We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JUST LOVELY” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aquarius Watamu Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Aquarius Watamu Beach Resort to your Saves list
Aquarius Watamu Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Watamu Coast Road | Watamu National Marine Park, Watamu, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Watamu
Castelfiorentino, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“JUST LOVELY”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Everything one can dream off for a romantic dinner out in Kenya! Great food (we had the mixed grill), lovely atmosphere, right on the beach. Staff is really nice and do their best to make you feel comfortable. One of our best dining expereinces in Watamu!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charthom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Targoviste, Romania
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

I can say that the maasais on the beach speak more english than the staff of the hotel. So if you don't speak italian don;t go there. The food is ok, also if you're an italian. very few african dishes or even iternational.
The major problem was with the sleep. You can't get any because it's always noisy. People come and go all the time and the maids wake up at 3-4 am to clean after those who just left.
The bar closes at 11 pm and they don't even let the water supply for the night, that's pretty cheap of them considering we paid 800 euros/person.
The animators always have better things to do, like lazing around and if they see you don't speak italian they don't really bother.
The only personas who kept us company were the masais who act as watch guards on the beach, they have low education, but they speak better english :))
Overall we got home more tired than we arrived, the hotel is a fiasco, impressive when you come along but the sopa bubble burst as soon as you get installed.
The rooms are ok, clean, the AC works only when in the room (they have a thing attached on the entrance key and that makes the AC work) so if you leave for the day you come back to a very hot room.
The beach is ok, clean, too little space for how big the hotel is.
I don;t recommend it to anyone!!!

Room Tip: Room 3, the AC works without the little key trick
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Aerandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We had to pay R2000.00 more per person as it was "High season" what a lie. 2/3 of the hotel was closed. No bars open, one pool & a very basic restaurant. No TV, No internet. We paid for all inclusive which was to cover local drinks & cool drinks. We could get a local beer during means, no wine & no spirits. Nothing bottled was allowed so we were left with water from a cooler & flat coke from a 2l bottle. When I asked for coke light - not available. South African wines that cost R30.00 in SA were offered for R170.00. Local beers were 5x the price from a supermarket nearby. They have signs saying that you may not bring your own drinks into the room. The ice machines were switched off. They had a list of cocktails available but could not make any as they did not have the stock. They advertise that it is a private beach - well it was covered by locals all trying to sell you drugs & their local junk. I asked about them and was told that they were 7th Day Adventists from the Hotel next door - absolute rubbish as it was closed. A sugar supplement was not available nor was tea or coffee available all day. They advertise entertainment - there was not even a bar open - no music ever. All the guests complained but all we got was "We are closing soon". All the guests complained about the sewerage smell but nothing was done. All signs are in Italian. The food was the same stuff everyday & the same grilled steaks and fish were out for 4 days. No cereal for breakfast, never any sweets at supper - no fridges no ice-cream. A lot of the guests ended up with stomach problems because the same food was kept for days - even fish, pork & chicken. No pizza was available as the oven was used to warm & cook the food. This made all the food smell the same & of wood. We lived on pasta for the week. They had no idea how to make a omelet and if you asked for fried eggs they were rock hard and brown. So breakfast was breads & fruit. Coffee from a urn that was topped up at lunch time & supper - boiled old coffee beans. There was NO manager available for the week

Room Tip: Do not go there
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Neville53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2011

I will start with the simple words: we have been ROBBED in the room WHILE WE ARE SLEEPING.
The management dont give any support and the prefer to hide this problem because they couldnt manage.
We have been stolen following: laptop, photo camera , money aprox 300 eur and our bag with beach little things.
hotel management did not try to make the slightest effort, police or both, the resort is guarded in their opinion, but in reality could come anybody.In same evening it was robbed at the same floor, another room near ours, were stolen mobilephones.
Our vacation was a total fiasco, all employees of the reception and event management tried to hide it and did not pay any compensation, and they did not receive our complaint.
If you want a quiet and leasant holiday DONT CHOOSE AQUARIUS BEACH RESORT WATAMU!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank limor2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roquebrune Cap Martin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2010

The hotel and rooms were properly cleaned every day as well as outside, gardens, beach and swimming pools. Concerning the food, the buffet was different every day and very good taste. Staff friendly and helpful.
January and Frebruary are the best months to visit kenya. Be informed that during these month, dry seasons, you do not really need to take Malarone treatment. Repellent is enough as there are not so much mosquitoes.
If you are interested in doing a Safari you can contact Thomas Mboya on facebook, we had a wonderful time with him!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kichuna2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Addis Ababa, Ethiopia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2008

Italian mass tourism at its worse, you feel like you are in the outskirts of Rome. We were moved around by the owner and ended up in the staff quarters over the electric generator. the owners were so rude. What a shame! The location is stunning, the beach is wonderful. The staff are all locals who have been trained to speak in Italian to the tourists, so they always speak Italian, quite surreal. If youwant to see Kenya avoid this place.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank carlotortora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2007

Dick and Penny Jenkinson
Kenya Holiday Sep/Oct 07
Travel BLOG

We have just returned from 2 weeks at the Aquarius Beach Resort, Watamu where we had an excellent holiday. We booked the hotel through RCI weeks and were pleased with the quality of the hotel which was Italian run. The only problem was that everything was in Italian! As our room was not equipped to self-cater we chose to opt for the full board option at 2000KS per day per person. In hind sight the half board option might have been better, although there were not many other restaurants within walking distance.

The hotel has three distinct sites: the main part of the hotel with reception, restaurant, some accommodation and a swimming pool; Lily Palm with accommodation and a swimming pool and finally the Mapango restaurant with jungle bar and another pool. Our room was clean and comfortable overlooking the Lily Palm swimming pool.

Dream Safaris, who operate within the Hotel, offered a safari package of three different trips. First was a trip around Malindi walking around the old town markets and the beach front, also including a visit to the local orphanage. Second was Safari Blu, a trip to the reef in a glass bottomed boat with snorkelling and a barbeque on a sand bank. Finally we did a two day Safari to Tsavo East by minibus staying overnight in the Kiboko Lodge. The tour guides spoke adequate English and we were pleased with the trips, but I am not sure that we got the best value that we could have done.

Later, we were introduced to Julius Kenga Ndaa, a registered Tour Guide who arranged four trips for us. The first was a walking tour of Watamu and Timboni which was both informative and interesting. We then joined up with a South African couple called George and Ros for a day trip to the Gede Ruins, the Kipepeo Butterfly Project and the Marafa Depression (Hells Kitchen) geological feature. This trip also included lunch at Robinson Island which was truly magical. This is not a restaurant that you find by accident, it is in a very remote and beautiful spot and you have to book; Julius took care of everything. Julius then arranged transport for George and Dick to play a round of golf at Malindi Golf club and this was followed by another tour of Malindi including a good lunch at a sea front restaurant. Finally George wanted to go deep sea fishing in a sailing boat followed by cooking the catch of the day on the beach. Unfortunately the sea was too rough so Julius arranged a barbeque on an island just off shore which we reached by a local sailing boat. It was Penny’s birthday and Julius made sure that it was a day to remember. If you are in Watamu and are looking for an English or German speaking guide I would whole heartedly recommend Julius. Contact us for Julius' contact details.

  • Liked — Location by the Sea
  • Disliked — Split Site
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank dickandpenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watamu hotels
1.7 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#1 of 25 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#5 of 25 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 stars 559 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lonno Lodge
Lonno Lodge
#2 of 25 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#10 of 25 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,022 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#12 of 25 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 stars 158 reviews
1.0 mi away
Barracuda Inn
Barracuda Inn
#17 of 25 in Watamu
4.0 of 5 stars 633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aquarius Watamu Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aquarius Watamu Beach Resort

Address: Watamu Coast Road | Watamu National Marine Park, Watamu, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#10 Spa Hotel in Watamu
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Aquarius Watamu Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Aquarius Watamu Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aquarius Watamu Beach Hotel Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing