We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a refreshing, lovely surprise”
Review of Mawimbi Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mawimbi Lodge
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed at Mawimbi Lodge for 2 weeks, and after looking at various types of accommodation, we hit the jackpot!!
The price was reasonable, the whole place was clean, but homely.
Giovanni gave us such a welcome, and nothing was too much for him or his staff, if we ever needed anything.
The breakfasts were legendary!! I couldn't resist having cooked every day!
Each individual chalet had it's own veranda area with a traditional African bed, this was so comfortable after a hot and dusty day - go and have a cooling dip in the immaculate swimming pool - then a relaxing read on the veranda! - heavenly.
We can't wait to go and stay again next year - it was our home from home.
Thanks Giovanni and all of your staff, for always having a smile!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mawimbi2014, Proprietario at Mawimbi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2014

Thank you for your review and for choosing us for your vacation . We are glad that you 're relaxed and you soon !!! Maurizio Marino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 135 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2014

We have just spent two weeks at Mawimbi. What a delightful place! Run by the delightful Giovanni. Nothing was ever too much trouble for the plentiful and ever attentive staff who do everything with a will and a smile. The whole place is refreshingly clean and well appointed and well maintained. There is plenty of space for everything from outdoor loungers to the cleanest swimming pool I've used. Covers for the loungers are taken in every evening and replaced clean and dry each morning. Security is top rate - the Maasai watchmen are lovely and patrol all night!. Quiet and sensibly laid out to give plenty of privacy. There is ALWAYS someone at the reception desk until late in the evening. The well prepared food is good and fresh. Breakfasts are individually cooked to order! The tariff is most reasonable, and ALL needs are helpfully attended to. Everything is swept clean every day - even the sandy gardens. Near the beach and the fun-filled "street" there is every reason to stay in this gem by the Indian Ocean. See you again soon as we can, Giovanni, and thank you for making our stay so enjoyable. Steve and Libby

Room Tip: All brilliant. No problems imaginable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mawimbi2014, Proprietario at Mawimbi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2014

Thanks Steve and Libby for the compliments and I hope to have you back with us very soon. Greetings from Giovanni and all the staff . Maurizio Marino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Great staff, great atmoshpere. Giovanni was very helpful in everything we needed. The bar/terrace area is great and food delicious. The pool is also great since the tide is not always good to swim at the beach. Room nice and clean. You have to walk to get to the beach. The nearest beach is a 5 min walk and the other beach (in my opinion nicer) is 15 min walk by the beach.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Th312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mawimbi2014, Proprietario at Mawimbi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2014

Thank you for your review and hope to have you back with us sono! Greetings from Giovanni. Maurizio Marino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

We left the Mawimbi Lodge today and had a great and pleasant stay there.
The rooms actually look like on the pictures and are spacious and clean, they also have a nice pool to relax at. Compared to other accommodations we looked at, this place is quite cheap and delivers great value for your money. Also the staff is very professional and helps you out with everything you need.
If I came to Watamu again, I would definitely choose this place again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank nop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mawimbi2014, Proprietario at Mawimbi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2014

Thanks and hope to have you back with us soon !! good day Maurizio Marino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

I have been to Mawimbi for a relaxing vacation with my family (and pets as well). The place is comfortable, the service excellent and the food is fresh and well prepared (I have been eating only fish). Breakfast is very rich, with delicious cakes/bisquits, fruits, bacon, soausages, juice, eggs coffee, etc. The bar, with its huge sofas under the palms, is perfect to drink dawa or else. The rooms are clean, and welcoming with a pleasant care for details.
Giovanni directs Mawimbi with a thorough approach and he is always attentive to the customer's needs.
Definitively a place where to come back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ugo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mawimbi2014, Proprietario at Mawimbi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2014
Google Translation

Grazie Ugo per la recensione e per tutti i complimenti. Spero di riaverti presto tra noi! Saluti da Giovanni. Maurizio Marino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The reception you receive is great,the ambience ,the personalised service,the staff all tops up the experience. The rooms and cottages all finished with a warmly touch and the prices are way worth anyones stay.Not forgeting the privacy and serene surroundings.Couples will love..love their stay at Mawimbi.Happy holidays to everyone who will call at MAWIMBI...at any time of the year.

Room Tip: All rooms are way perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Irene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mawimbi2014, Proprietario at Mawimbi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2014

Irene Thanks for the nice review and also to advise! I hope I 'll get us soon . Maurizio Marino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

am currently staying at Mawimbi Lodge in Watamu and had to write a review to tell people about this wonderful place. The customer service is impeccable, all staff onsite are so sweet, accommodating and friendly and the gorgeous manager's go out of their way to ensure you are happy. I am blown away by the price I have paid per night to stay here. The rooms are lovely, beautifully furnished with well considered lighting and crisp white sheets and fluffy towels, with fans, mosquito nets yet I have yet to see a mosquito here. Very comfortable. And the lodge is so quiet set amongst beautiful gardens.
The outdoor seating area near reception/restaurant is great for a pre/post dinner drink, to relax on big comfortable lounges with lanterns and great music for a warm setting.

The food is 'amazing' !! The chef here has worked with british chefs and is remarkable. I usually eat out, but I am eating here each night and am yet to find fault with anything, and very reasonably priced for the high quality....the wine is delicious too, try the white from South Africa! Breakfast is also included, eggs, coffee, pastries, juice. There is also Wi-Fi which works superbly.

The location is on Watamu Beach road, which has great restaurants, shops and 2 banks all within a 5 minute walk. The nearest beach is a 2 minute walk and by walking 10 minutes along the beach you will come to the Watamu Marine Park where the boats depart from for diving, snorkeling, day trips etc....I have not been out but I believe they are worth it.
I have been spending my days at the most beautiful beach called 'Papa Remo Beach', a private beach approx. 1 km away by tuc-tuc or taxi. It is quiet, you will not be annoyed by beach boys as they have a guard there and the water is unbelievable, as is the white sand. There is a restaurant/bar there. Highly recommend. However, the closest beach to the lodge is also beautiful to swim in.
Note they are also offering massage here shortly!

I will definitely be returning to Mawimbi lodge next time I am in Kenya as it has to be the best accommodation I have stayed in so far on my travels in Africa, purely due to value for money, customer service, comfort, location. You will not be disappointed !! Enjoy.

Room Tip: All rooms I envisage will be lovely!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mawimbi2014, Proprietario at Mawimbi Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2014

Thanks Belinda for the beautiful and very detailed review ! I hope to have you with us soon ! Many Greetings from Kenya. Maurizio Marino

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watamu hotels
1.7 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#18 of 26 in Watamu
157 reviews
0.7 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
0.0 mi away
Barracuda Inn
Barracuda Inn
#10 of 26 in Watamu
986 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jacaranda Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mawimbi Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mawimbi Lodge

Address: Watamu Beach road | P.O. Box 19, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Watamu
Price Range: $44 - $219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mawimbi a small cosy lodge, built on the top of a white sand dune, near to the characteristic fishing village of Watamu and only few meters from the beaches and beautiful bays of the Marine Park. It has been restored paying care and attention to all particulars, respecting the harmony and colours of nature and african buildings. Double rooms, or solutions with two bedrooms plus living room, ideal for families. All rooms look on to the garden and have a private verandah, typical African style furnishing, with mosquito nets, ceiling fan, shower and safe. The characteristic bar of Mawimbi is an ideal place for guests and who in Watamu are looking for an oasis of relax. Breakfast, snacks, sandwiches, tasty salads and other delicious dishes elaborated by our staff also fruit juices, cocktails, a splendid aperitifs and in a friendly atmosphere. We have, also, inside the lodge, the restaurant " amici miei" directed by the italian chef Maurizio Marino ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mawimbi Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing