We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“one of our best holiday!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aquarius Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Aquarius Club
Ranked #14 of 25 Hotels in Watamu
Roquebrune Cap Martin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“one of our best holiday!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2010

The hotel and rooms were properly cleaned every day as well as outside, gardens, beach and swimming pools. Concerning the food, the buffet was different every day and very good taste. Staff friendly and helpful.
January and Frebruary are the best months to visit kenya. Be informed that during these month, dry seasons, you do not really need to take Malarone treatment. Repellent is enough as there are not so much mosquitoes.
If you are interested in doing a Safari you can contact Thomas Mboya on facebook, we had a wonderful time with him!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kichuna2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    477
    160
    68
    44
See reviews for
115
571
41
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2008

Italian mass tourism at its worse, you feel like you are in the outskirts of Rome. We were moved around by the owner and ended up in the staff quarters over the electric generator. the owners were so rude. What a shame! The location is stunning, the beach is wonderful. The staff are all locals who have been trained to speak in Italian to the tourists, so they always speak Italian, quite surreal. If youwant to see Kenya avoid this place.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank carlotortora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2007

Dick and Penny Jenkinson
Kenya Holiday Sep/Oct 07
Travel BLOG

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Aquarius Beach Resort, Watamu where we had an excellent holiday. We booked the hotel through RCI weeks and were pleased with the quality of the hotel which was Italian run. The only problem was that everything was in Italian! As our room was not equipped to self-cater we chose to opt for the full board option at 2000KS per day per person. In hind sight the half board option might have been better, although there were not many other restaurants within walking distance.

The hotel has three distinct sites: the main part of the hotel with reception, restaurant, some accommodation and a swimming pool; Lily Palm with accommodation and a swimming pool and finally the Mapango restaurant with jungle bar and another pool. Our room was clean and comfortable overlooking the Lily Palm swimming pool.

Dream Safaris, who operate within the Hotel, offered a safari package of three different trips. First was a trip around Malindi walking around the old town markets and the beach front, also including a visit to the local orphanage. Second was Safari Blu, a trip to the reef in a glass bottomed boat with snorkelling and a barbeque on a sand bank. Finally we did a two day Safari to Tsavo East by minibus staying overnight in the Kiboko Lodge. The tour guides spoke adequate English and we were pleased with the trips, but I am not sure that we got the best value that we could have done.

Later, we were introduced to Julius Kenga Ndaa, a registered Tour Guide who arranged four trips for us. The first was a walking tour of Watamu and Timboni which was both informative and interesting. We then joined up with a South African couple called George and Ros for a day trip to the Gede Ruins, the Kipepeo Butterfly Project and the Marafa Depression (Hells Kitchen) geological feature. This trip also included lunch at Robinson Island which was truly magical. This is not a restaurant that you find by accident, it is in a very remote and beautiful spot and you have to book; Julius took care of everything. Julius then arranged transport for George and Dick to play a round of golf at Malindi Golf club and this was followed by another tour of Malindi including a good lunch at a sea front restaurant. Finally George wanted to go deep sea fishing in a sailing boat followed by cooking the catch of the day on the beach. Unfortunately the sea was too rough so Julius arranged a barbeque on an island just off shore which we reached by a local sailing boat. It was Penny’s birthday and Julius made sure that it was a day to remember. If you are in Watamu and are looking for an English or German speaking guide I would whole heartedly recommend Julius. Contact us for Julius' contact details.

  • Liked — Location by the Sea
  • Disliked — Split Site
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank dickandpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forli'
Level Contributor
269 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2006

First of all: this is an Italian Hotel, and this, for sure, means two things:
1) Italian people always choose the best places with the highest quality / price ratio;
2) places like this one can be unconfortable for people that are not Italian language speakers.
Having told this, this is a marvellous place where to stay, also for long time. Africa is fantastic, the nearby beach is one of the most beautiful I've ever seen, the sea is colored, but not the best in otder to swim, there's also high tide or low tide.
Food is not special, but very good for Africa. All the hotel is very exotic, rooms have mosquito nets, they're simple but clean and confortable with huge balcons overlooking one of the four swimming pools.
From the hotel you can organize Safari, excursions, etc.
Really a very beautiful vacation!

  • Liked — The atmosphere
  • Disliked — Some seaweeds
  • Tips/Secrets — Relax..
  • Stayed August 2004, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MichaelMancini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watamu hotels
0.0 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#16 of 25 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 25 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#1 of 25 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#6 of 25 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
0.9 mi away
Barracuda Inn
Barracuda Inn
#11 of 25 in Watamu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jacaranda Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Club

Property: Aquarius Club
Address: Watamu Coast Road, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#7 Spa Hotel in Watamu
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquarius Club 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Jovago.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Aquarius Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Watamu Beach Hotel Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing