We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
119 results
Traveler rating
70
32
10
7
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
70
32
10
7
0
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 119 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent two days in Patong, then came here to Koh Yao Noi for the bulk of our honeymoon. Best decision ever. The island is small, pristine, genuine, peaceful, safe and wonderfully relaxing. Niramaya is a fabulous resort - gorgeous little apartment with separate living area and a private pool. Totally detached, too, you don't share walls with anyone else. Very private. Everything is clean, comfortable and stylish. The staff are lovely (as is everyone on the island), and have been very accommodating, including letting us check out late on our final day. It's low season, so there aren't many guests, which means we get our breakfast made to order every morning - fresh fruit, breads, eggs, pancakes, sausage. The restaurant is very good, but you should definitely try the other places the island has to offer as well.

The hotel hires out scooters for about $9AUD per day, and the roads are very easy and safe to zoom around on - you can get all around the island in about 45 minutes. It's a really fun way to explore and gives you a lot of freedom. Or you can just hail a passing tuk-tuk.

There are barely any tourists here at this time of year (September), and the beaches are pretty much empty. The weather has been glorious - only one day when it rained for more than 20 minutes.

Recommended activities:

do an island hopping tour on a longboat - we had a private tour with a local fisherman where we fed wild monkeys, snorkelled, went into terrifyingly enormous caves and saw many beautiful islands, one with a hidden lagoon full of starfish. Stunning.

Massage. The hotel can organize a variety of spa treatments at the resort, or you can go elsewhere on the island for a bit cheaper.

Cooking class: we did the Tappee Thai Cookery Class with Mina, a local chef, in her lovely traditional home. It was AMAZING - we made our own coconut cream and milk, then cooked ourselves a delicious five course meal, and Mina emailed us the recipes at the end.

Eat. There are lots of little local restaurants, and we've had the most amazing Thai curries and fresh seafood. There's nothing better than sitting back with a beer and an amazing plate of fresh Thai food, looking out over the ocean, dotted with islands.

Don't come here if you want a party town. Come if you're looking for an unspoilt but luxurious piece of authentic Thai island life.

Room tip: They're all great. The family rooms are two storey, so have a better view and a slightly larger pool. But really, all are excellent.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank travelsofalili
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Great staff, super nice hotel owner and great location on an island that is not as touristic as the ones on the east coast of thailand. Stayed at a family villa and had a blast of a time! also a big pool for everyone and delicious food!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaddyPaddyPaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Holiday with our 10 yr old girls. The Island itself was the trump card with its laid back unhurried atmosphere. A destination as best as we could tell free of crime and hastles. I got the impression the tourists also maintain the laid back approach without taking liberties; admittedly we did visit in low season. The villa complex faces the main road with the sea immediately opposite. Main being subjective, as the traffic is light; the most common method of transport is moped. The use of which was a distinctly safer proposition than on the mainland. Try to stretch for a room with a small pool as it gives options if the main pool becomes busy. The complex layout means properties are close together, private aspects are not its strong point and the pool area could suffer from being monopolised by an overbearing family group. However resort was always quiet by late evening. Interior decor was good, rooms cleanly maintained and well equiped; our villa was a good size for us. Wife missed not having a bath, but the showers were large and worked well with both bedrooms having good size ensuite accomodation.(Did not notice unpleasant plumbing aromas as described in some reports) By keeping all doors closed once in or out and use of the air con, we did not find mosquitos to be a problem. However a prolonged drink on the terrace at night without masses of repellant would i'm sure produce a wealth of bites! Staff were consistantly friendly and helpful, making us always feel welcome. The drink and food on site was of a good standard but fairly expensive, worth mixing up with some meals taken in nearby restaurants, where its a little cheaper. The pool itself was in good condition and an attractive place to be. The immediate beach gave great views, but once you visit beaches on the island hops it suffers a little in comparison. Also the main negative in low season was not rainy days, as we were relatively fortunate with lots of sunshine, but rather the prevalance of jelly fish in the seas at this time of year, making even shallow dips a dicey undertaking. Not life threatening, but these can still spoil an afternoon. However we loved exploring the island with its attendant Water Buffalo and a myriad of exotic birds. Great frog and insect chorus at night, but the villa's are well sealed so they do not have to keep you awake. All in all can recomend this resort, perhaps avoid high season as will be expensive, and full occupancy may emphasise its slight lack of plot size. Resort does not have a great deal of competition on the island if you like your creature comforts. We combined a week on the island and 4 nights on the mainland in a larger resort, It worked well for us and possibly a good idea if you have older children or just like the bright lights in smaller doses.

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hiroshi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We loved this hotel. The remote island, and the quiet life was fantastic. Very welcome after leaving Phuket. The help here is amazing, the rooms beautiful, and our own private pool was our oasis. Rent mopeds and tour the island. great restaurant, they invited us to watch them cook.. a few other restaurants nearby. Very quiet and layed back - if you are looking for nightlife, do not go! great for families and couples out for relaxation. beautful sunrise views! recommend highly.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmsknyny
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We were very happy with our stay and the accomodation. The staff were excellent and the food that we ate there was very good. The villas have their own pool which is not clear on the wibsite so it was an added bonus. Good restaurants near by. A motorbike hire is necessary to get around the island. This is the best place to relax and enjoy the local atmosphere. We were there in low season and had the best weather and the place to ourselves. The cooking school and the island tours were all excellent. Homestays are also available,

Room tip: We had the villas at the front but the family rooms are two story and look like they would have a good view.
Date of stay: June 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racheala
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews