We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars holidays - high standards rooms and amenities, warm and professional welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Niramaya Villa and Wellness

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Niramaya Villa and Wellness
Ranked #3 of 7 Ko Yao Noi B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“4 stars holidays - high standards rooms and amenities, warm and professional welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

After spending 3 nights "lost in the wild" at the Paradise Hotel in the North of Koh Yao Noi, we were quite happy to go back smoothely to civilisation (=asphalt road to move around the island) at the Niramaya.
We weren't quite sure, but -surprise- the hotel is brand new, with top amenities! Each room is actually a villa, with it's private pool.
Each day for tea, they offer you plates of fruits or small cookies with a tea or iced tea.
The staff is not only attentive, and professional, but really nice. They even invited us to join their annual staff party in the bar next door!

The only down turn was the massage... that was made by the maid!
Your best choice in Koh Yao Noi

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laetitia g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    27
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
31
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2012

Niramaya was the perfect selection for us. The room was fantastic - beautiful decorated, comfortable, spacious. very nice bathroom. We also liked the private pool and outdoor shower. We spent a lot of time sitting on the front porch and even ate some of our meals there. The main pool is also very nice. breakfast is fantastic at Niramaya, everything you can want and then some. It's a small place so it doesn't feel like you are in a big resort. We like to do things ourselves so we don't really need a lot of hotel facilities, we wanted a nice hotel room and that's what we got. The staff is very friendly and if you need anything just ask them. The dinner at the hotel was good, especially the chicken cashew nut. But you should also get out and try other restaurants around, especially the Rice Paddy and the Pasai Seafood Restaurant...these were two of the best meals i have had in Thailand. The hotel rents scooters for cheap which i would recommend highly. Ko Yao is really a fantastic place and going everywhere by scooter was a real pleasure. we booked a boat trip from a guy named Alex, you can see his house on the main road, we had the long-tail to ourselves and it was fantastic.
We went during October which was fantastic, it did rain some but never for long intervals and the place was much less crowded. I would love to go back and would choose Niramaya again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MillerH03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skidder652003
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2012

We are currently staying here again after a brief few days in phi phi and Phuket which were both horribly overpriced and busy and pretty unfriendly. However we decided to return to Kho Yao Noi for the last few days of our holiday as this island is possibly one of the very last unspoilt and as of yet underdeveloped islands around here. We had a look at the Paradise resort and thought it very overpriced for what you got so luckily found this place - The Niramaya.
Firstly the service and friendliness from the manager is first class. The rooms really are luxurious with their own private plunge pools, free wifi and very tastefully furnished. The location across from one of the best beaches on the island is fantastic and you have 3 or 4 nice restaurants as well as the restaurant here to choose from in the evening. Moped hire is also easy ( the best and cheapest way to see the island).
We didnt book but had a little chat with the manager and got a great discount but I don't think that would happen if they were in high season. My only criticism would be that the girls in the restaurant aren't too friendly but they do their job well enough just don't expect a smile!
In conclusion I think there are cheaper places around but if you're after a few days of luxury at a very competitive price, I would recommend the niramaya . Now I'm off to the pool!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skidder652003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

We spent 4 days at Niramaya hotel in a family room, we were 4 people.
The room itself is really nice, with a living room on top of the 2 bedrooms, a sundeck terrace in the master, two bathrooms. One TV is in the master, the other in the living room, both could have been in bedrooms. Another strange setting is the living room light you need to turn off from the common room, still don't understand why the switch is not in the living room !
Another small cons in the room is the smell of sewage in the bathrooms, hardly hidden by citronella diffused in the villa.
Other beds are super comfy, and villa really nicely decorated.
Food at the restaurant is ok but slightly overpriced compared to surroundings which is understandable in view of the hotel standings.
Breakfast is ok, limited variety but what is proposed is good, and juice is squeezed, not bottled.
Staff warmly welcomed us and were smiling from the 1st to the last day, really appreciated that !
Private swimming pool is just cool !
Beach in front is rocky during low tide, but Koh Yao Noi is not the best place to swim or snorkel anyway. beachfront should be clean and properly maintained though, which is not exactly the case, but overall it's still cleaner that some really disgusting other beaches on the island. Really sad, in view of the potential of this island, but this is Thailand.

Considering the other resorts we passed by during our stay, I really think this is the best choice of the island. ( well maybe the 6 senses is even better, but the price as well...).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edpetave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chipstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2012

This hotel was better than we had expected and from the moment we arrived we new we had made the right choice.
The staff greeted us at the front of the garden and welcomed us with cold towels and a drink.
The layout is simple with 6 one bedroom detatched villas and 6 two bedroom two storey villas around the lovely main pool. We were upgraded to the family villas which was a bonus as they have the best views of the Phang Nga bay.
All the villas have their own jacuzzi pools just outside and each seems fairly private. The small restaurant served lovely food and if there was something you wanted that was not on the extensive menu, then the chef was happy to make it for you.
The location is perfect, with other restaurants, bars and shops within a few minutes walk.
Having looked at a few other hotels while we were there, we would not have chosen any other.
We did try a few other restaurants which were very good, Rice Paddy and The Good View who have their own transport to collect you from the Niramaya who were happy to arrange it.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom Villas are a bit more expensive for 2 people, but big enough to share with friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grahamjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

Koh Yao Noi (and the nearby island Koh Yao Yei) are easy to get to from either Phuket or Krabi airport - take a taxi to the shore (app. 500 baht per taxi) then take one of the regular ferries that serve both islands (app 200 baht pp). Airport to resort takes under one hour.

During our 6 night stay, we felt that Niramaya is like paradise. It is only a few years old, very modern & good layout of the villas, plenty of room and the resort is small enough to ensure the staff looks after your every need. The location is very good (one of the best sea views on the island), beach in front and several nice beaches nearby, and to explore the island you just rent one of their modern scooters for half a day or one day. You can even take the scooter onto the ferry to nearby islands, and discover those islands on your own scooter. Cars are rare on these islands (except for the taxis to pick you and your luggage up).

The resort pool is new, good size and each villa also has its own mini pool, a real treat. The villas are very clean. The breakfast is high quality, as is the food for lunch or dinner. Plenty of choice, the quality is high, it's not expensive, and the kitchen is much more modern & clean compared to most other restaurants we've seen. We love food and were so pleased with the quality that we had dinner in the resort most nights. The staff at the restaurant is exceptionally helpful and friendly, make you feel very comfortable and are very attentive.

We booked this trip as a last-minute and used tripadvisor to choose where we would stay. The reviews were good, but I would say that the resort was much better than we expected and our holiday is one to remember.

The guests at this resort seem to be a good mixture of couples and families. Every villa is private enough to ensure you are on your own if you want to be.

Perhaps one thing that needs to be improved is the wifi - reception in the villas is poor, unless if you go to the main pool or the lobby. But other than that I would say that everything is as good as it gets.

Room Tip: all rooms are actually very quiet even those near the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank worldtravellerLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

we stayed here for 2 weeks in a family villa and were their longest staying guests over Xmas/NY.
positives: while very close together , the villas at niramaya are lovely and comfortable, well appointed and modern.
the best staff members are Vichiean and Lek who are really accommodating, friendly and professional with excellent English. the cleaner we had was actually so friendly and worked so very hard and was always smiling.
during our stay we had one incident. very strangely a American/Scottish guest checked in and thought it would be a good idea to play bag pipes all through breakfast and then during dinner. really ridiculous as he was creating his atmosphere at the expense of destroying everyone elses enjoyment. this ruined our breakfast and evening. thankfully this stopped after one day after we complained . whether this was the result of our complaint or a sudden realization by the guest of how ridiculous he was , who knows! bag pipes in Thailand.its amazing how selfish people can be. what worried me here was that if it continued the thai management would not have been forceful enough to stop this.

what lets this resort down is breakfast time where the waitresses dont even say hello back or pour you a coffee. its strictly self service of what little is there. just eggs, pancakes, 2 variety of pastry, bread which was not very good quality, some fruit , 2 variety of yogurt and caned juice. that was it. no bacon, cold meats, beans, muffins, cheese or anything cooked other then eggs. it really left us bored very quickly and was obviously an economy measure but at a resort which charges these rates at rates itself at 4 star a better breakfast should be provided.
i think this resort has potential but they need to get everyone up to scratch to the same standard as Lek and Vichiean, & improve breakfast quality substantially . also at breakfasts the 2 girls do very little and wont even bring coffee to the table of the guests . when you ask for coffee they show you the pot.
i think if they dont improve the quality of service & food to match the quality of the villas it will let this place down in the long run. also, there is a beach across the road from them which could be maintained and cleaned so guests could enjoy it. little things like this really count.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank foodreview1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Noi
0.2 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
1.0 mi away
Koyao Bay Pavilions
Koyao Bay Pavilions
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
5.2 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
0.9 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#3 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.2 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 6 in Ko Yao Noi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niramaya Villa and Wellness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niramaya Villa and Wellness

Property: Niramaya Villa and Wellness
Address: 29/9 Moo 5, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Niramaya Villa and Wellness 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything at Niramaya Villa & Wellness aims to fulfill your desires if you are looking for a mind soothing, health restoring stay with contemporary luxury in harmony with Thai culture and style. Our 10 villas with private jacuzzi-pool are designed in an unique character in style and configuration. Enjoy sunbathing at our pool or beach. Treat yourself in our restaurant and bar, offering excellent Thai and Mediterranean cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Niramaya Villa and Wellness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niramaya Villa And Wellness Hotel Koh Yao Noi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing