We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like your favorite slippers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ocean Sports Resort
Ranked #16 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Ocean Sports has been here for years. It has its own character and needs no pretension. Under the present management of Emilie and Florien it is blossoming. The hotel seems well organised and the staff are friendly and efficient. The food is great and the location fantastic. E and F really care about their guests and create a warm and relaxing atmosphere. Just like your favourite slippers it gets more comfortable as time slips away. Stay as long as you can.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne T, Manager at Ocean Sports Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are thrilled that you both enjoyed your stay and found the hotel relaxing and comfortable. 'Your favorite pair of slippers' is a great comparison! We loved meeting you both and look forward to seeing you here again with the rest of the family.
Emilie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 197 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2013

A group of us went to a competition organised at the Ocean Sports hotel. The setting was superb, right on the beach. Although we were mostly there for a fishing competition, there are a number of activities that one can participate in, no doubt their excellent scuba diving facility being a popular choice. Everything was very well organised. The menus on offer changed regularly with enticing offerings. The staff were very good. Would certainly return there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ndole2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne T, Manager at Ocean Sports Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of Ocean Sports. It was great having all of you to stay and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your holiday with us. Hopefully see you back here next year for the next fishing competition!
Emilie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We spent 4 days at Ocean Sports having wanted to get out of Nairobi for some peace and quiet by the sea. The staff team including Emilie and her husband (and adorable son!) were very friendly and helpful and did us a good deal on a room as it was low season. We dived with the on site diveshop and whilst it was not quite the right time of year, we had a nice low key dive on the shallow reef which was good for beginners. The outer reef is only accessible when the weather and current are right (I think from November onwards - check conditions before you go.) The beach is very pretty, and the hotel's bar and restaurant did good quality, varied and well priced food and drinks. The rooms are basic for the full room rate price, but spacious, good supply of hot water and each has their own outside seating area. The bathroom could be upgraded but clean and tidy and the bed very large and comfortable. Tea or coffee brought to your room each morning in a thermos was a very nice touch. The hotel is walking distance from Watamu for a small selection of shops and restaurants, and there is a very good local restaurant (Peli pan?) a short tuk tuk away for a memorable meal. Much nicer place to stay than in Malindi if you are after a more relaxed beach holiday away from the large chain resorts.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JTC80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne T, Manager at Ocean Sports Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thanks so much for taking the time to write us a review. It's great that you made it to Ocean Sports and enjoyed your stay. I hope the rest of your travels are going well and look forward to seeing you here again one day!
Emilie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Visited for the weekend and was relieved to get away from the crowds and chaos of Mombasa. Have known Ocean Sports very well but have never had the pleasure of staying. The rooms were basic but clean and the beds exceptionally comfortable. Food was great and the pool very refreshing. Wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimmyray38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne T, Manager at Ocean Sports Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2013

Thanks so much for the review! Very happy that you enjoyed your stay, we enjoyed having you both! Look forward to seeing you here again.
Emilie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2013

Came here from Nanyuki on the recommendation of a work colleague. Had a fantastic week. Fabulous food. Excellent service. Great scuba diving. And all great value too! Can't wait to come back in November!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
Thank Scubadoc76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne T, Manager at Ocean Sports Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you so much for the great review. All of us here at Ocean Sports are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay. It was great meeting you and we look forward to seeing you again next month when the diving should be even better!
Best regards,
Emilie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The place is incredible with sea view from almost all the rooms. The service is excellent and the french manager allways available. We spent 5 incredible days here.

Dive center is also available and diving on the reef was a great experience with nice and competent instructors.

Restaurant is also great with reasonable price

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerome M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne T, Manager at Ocean Sports Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. We enjoyed having you to stay and are very happy that you had a good time. Thank you for the French books! Hopefully see you here again one day.
All the best
Florian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Having stayed at Hemingways last time we were in Watamu, we decided to have a change. We are so glad we did. Our friends who live near to the hotel had recommended it and with very good reason. Being early in the season it was lovely and quiet. We did encounter a few problems at the first breakfast, but the manager Florian soon put it right and everything was great after that. The food was very good and I have never tasted prawns so beautiful and tender. Florian is also a chef and one night cooked a large crab for my sister and I and it was fantastic. The lodges are basic but very comfortable with views of the sea and we loved the little veranda to sit on in the morning and enjoy the coffee which was brought to the room every morning. The atmosphere is really friendly and very relaxing. The food is reasonably priced and quite a contrast to the more formal hotel next door. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ghacker0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joanne T, Manager at Ocean Sports Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. It's great to see that you all enjoyed your stay and the relaxed atmosphere of Ocean Sports. We're looking forward to having you all back here again in the future for more prawns and crab!

Best regards,
Emilie & Florian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watamu hotels
2.6 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#18 of 26 in Watamu
157 reviews
2.7 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#6 of 26 in Watamu
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
811 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
0.3 mi away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#14 of 26 in Watamu
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Sports Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Sports Resort

Address: Mida Creek Road | P.O Box 208, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range: $91 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Sports Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The plaque on our famous 1952 bar boat states "Ian Pritchard sailed his boat through the reef and staked his claim right here. Cheers Ian!" And so the legend of Ocean Sports was born.Our ambiance is relaxed, friendly and barefoot chic. Frequented by a loyal following of East African residents and savvy overseas guests, many consider this being their second home.Located 20km south of Malindi Airport, within the protected Watamu Marine Reserve, our 30 rooms, suites and self catered cottage overlook Kenya's favorite, white sand beach.Our outdoor, ocean-side deck dinning venue is simply stunning! Freshly caught, sustainable seafood and local organic produce, inspired our French chef, Florian's new mouth watering menu choices. Delicious stone-oven piazzas and a 'daily specials' board, ensure something for all. Nature will nourish your soul! Our 14 acre plot boasts indigenous African fauna and wildlife that includes monkeys, bird-life and night bush babies. Low-tide reveals rock pool aquariums of sea life, crabs and even King George, our grumpy resident Moray eel! Turtles, dolphins and whales are observed further out to sea.Our name reflects our love of ocean activity and adventure. Deep sea fish with our professional charter boats to experience adrenalin hook ups. Blue water dive over sparkling coral reefs, all organized by our PADI scuba centre. Try kite-surfing, kayaking and boogie boarding - the ocean is your playground! Onshore we offer trail-biking, tennis, squash, hokey, beach volley and touch rugby. On weekends our resident DJ entertains all age groups in total harmony.We are "A small, stylish and sociable beach hotel for free spirits and active families in search of Africa" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Ocean Sports Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Sports Hotel Watamu
Ocean Sports Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing