We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Ko Yao Noi
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (626)
Filter reviews
627 results
Traveler rating
499
79
31
12
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
499
79
31
12
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool villa hornbill restaurant roti reading room third floor crab curry boutique hotel macaroons soft opening activity manager gorgeous hotel the guest relations manager small road deluxe room long island beach bag small luxury
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 627 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I'm going to try and give a balanced opinion here because the hotel could fall between a 1 and 5 Star review depending on your expectation of what a 5 Star Hotel should be, and the type of holiday you want to experience.

Let's start with the good stuff.

The views are spectacular.

The room (pool villa) was spacious, spotlessly clean and had the most comfortable bed.

Food in the hotel was excellent, with a wide, varied menu.

The staff, as you would expect in Thailand were polite and courteous at all times.

We were allowed to keep our room beyond the usual check-out time, which was most helpful.

If you are looking to use the hotel as a base to explore Ko Yao Noi and local islands then it is perfect.

Now to the downside.

If you are looking to just unwind, relax and spend the day around the pool, then be prepared to set the alarm for 7am.

There are insufficient sun loungers to meet demand, and the hotel management does not enforce the sun lounger policy - which should be to clear towels etc on unused loungers after 30minutes.

I would guess that there are only enough loungers to cater for 30% - 35% of residents when the hotel is full.

Admittedly we stayed over the Christmas/ New Year period, but even when occupancy in the hotel dropped there are insufficient loungers for the size of the hotel.

Loungers or rather the lack of them was the main topic of conversation, in and around the pool area during our stay, with many disgruntled residents.

Towels are also in short supply. We saw one couple, having returned from a day out having to wait for almost 1 hour for towels to be made available to them.

The (hotel) beach area could alleviate some of the pressure on the pool however on the day we arrived there were only 4 loungers on it, and the area was unkempt- seemingly abandoned.

Litter along with broken, discarded loungers in evidence - and not just because of NYE celebrations.

There are no changing facilities when arriving into the hotel (a must in any 5 star property), and being "invited" to change in the toilets was not what we expected - particularly as the hotel knows that some guests including us had been travelling for over 24 hours. To compound this our room was not available for a further 3 hours.

Now to the staff, and service. Always friendly as mentioned previously, but attention to detail missing in the bar, restaurant and around the pool. This could be rectified with training but at present falls way short of what would be accepted in a 5 star hotel.

Happy Hour is literally that - 1 hour between 4pm and 5pm - but has such a restricted choice, and drinks measures reflect the fact that you are paying half price .....plus 10% service charge and 7% local tax.

I would stay here again, but would need to be satisfied that the Hotel Management had addressed the pool situation at busy times, and that the service provided by the staff matched that of a Hotel with a 5 Star accreditation.

Room tip: Pool Villa. Quiet, private and spotlessly clean.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owlman2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capeandkantary, The Management Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi at Cape Kudu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Marky,

Thank you for having taken so much time to share your experience at Cape Kudu.
We are glad you enjoyed the location of our hotel and its views, the food of our restaurant, your Pool Villa room as the comfort of its bed, and that you were obviously pleased by the courteousness our team.

We are deeply sorry about the inconveniences you encountered and will really do our best to improve the level of service, especially around our swimming-pool, sand-promenade and at our restaurant to match your expectations.

We definitively hope to have the chance to welcome you again at Cape Kudu, with no defect this time

At Cape and Kantary Hotels, we actively support SOS Children’s Villages and the Thai Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. We do not serve foie gras, birds’ nest or shark’s fin in our restaurants and we also stand firmly against the exploitation of Thai elephants for commercial or entertainment purposes.

Yours sincerely,
The Management Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We stayed at the hotel over Christmas and New Year and the overall experience was average which was a shame given the price that we had paid for the privilege of staying.

We booked through Kuoni who advertise the hotel as a small luxury boutique hotel catering for adults and children over 11 years old.

We arrived mid-morning after nearly 24 hours of travelling and were advised that the room was not yet available and we would have to wait a few hours before checking in. I appreciate that the hotel needs time for other guests to check out of rooms and for housekeeping to clean and tidy but the hotel needs to accommodate early check ins with at least a room to change and freshen up.

We were offered the downstairs toilet and directed through to the bar where we could sit and wait for the room to be ready. Not a good start to the holiday but the weather was beautiful as was the view from the pool. We may have been unlucky with the hotel reception staff as further guests arriving appeared to have a tour of the hotel areas.

I had read the reviews about the beach not being great and I was hoping that the pool area would make up for the lack of beach. The pool itself is stunning with one of the best views that you will see in Thailand. However, there are not enough sun loungers and towels to accommodate the hotel when it is at full capacity. I know that we booked at peak times but I did not expect to have to be up at 07:00 to guarantee a sunbed. The hotel operates a sunbed policy that states that people are unable to reserve beds with personal belongings and that items would be removed if not used after 30 minutes. The hotel does not adhere to this policy but guests quite rightly began moving items and towels themselves.

The pool area has a jacuzzi section which came on a regular basis and was great however as this was a shallow area it also served as a Children’s play area. There were quite a few babies and toddlers at the hotel which was surprising given that we were under the impression that it was for adults and children over 11 years old. The kids loved the shallow area and some adults left their kids to play in the jacuzzi section un-supervised whilst sun-bathing away from the noise!

We enjoyed the food at breakfast and lunchtime and there is wide variety to choose from. My partner loved the Thai dishes and they can be spiced for your individual taste which is good. Service at lunch at breakfast and lunch varied depending on who was working. Some days getting a coffee could take over 30 minutes whilst on others it was delivered straight away. The restaurant staff appeared to be more pro-active if there was a Supervisor or Manager present otherwise some of the team were more interested with their mobile phones.

The hotel lacks a bar to sit in and have a drink and the staff do not seem bothered about promoting the drinks menu and missed a trick at happy hour time by only handing out cocktail menus when guests pointed out that it was after 4pm.

There are some great positives to this hotel, our pool room was beautiful and cleaned meticulously by hard working and friendly people and the same can be said of the hotel grounds. The grounds team work very hard and with genuine pride in their work.

Adrien the GM was very friendly and spent a lot of time circulating with guests to ensure that people were enjoying the hotel and island.

The hotel location and view is worthy of the 5 stars but it lacks 5-star service and facilities.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capeandkantary, The Management Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi at Cape Kudu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Anne,

Thank you for having taken so much time to share your experience at Cape Kudu.
We are glad you enjoyed the location of our hotel, the food of our restaurant, your Pool Villa room and that you were obviously pleased by the service provided by our housekeeping and gardeners teams.
We are deeply sorry that you expected more and really try our best to improve the level of service, especially around our swimming-pool and at our restaurant.

At Cape and Kantary Hotels, we actively support SOS Children’s Villages and the Thai Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. We do not serve foie gras, birds’ nest or shark’s fin in our restaurants and we also stand firmly against the exploitation of Thai elephants for commercial or entertainment purposes.

Yours sincerely,
The Management Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

the hotel is very nice, in a very nice position.right in front of the sea
the beach is non existing but there is a very nice swimming pool and you can rent a kayak to go out more.
food is ok, could be better in my opinion.. but there are alot of great other places to eat
just rent a scooter and go around

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 486michealt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capeandkantary, The Management Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi at Cape Kudu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear 486michealt,

Thank you for taking the time to send us such an enthusiastic review of your visit to Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi and for your generous recommendations. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you back with us again in the future.

At Cape and Kantary Hotels, we actively support SOS Children’s Villages and the Thai Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. We do not serve foie gras, birds’ nest or shark’s fin in our restaurants and we also stand firmly against the exploitation of Thai elephants for commercial or entertainment purposes.

Yours sincerely,
The Management Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Nice hotel, clean and pleasant room with a good view. Staff very friendly and welcoming, good variety of breakfast served. We didn’t eat in the restaurant as decided to eat locally instead so can’t comment on that...but they made us a super cocktail of the month before we went out! We weren’t there much so suited us perfectly...beach across the road (rocky like most are on the island so prepare to be disappointed if you wanted white sandy!). Pool area small but just enough sun beds to suit, however we were out all day visiting places (rented a super cheap bike form next door every day) so only chilled out around the pool on odd occasion.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank luciebird2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capeandkantary, The Management Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi at Cape Kudu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Luciebird2020,

Thank you for taking the time to send us such an enthusiastic review of your visit to Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi and for your generous recommendations. We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you back with us again in the future.

At Cape and Kantary Hotels, we actively support SOS Children’s Villages and the Thai Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. We do not serve foie gras, birds’ nest or shark’s fin in our restaurants and we also stand firmly against the exploitation of Thai elephants for commercial or entertainment purposes.

Yours sincerely,
The Management Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2020 via mobile

Just spent 4 nights at cape kudu when it comes to ticking every box they have it to a tee!!!!
From transfer and welcome not a minute waiting ( they are waiting for you)as in pic one ready to get ur heavy cases
Hotel beautiful and themed in a cool beach washed style
Food as good as it gets
All things included were spot on and as described
Staff omg they will do anything to make ur stay better just incredible
There’s a guy there RONNIE , every top hotel should have a Ronnie just made the stay perfect so attentive and great to ask for local advice
The guys and girls on reception so professional and welcoming
Couple of managers sorry don’t know name of guy he looks after the Porsche speedster always keeping a watchful eye on quality and lady maybe markle by name runs a tight ship
All in all this place is like a carlsberg place “probably the best place in the world “
Thank u cape kudu

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank anon187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
capeandkantary, The Management Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi at Cape Kudu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Anon187069,

Thank you for taking the time to send us this very informative review of your visit to Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the peaceful environment and the delicious food. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.

At Cape and Kantary Hotels, we actively support SOS Children’s Villages and the Thai Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals. We do not serve foie gras, birds’ nest or shark’s fin in our restaurants and we also stand firmly against the exploitation of Thai elephants for commercial or entertainment purposes.

Yours sincerely,
The Management Cape Kudu Hotel, Koh Yao Noi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews