We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A haven for birdwatchers”
Review of Mida Creek

Mida Creek
Book In Advance
More Info
$74.16*
and up
Mida Creek Mangrove Forest Glass-Bottom Boat Safari Through Watamu Marine...
Ranked #1 of 25 things to do in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
283 reviews
189 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“A haven for birdwatchers”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

The autumn influx of migrants is spectacular.
The trips are timed to the incoming tide which is fabulous.
Do take the offer of a canoe trip through the mangrove swamps as you will get so much nearer to the wildlife, and that is after you have walked out across the vast bed of the lagoon.
The guides are so knowledgeable about the different local waders but they could be a bit out on the palearctic migrants.
Watching mudskippers dashing around was fabulous as was seeing one defending his mud castle.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank FriskyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    250
    121
    23
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
south west
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“wonderful experience”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We spent an afternoon in canoes going up the creek how peaceful not disturbing any of the birds we were hoping for an amazing sunset but the clouds had other ideas but even so we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves and our guide was amazing with great knowledge and was really dedicated to his job and conservation thank you so much.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank grooveygranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
64 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Worth visiting”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I loved the boat trip, observing beautifull mangrove trees, birds like fish eagle, and even catching some fishes. I went there when the tide was high and was leaving in four hours watching sand banks appear as the water was receding.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mikhail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickCharman
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A quiet and special place”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

A large are of seawater lagoon, with beaches, with all the wild life you would expect here - crabs and other seashore life, attracting a large range of birds to its waters and shore. Get a local guide to bring it to life for you.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank NickCharman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Mida creek”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Great dugout canoe ride in the morning and and dhow at sunset for the wedding recption with the most amazing food and bar b que

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank trevlynwebb48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mida Creek also viewed

 
Watamu, Coast Province
 

Been to Mida Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing