We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“stebarsafaris” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turtle Bay Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Entebbe, Uganda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“stebarsafaris”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

i was at turtle bay in November 2013 for my daughters wedding OMG i have never had such funn in my life, The rooms are very clean and specious, the food is too good and also the staff are very welcoming. All in all i recommend tourist to go for a visit it is worth your money.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
Helpful?
1 Thank bamu2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

886 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    225
    60
    20
    20
See reviews for
303
333
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

My Wife and I stayed at the Turtle Bay Beach Club in December 2013 as part of a Safari holiday. This place is amazing, the food is consistently good and varied, the staff cannot do enough to help. But the real thing that set this Hotel apart from other for me is the amazing work they do in the local community.

we traveled into the local villages a number of times and everyone commented on the work the Hotel do to help, from investing in local services to helping build a recycling center near by.

Great place doing great work, i cannot recommend them highly enough

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2014

I visited with two friends over Easter& had a great time.The hotel offers all inclusive meals with great variety.They have an adult pool where staff serve cocktails most of the day, best part of the holiday for me!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mukiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Everything about Turtle Bay Beach Club is superb.

Great location, the friendliest staff who really understand what great service is, activities, especially the kids club which will keep the kids busy all through, the food, just don't have enough words to describe the place.

Best beach bar on the Kenyan coast, where you can while away the time as the waves lap on the white sands close by.

Total value for money, it is no wonder that people keep coming back year after year.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coimbrathetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We have always visited this resort from when we were little.The location, food, entertainment and everything about it is fab . Can't recommend it enough. We keep going back year after year and taking some of our friends with us who like us get hooked as well.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 10sunnydayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IVYBRIDGE DEVON UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

we have visited turtle bay 5 times and i can some it up in one word exceptional everything about the place is amazing i would not hesitate to tell everybody how good it is and hope to be returning very soon

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DUKEDAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

The service at this hotel is second to none. Every single member of staff from Reception, Room cleaners, Gardeners, Restaurant Servers, Pool & Beach boys and the Entertainment team have only one goal and that is to make your holiday special.
After only a couple of days of being there, most had already remembered all our names and they take pride in making you feel welcome.

The hotel is perfectly situated on the beach and they have their own private section with plenty of sun loungers both at the beach and at the poolside. If you prefer to go to the beach, the Pool & Beach boys will place your sun-lounger wherever you want it, and on the following day it will be there ready for you - fantastic memories these guys have!
Beach towels are also supplied clean every day, just go to the Pool counter beside the pool and they will give you one. When you return it at the end of the day, they will give you a ticket that you give them the following day in exchange for another towel etc.
Wherever you sit the Bar staff are always passing by, asking if you want a drink, so you don't even have to get off your sun-lounger if you don't want to!
There's plenty going on around the pool for those who want it Games, pool games etc. but if you prefer to relax and soak up the sunshine no-one forces you to join in - perfect!
A couple of times a week the Masai people come to the hotel to entertain you with their dancing (which is truly amazing) and they bring carvings, beaded jewellry, pictures etc. to sell after their dance session. The prices are all very reasonable and they are happy to barter with you. They are lovely friendly people and look beautiful in their colourful attire.

The hotel rooms are spotlessly clean, well appointed, the air-conditioning worked perfectly well. The beds have mosquito nets around them, which makes for a cosy sleep!. By the way I didn't even see any mosquitos let alone be bothered by any, but I still wore mosquito repellent and took Malaria tablets just to be sure.
The gardens around the rooms are beautifully manicured with pretty flowers and tall Palm trees, also Security around the hotel is excellent but non-intrusive.

Should you wish to take a walk along the beach to the other end of the Bay, you will find a small group of 'Local Beach Men' (dressed in white shirts & brown trousers) on the beach and generally one or two of them will approach you to walk with you. Please don't be put off by this (and if you really don't want them around, politely tell them you wish to walk alone). However I was in a small group and we were happy for them to walk with us as apart from the fact that you feel safer being with a local person, they are very intersting guys who will tell you about the local sea environment & history of the area etc. Please tip them a 100 shillings or so (which is peanuts to us tourists but it means a whole lot to them and helps them feed their families).

The food is plentiful and lots of choice both hot and cold, spicy and not. It's displayed buffet style but the food is covered and served to you by the kitchen staff who have cooked it, so please compliment them if you have enjoyed it as it will make their day.
By the way, their soups are to die for (well not literally!).

Evening entertainment generally goes on around the pool area after dinner. Many dance tribes visit a few times a week and perform before the disco gets going and it's all quite fascinating.
If you prefer a quieter evening, there is a lovely bar area closer to the Reception part of the hotel where you can relax in comfortable seating and watch the Weaver Birds build their nests. Weaver Birds are tiny, very pretty and yellow & blue in colour and their nests are woven from tiny pieces of vegitation and hang off branches around the pond like little spheres so have your camera ready!

The hotel has a Cashiers office so exchanging money is easy and there is also a shop selling some essentials such as sun factor. They also sell local art, carvings, bags and beach wear, tea shirts etc. and all at reasonable prices and beautifully displayed. Anything you buy in the shop can be charged to your room if you wish, for you to settle up at the end of your holiday.

The hotel will also arrange Safari trips if you wish. A few of us from my party went on a 2 day/2 night trip to the Masai Mara Game Reserve. We flew there in a 12 Seater Cessner from Malindi Airport which is just a few miles along the coast from the hotel. It was a truly amazing trip and very well organised by the hotel.

All in all this hotel has something to offer everyone and your stay will be made special by the staff who run it and work there. My special thanks go to George & Philip from the Entertainment Team and Ratimu and all the Restaurant & Bar staff for their fantastic service and great friendship, I hope to see you all again some day.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watamu hotels
3.4 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
1.8 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#18 of 26 in Watamu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
2.3 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#6 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#2 of 26 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Beach Club

Property: Turtle Bay Beach Club
Address: PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Watamu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Bay Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jovago.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Turtle Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Beach Club Hotel Watamu
Turtle Bay Beach Hotel
Turtle Bay Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing