We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and well decorated small resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Niramaya Villa and Wellness
Ranked #3 of 8 Ko Yao Noi B&B and Inns
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Warm and well decorated small resort”
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We spent 4 days at Niramaya hotel in a family room, we were 4 people.
The room itself is really nice, with a living room on top of the 2 bedrooms, a sundeck terrace in the master, two bathrooms. One TV is in the master, the other in the living room, both could have been in bedrooms. Another strange setting is the living room light you need to turn off from the common room, still don't understand why the switch is not in the living room !
Another small cons in the room is the smell of sewage in the bathrooms, hardly hidden by citronella diffused in the villa.
Other beds are super comfy, and villa really nicely decorated.
Food at the restaurant is ok but slightly overpriced compared to surroundings which is understandable in view of the hotel standings.
Breakfast is ok, limited variety but what is proposed is good, and juice is squeezed, not bottled.
Staff warmly welcomed us and were smiling from the 1st to the last day, really appreciated that !
Private swimming pool is just cool !
Beach in front is rocky during low tide, but Koh Yao Noi is not the best place to swim or snorkel anyway. beachfront should be clean and properly maintained though, which is not exactly the case, but overall it's still cleaner that some really disgusting other beaches on the island. Really sad, in view of the potential of this island, but this is Thailand.

Considering the other resorts we passed by during our stay, I really think this is the best choice of the island. ( well maybe the 6 senses is even better, but the price as well...).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank edpetave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    27
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
31
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chipstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

This hotel was better than we had expected and from the moment we arrived we new we had made the right choice.
The staff greeted us at the front of the garden and welcomed us with cold towels and a drink.
The layout is simple with 6 one bedroom detatched villas and 6 two bedroom two storey villas around the lovely main pool. We were upgraded to the family villas which was a bonus as they have the best views of the Phang Nga bay.
All the villas have their own jacuzzi pools just outside and each seems fairly private. The small restaurant served lovely food and if there was something you wanted that was not on the extensive menu, then the chef was happy to make it for you.
The location is perfect, with other restaurants, bars and shops within a few minutes walk.
Having looked at a few other hotels while we were there, we would not have chosen any other.
We did try a few other restaurants which were very good, Rice Paddy and The Good View who have their own transport to collect you from the Niramaya who were happy to arrange it.

Room Tip: The 2 bedroom Villas are a bit more expensive for 2 people, but big enough to share with friends
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grahamjewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Koh Yao Noi (and the nearby island Koh Yao Yei) are easy to get to from either Phuket or Krabi airport - take a taxi to the shore (app. 500 baht per taxi) then take one of the regular ferries that serve both islands (app 200 baht pp). Airport to resort takes under one hour.

During our 6 night stay, we felt that Niramaya is like paradise. It is only a few years old, very modern & good layout of the villas, plenty of room and the resort is small enough to ensure the staff looks after your every need. The location is very good (one of the best sea views on the island), beach in front and several nice beaches nearby, and to explore the island you just rent one of their modern scooters for half a day or one day. You can even take the scooter onto the ferry to nearby islands, and discover those islands on your own scooter. Cars are rare on these islands (except for the taxis to pick you and your luggage up).

The resort pool is new, good size and each villa also has its own mini pool, a real treat. The villas are very clean. The breakfast is high quality, as is the food for lunch or dinner. Plenty of choice, the quality is high, it's not expensive, and the kitchen is much more modern & clean compared to most other restaurants we've seen. We love food and were so pleased with the quality that we had dinner in the resort most nights. The staff at the restaurant is exceptionally helpful and friendly, make you feel very comfortable and are very attentive.

We booked this trip as a last-minute and used tripadvisor to choose where we would stay. The reviews were good, but I would say that the resort was much better than we expected and our holiday is one to remember.

The guests at this resort seem to be a good mixture of couples and families. Every villa is private enough to ensure you are on your own if you want to be.

Perhaps one thing that needs to be improved is the wifi - reception in the villas is poor, unless if you go to the main pool or the lobby. But other than that I would say that everything is as good as it gets.

Room Tip: all rooms are actually very quiet even those near the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank worldtravellerLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

we stayed here for 2 weeks in a family villa and were their longest staying guests over Xmas/NY.
positives: while very close together , the villas at niramaya are lovely and comfortable, well appointed and modern.
the best staff members are Vichiean and Lek who are really accommodating, friendly and professional with excellent English. the cleaner we had was actually so friendly and worked so very hard and was always smiling.
during our stay we had one incident. very strangely a American/Scottish guest checked in and thought it would be a good idea to play bag pipes all through breakfast and then during dinner. really ridiculous as he was creating his atmosphere at the expense of destroying everyone elses enjoyment. this ruined our breakfast and evening. thankfully this stopped after one day after we complained . whether this was the result of our complaint or a sudden realization by the guest of how ridiculous he was , who knows! bag pipes in Thailand.its amazing how selfish people can be. what worried me here was that if it continued the thai management would not have been forceful enough to stop this.

what lets this resort down is breakfast time where the waitresses dont even say hello back or pour you a coffee. its strictly self service of what little is there. just eggs, pancakes, 2 variety of pastry, bread which was not very good quality, some fruit , 2 variety of yogurt and caned juice. that was it. no bacon, cold meats, beans, muffins, cheese or anything cooked other then eggs. it really left us bored very quickly and was obviously an economy measure but at a resort which charges these rates at rates itself at 4 star a better breakfast should be provided.
i think this resort has potential but they need to get everyone up to scratch to the same standard as Lek and Vichiean, & improve breakfast quality substantially . also at breakfasts the 2 girls do very little and wont even bring coffee to the table of the guests . when you ask for coffee they show you the pot.
i think if they dont improve the quality of service & food to match the quality of the villas it will let this place down in the long run. also, there is a beach across the road from them which could be maintained and cleaned so guests could enjoy it. little things like this really count.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank foodreview1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

The Niramaya Villa and Wellness Resort certainly ranks of one of our best finds in many trips we've made around SE Asia. Made up of 6 one bedroom and 6 two bedroom individual villas with private pools (with jets) we were fortunate to have 6 days with the resort almost to ourselves! Why that was I don't know but you couldn't fault the place. We had a double story two bedroom villa that was appointed with anything you could want, beautiful clean rooms, soft beds, free wifi, well stocked mini-bar, private pool, lots of outdoor areas, patio, balcony, pool side loungers.
The staff we're very attentive and always anticipated our needs in advance, pleasant mannered all the time and nothing was ever too much trouble.
One note however, if you tempted by the "Wellness" part of their name the "spa" will not come up to expectations. There is no spa centre as such, you have a choice of treatments either in your own villa or by the pool or in one of the villas that has had the lounge area replaced with two mattresses on the floor, hardly a Spa and Wellness centre. However the treatments were very good, we had them everyday! Their advertising is a bit misleading in this regard and photos show treatments that aren't available, hot stone massage for instance.
Another point worth noting is it is very easy and cheap to get to the resort from Phuket. When we checked online for the options to get there it seemed a bit daunting and expensive, especially the boat trip which was quoted on many sites as being B3,200 for shared speed boat or B900 for a long tail boat. That added to a taxi from the airport to the Bang Rong Pier was starting to look quite expensive and may put people off. In reality let me just summarise what we experienced..
Taxi: Airport to Pier B500 (20 minutes)
Speed Boat Bang Rong to Koh Yai Noi: B200 per person (not 3,200) (30 minutes)
Taxi to hotel: B300 (10 minutes)

That's a lot less than you see online (and in the hotel brochure) so it was a pleasant surprise. Be careful at the airport, they will try and charge you B1,000 for the taxi to the pier which is ridiculous for a 30 minute trip, we paid B500 and even that may be a bit on the high side.

Dining at the resort is great (and very affordable) although i could quite understand why everything on the lunch menu was B200, a cheese burger, fish and chips or just a chesse sandwich. There are two "Italian" restaurants nearby which should be avoided at all cost, Padai Corner and La Pizzeria, very poor quality, not really cheap and rude or no servcie whatever. Try Je t'aime, excellant place run by a Danish/French couple. The hotel will arrange a taxi for dinner trips B300 return and the driver waits for you, pay on return.
Also would recommend hiring a motor scooter from the resort at B350 for the day (no extras), a great way to spend a day exploring this amazing little island.

Room Tip: Two two bedroom villas share a pool, No. 5 and 6 so try and avoid these (although they have the best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank WurlitzerOMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hongkong
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We went to Ko Yat Noi without any expectations. We were thrilled therefore to discover that staying at Niramaya Villas made it a very special experience.
Well designed,quiet ,friendly and helpful staff .
The only thing is that perhaps they could be more well informed about the excursions from the island . They proposed the usual island hops to the popular Hong islands etc.
However, it appears that it may be possible to go to Pele or Laem Sing Island or even the neighboring Koh Yat Yai - as we only found this out on the last day, it was too late to organise anything.
The island is peaceful, and though dining options are restricted , we found that Pyramid was great for good food at a reasonable price.
Certainly recommend this island over Phuket anytime

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Baliwanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2011

I had the most amazing time being lucky enough to spend 12 nights at Niramaya Villas. The accommodation was out of this world, first class furnishings and decor. It had a very luxurious feel to the villa with your own patio, separate living room and bedroom with a huge king size bed. It also had great bathroom facilities all with home made soaps and shampoo etc. Fantastic!! You also had your own enclosed private jacuzzi pool!!! Unbelievable. The restaurant was very nice, with excellent food. The staff were very attentive, and couldn't do enough for you. The staff and my family then organised a surprise birthday meal for me, complete with beautiful table decorations, hand made of course, a huge birthday cake, balloons and streamers all set up around the dining room. I had the most amazing, fantastic time and would love to be able to come and stay here again. You could not fault it, was made to feel like royalty!!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank harrietteee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ko Yao Noi
0.2 mi away
Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi
1.0 mi away
Koyao Bay Pavilions
Koyao Bay Pavilions
#3 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
359 reviews
5.2 mi away
Koh Yao Yai Village
Koh Yao Yai Village
#2 of 6 in Ko Yao Yai
653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Koyao Island Resort
Koyao Island Resort
#2 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
750 reviews
4.9 mi away
Paradise KohYao
Paradise KohYao
#4 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
609 reviews
1.1 mi away
Six Senses Yao Noi
Six Senses Yao Noi
#1 of 7 in Ko Yao Noi
1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Niramaya Villa and Wellness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Niramaya Villa and Wellness

Property: Niramaya Villa and Wellness
Address: 29/9 Moo 5, Ko Yao Noi 82160, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Ko Yao Noi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Ko Yao Noi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Niramaya Villa and Wellness 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Everything at Niramaya Villa & Wellness aims to fulfill your desires if you are looking for a mind soothing, health restoring stay with contemporary luxury in harmony with Thai culture and style. Our 10 villas with private jacuzzi-pool are designed in an unique character in style and configuration. Enjoy sunbathing at our pool or beach. Treat yourself in our restaurant and bar, offering excellent Thai and Mediterranean cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Niramaya Villa and Wellness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Niramaya Villa And Wellness Hotel Koh Yao Noi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing