We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“... and back again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean Sports Resort
Ranked #17 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 8, 2009

We were back for only a month this time and the days flew past. Friendly and relaxed, as always, with Helen and staff doing everything possible to make one feel at home. The Restaurant food and presentation is first class, and the Deck dining location superb.

Still love it. Well done OS.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MojaMbili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 199 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2009

There is a something very special about the light in Watamu. We spent nearly 3 weeks at Ocean Sports and I never got bored of the view or beach life. A full bunch of family and friends arriving in batches from the 16th Dec untill we finally all left on the 3rd January 09 should have resulted in a few family bust ups and at least some of the party being disappointed with their hoilday.

Ocean sports has it all. Our age's ranged from 7years to aged aunts of 50. The party is available if you choose to take part or equally you can find peace and space in stunnning surroundings. I had no concerns about my children enjoying real independence and the Ocean Sports staff are absolutely delightful.

If you are looking for a hospitable entertaining venue this is it.
It is Africa 'worts and all' - the water is not always hot, the morning coffee sometimes late, but Helen and her team resolve every minor issue with great humour and we all without exception had a fantastic time.

The Bateman team will be back !

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank WJDScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Having always stayed 'next door' we never realised what we were missing!! Helen and her dedicated staff could not have been more welcoming and friendly, ensuring our stay was special. Our teenage sons only long face came when it was time to leave and we hadn't included the much awaited New Years party!!

Nothing was too much trouble and any minor issues that did occur were dealt with promtly and with that wonderful smile.

We all miss Watamu, Ocean Sports and the friendships we made but there were no permanent goodbyes cause we know its only a question of time and well, yes pennies, until we return.

Stayed: December 2008
1  Thank showersLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2008

On a damp and dreary Sunday in UK thoughts turn to our recent holiday in Watamu and warm memories come flooding back of lunch on the deck at Ocean Sports Resort-without doubt THE best place in the world for Sunday Lunch. Fantastic food. First class location. Wonderful welcome from Helen and her staff. Top quality music-and .not too loud. Kikois and bare feet make for a relaxed ambience.Great bunch of locals and all the regular holiday folk who arrive in Oct/Nov and Feb/ Mar. What else could you want ? Only to be back in that wonderful place as soon as possible

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank NamaquaDove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

Had a wonderful few days of chilling at the coast. Great hotel staff - very helpful. Our Room overlooked the Ocean and was very clean with Aircon. Perfect for what we wanted. Tea delivered in the morning. Delicious Breakfasts. Dinner was average - a la carte menu is much nicer than the fixed. Huge and delicious tiger prawns. They organised Transfers but my advice is to get a local taxi company as the ones from the hotel are expensive. Also a gorgeous pool. The only thing to be careful of is the ice in your drinks - I think they make it with tap water, (unless you have a stomach of absolute steel) and both my husband and I suffered a bit.
Would thoroughly recomend that you stay here. Sadly the hotel is down on bookings since the troubles at the beginning of the year and everywhere is perfectly safe so go out to Kenya and stay in Ocean Sports!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ernie29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We had stayed at nearby hotels before, but Ocean Sports was easy to work with because of the scuba diving center there. We were pleased with the upgrade of the place, and the price is considerably less than other hotels in the area. The service was great, the food very good, and wireless is available in the bar. We also liked the less formal dress policy (men don't have to wear long pants for dinner). This is a great deal for the money!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank AfricaRose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2008

WOW !!!!!!

Just returned from Kenya and have had the time of our lives.
We were a little unsure of continuing with our plans following travel advice but decided to travel anyway and thank goodness we did.................

Ocean Sports resort definately has the wow factor. The service and the rooms were so lovely with excpetional views of the Indian Ocean and beautiful surroundings.
The rooms were clean and tidy with the housekeeping staff looking after our every need - you really know you are on holiday when coffee is delivered to your room every morning, its the only way to start the day. The walk along the beach before breakfast was so peaceful - if we were a little late back it didnt matter because at Ocean Sports they serve breakfast when YOU want it - we were constantly told .......... we are here for you ................

As a fisherman it was a real treat to see the catch of the day arriving at tea time and being weighed in. I booked to go fishing and had a great time - not a cheap day out but one worth every penny, professional and safe with the Hotel making all the arrangements - even when my alarm failed to go off they came to wake me up so I didnt miss out.

My wife enquired about a Safari and before we knew it we were on our way - a trip to Kenya would not be complete without this wonderful experience - we saw the big 4 and came back on such a high. even though the management have probably heard it all before they they patiently listened to our own experiences - thank you.

The restaurant at Ocean Sports offers a wide variety of dishes all cooked and served to a high standard, we were lucky enough to be there on Valentines Night where my wife was handed a selection of the most beautiful roses and we sampled and extravagent buffet.
Ocean sports also like to give to the community it is in and ran a charity night to raise money for the Kids of Watamu - it was so much fun mingling with the locals and enjoying the friendship of the staff, management and local clients - you are really made to feel like one of the crowd........so much so that we have already booked to go back for Christmas and New Year to celebrate in style with all our new friends at Ocean Sports - we know it will be a party !!!

It doesnt seem to matter what you enjoy doing it is always available at Ocean Sports Resort so Thank you to everybody there for making us feel so special - this really is the BEST resort with exceptional customer service.

See you at Christmas if not before.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank shania07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watamu hotels
2.6 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#7 of 26 in Watamu
285 reviews
3 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
0.7 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Sun Palm Beach Resort
Sun Palm Beach Resort
#18 of 26 in Watamu
43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#14 of 26 in Watamu
938 reviews
0.3 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#3 of 26 in Watamu
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sports Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sports Resort

Address: Mida Creek Road | P.O Box 208, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range: $97 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Sports Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The plaque on our famous 1952 bar boat states "Ian Pritchard sailed his boat through the reef and staked his claim right here. Cheers Ian!" And so the legend of Ocean Sports was born.Our ambiance is relaxed, friendly and barefoot chic. Frequented by a loyal following of East African residents and savvy overseas guests, many consider this being their second home.Located 20km south of Malindi Airport, within the protected Watamu Marine Reserve, our 30 rooms, suites and self catered cottage overlook Kenya's favorite, white sand beach.Our outdoor, ocean-side deck dinning venue is simply stunning! Freshly caught, sustainable seafood and local organic produce, inspired our French chef, Florian's new mouth watering menu choices. Delicious stone-oven piazzas and a 'daily specials' board, ensure something for all. Nature will nourish your soul! Our 14 acre plot boasts indigenous African fauna and wildlife that includes monkeys, bird-life and night bush babies. Low-tide reveals rock pool aquariums of sea life, crabs and even King George, our grumpy resident Moray eel! Turtles, dolphins and whales are observed further out to sea.Our name reflects our love of ocean activity and adventure. Deep sea fish with our professional charter boats to experience adrenalin hook ups. Blue water dive over sparkling coral reefs, all organized by our PADI scuba centre. Try kite-surfing, kayaking and boogie boarding - the ocean is your playground! Onshore we offer trail-biking, tennis, squash, hokey, beach volley and touch rugby. On weekends our resident DJ entertains all age groups in total harmony.We are "A small, stylish and sociable beach hotel for free spirits and active families in search of Africa" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ocean Sports Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sports Hotel Watamu
Ocean Sports Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing