on the best part of the island. It is quiet enough that you don't have to worry about hoards of people, and there's enough nearby to grab a bite when you want. But then there's always Suntisook's kitchen, which is a very good option indeed.

As for the Bungalows, ours was said to have a double bed, but I'd call it a queen. It was a bit hard, but in comparison to the rest of our beds in Thailand, fairly comfortable. (I think Thais like a really firm mattress) The room was clean and was cleaned every day and water replenished in the mini fridge even if we hadn't finished the two from the day before. The bathroom had two showers, one hot water and one 'natural rain'. This worked out nicely because my husband always needs a bit of warmth to his water, no matter the outdoor temperature, and i prefer a cool shower in the middle of a hot day. And to be completely honest, the rain shower wasn't that cool. (but the AC was) There was a flatscreen TV and DVD player, and they have an interesting assortment of DVDs to borrow. Suntisook has a 'fleet' of motor scooters to rent and we also borrowed the kayak for a day to brave the Phang Nga Bay to see the limestone karst formations. Well worth it, but very tiring, and watch out for sunburns.

The family who runs Suntisook are very nice, and extremely accommodating. They always greet you with a smile, even if you show up for breakfast earlier than they offer it (we didn't realize the time). I highly recommend Suntisook to anyone who wants to find their lazy Thai paradise.

Room Tip: Go the extra mile and choose one with AC, it's well worth it. Also, be sure your front porch ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mochi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hadera, Israel
1 review
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed at Suntisook for about two weeks in the low season and enjoyed every minute. Chewy runs the place and she does a great job. She is an excellent cook and offers a variety of local dishes that we loved – prawn, chicken, fish – everything we tried was tasty. We actually preferred to stay and eat in the resort after trying some other restaurants on the island, because it was so good. Chowy’s good hospitality made us very comfortable and cozy. The hats are lovely designed and comfortable, some of them had just being renewed. The hats are not too close to one another and surrounded by beautiful garden with variety of plants, orchids and butterflies. The view from each hat is stunning, especially at dawn and sunset. The resort faces a beautiful shore line which changes dramatically over the day because of high and low tide. We spent a day or two without leaving the resort just exploring the near surroundings. There is an option to rent a car for a day and use it for travelling in the island. We highly recommend doing so because the island is beautiful and there are many places to explore. There is a television in each room and a library of books and movies that can be borrowed. We had a relaxing and comfortable vacation in the resort, and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: some rooms have been renovated lately, ask for those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We spent 3 nights in a comfortable bungalow in front of the bay. If you're looking for some quite location and a stunning view this is the place. The family running that resort is really kind and nice. Beds are good and have a moskito net. We took a room with fan which was enough as it wasn't so hot at night. Rooms are cleaned everyday.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexia_alessia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights last week (March 2012) after booking through a local thai agent(advice-book direct as they didnt know we were coming)
A small family run resort where nothing is too much trouble. The food here is really good(try the pancakes for breakfast!!)
The rooms are cleaned every day and we even managed without aircon at 1200bht per night.
Chewi even aranged for her husband to get out of bed early to take us to catch the 630am speedboat and waved us off with the rest of the family.Thankyou!!
Mopeds are available to help you get round the island which I would recomend.
Yao noi is a small island with really friendly people. A few more restaurants than its sister island yao yai but still retaining its thai character. Take the time to speak to the locals, you'll be surprised how friendly they are and how good their english is(though they wont admit it).Even if they dont speak english you can easily manage to communicate.
We would definately return, and my only hope is that yao yai and yao noi retain its character and dont succum to the power of commercialism!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karlnvicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Noi
1.7 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
2.9 mi away
Koyao Bay Pavilions
Koyao Bay Pavilions
#3 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
359 reviews
7.1 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
609 reviews
1.1 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#2 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
750 reviews
0.8 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suntisook Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suntisook Resort

Property: Suntisook Resort
Address: Baan Tha Khao, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Suntisook Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing