We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific, friendly atmosphere”
Review of Mwamba Centre

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watamu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mwamba Centre
Ranked #19 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Watamu
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
233 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Terrific, friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Have stayed here on eight different occasions, and have greatly enjoyed every time. Set in a cluster of buildings just off the white sands of the Indian Ocean, rooms are basic but clean. The staff are very warm and friendly - and can help arrange excursions (e.g. safaris to nearby Arabuko-Sokoke Forest, Mida Creek, or Tsavo East/West game reserves, snorkeling in the Watamu Marine Park, day trips to Mombasa, etc.) as well as advise you on local attractions (shopping in Watamu and Malindi, visits to the Bio-Ken snake park, etc.). Meals are eaten communal style (except for breakfast), and there is decent wifi. Be sure to take advantage of local natural history expertise - opportunities to view wildlife (especially birds and marine life) abound, and folks at Mwamba can connect you with some terrific guides. Highly recommended for a memorable stay in the Watamu area!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank brocdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
4
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed at Mwamba as a volunteer for 3 months. I did not stay in their *awesome* guest houses, but in a more humble volunteer abode. The guest houses are always clean and comfy, with room fans to keep cool at night. I loved this place. They also feed you 3 delicious meals a day, if you won't be in for a meal, that's fine, too. The beach is gorgeous and you can get snorkeling boats right at the bottom of Mwamba's path to the beach. While I was there, two older couples (probably 60s) stayed in the real guest houses but also volunteered, I assume they received a discount. A wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Spent nearly three weeks here and loved it. It is really good value and the food is plentiful and healthy, with lots of vegetarian food, but meat every now and then for those who want it. The rooms are simple but comfortable, en suite and clean. It is right by the beach, so you don't need much else anyway. It is the sort of place where you soon feel at home, as the staff and volunteers are all very friendly; so you don't feel like a tourist, as you would if staying at a big hotel. In addition, staying here helps support the conservation work done by the centre, so you know your money is doing some good, as well as getting you a cheap and relaxing place to stay. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PiaffeTandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week or so & had a great time. Mwamba is right next to the beach & very chilled out. The staff are such lovely people & the communal dinner is delicious! Rooms are simple & clean with incredibly comfy beds. By staying here you're also supporting nature conservation in Kenya. We hope to return one day!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripadbeccer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We spent 10 nights at Mwamba Centre which was a real find. Located on the same white sandy beach as the main hotels at a fraction of the cost. The temperatures are ideal and very consistent making the crystal clear sea water warm. This is still unspoilt Africa. We went on safari (organised from the site at the cost of the vehicle hire and the driver), went diving to unspoilt coral reefs - fantastic just like on TV! Also we had a day trip in the Arabuko-Sokoke forest where we saw forest elephants, rare birds and the endangered golden-rumped shrew. The accommodation is clean and comfortable with a welcoming family feel about it. We cant wait to come back again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidCowburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2013

More a B&B than a hotel, this place is perfect for anyone with an extended stay in Watamu. I've stayed here on two occasions while doing research in the nearby forests and both times I found myself not wanting to leave. As an added bonus, there is close proximity to the beach and enough distance from the town to provide privacy. I will always choose A Rocha when I am staying in costal Kenya

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scorpdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Mwamba Centre is a beautiful and welcoming place, set right by a clear beach which you'll have pretty much to yourselves! The location is great, 5-10 minutes away from Watamu centre on a bike/car, walkable distance along the beach. As it isn't right in the centre, you can appreciate beautiful vegetation and wildlife (with a nature trail in a small forest right behind the centre!).
The staff and volunteers do their best to make you feel at home, and you'll quickly feel part of the community. It's a perfect -and economic- way to get to know local people, culture and dishes. This simple guesthouse provides a nice space to relax, as well as ideas for local tourism and activities. If you're looking for an uncomplicated, spontaneous and relaxed holiday, Mwamba is the place for you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ameline_P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watamu hotels
16.6 mi away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#13 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
16.0 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
16.1 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Jacaranda Beach Resort
16.4 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#2 of 26 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
12.0 mi away
Tishi's Farm
Tishi's Farm
#5 of 30 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mwamba Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mwamba Centre

Property: Mwamba Centre
Address: Plot 28 Beach Road | Mwamba, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Specialty Lodging in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As well as being a welcoming guesthouse, Mwamba is a field study centre for the work of A Rocha Kenya, an environmental conservation organisation. Visitors enjoy a privileged location, out of the busy centre of Watamu and only a few metres from a calm beach onto the Indian Ocean. The staff and volunteers are very welcoming and will be be happy to share what they're working on with you, you might even be invited to one of their bird-ringing session and discover beautiful local birds!This alternative to traditional tourist hotels introduces you to local culture, dishes and people, so you can truly experience a sense of Kenya lifestyle! By staying here, you will contribute to financially support our work in the local community. Main guest rooms have 2 or 3 beds, with en suite shower and toilet facilities. Towels and bed linen are provided, and all beds are provided with mosquito nets. Meals are catered for at lunch and dinner, and tea and coffee available throughout the day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing