We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Nearby Hotels
Sun Palm Beach Resort(Watamu)(Great Value!)
$59
$55
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$125
$116
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mawe Resort(Watamu)(Great Value!)
$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$168
$154
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Medina Palms(Watamu)
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (954)
Filter reviews
954 results
Traveler rating
593
248
69
21
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
593
248
69
21
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach boysfun base teamwater pololamu roomkids clubpizza restauranttunda toursquiet poolrock poolsa la carte restaurantweaver birdspancakesfunbase teammain pooladult poolevening entertainmentnothing is too much trouble
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
822 - 827 of 954 reviews
Reviewed July 17, 2008

We spent two weeks at TBBC in June for our honeymoon. We'd read all the reviews on TA before booking, and to be honest, it is because of TA that we chose Turtle Bay. We had high expectations and every one of them was lived up to.

The resort wasn't anywhere near full occupancy (due to recent troubles earlier on in the year and the fact that no other british charters were flying out except for Monarch) but that didn't make any difference to our experience. We can't praise the wait staff enough - a big hello to Khamish (hope we spelt it right), Ratibu, Jonathan and Peter and all the others, too many to mention. The fun base team were also brilliant - particularly George and Mambo - we got involved with water aerobics and water polo, great fun.

Whilst in Kenya, we took a two day/one night safari booked with Abdul of Tunda Tours to Tsavo East and stayed at the Voi Safari Lodge. Our guides were brilliant and we saw the most amazing wildlife - far more than we ever expected. I'd definitely recommend Abdul as opposed to tour operators. We found that people who'd booked with a tour operator were going about the park in mini-vans. We went about in a Toyota Landcruiser - it was much more enjoyable and I'm sure we had a much better opportunity at spotting the wildlife than we would have in a mini-van. A big thank you to Abdul for the arrangements - he's also good for changing money with - give's much more favourable rates than the hotel or airport.

Whilst at TBBC, we were upgraded to an Ocean front room, as our first room had a problem with the shower overflowing. Nothing was too much trouble for them, and in the second week, we had a visit from Damian, the General Manager, expressing his sincere apologies for the disruption in moving rooms etc. Moving rooms wasn't a big deal, but it shows how much the staff and management care about the wellbeing and happiness of their guests.

What more can we say, other than we'll be back! Can't wait to see everyone again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank gillyvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2008

We we on our honeymoon and had great expections of the hotel and resort.

The hotel rooms are very, very basic - even though we booked a 'Superior' room with a beach view - save your money and don't bother as it comes at a premium rate !

Food is ok - very varied and freshly cooked.

Staff are very attentive - though it becomes more and more evident that it's to get a tip/get your money - and you can't really blame them for that

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank DavidSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2008

On our vacation in Kenya my wife and I stayed at Turtle Bay beach Club in Malindi for 4 days. We truly had a wonderful time,we enjoyed almost everything in the place .The dishes, the swimming pool games, the rooms etc etc were excellent. Everytime when one goes for a vacation anywhere the reception he/she gets, the atmosphere, and the activities in the place always make a big impact to the guest. Turtle Bay impacted on us very positively. We met new people and made new friends some of whom we wished we could have stayed with a little longer. All of this was so because turtle Bay is an exceptional Resort.
On our last day it was somewhat miserable for us to leave but we had to.I must say Turtle Bay is a place where I can for sure go back to again. Turtle Bat Hogera!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank JKR2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2008

This was a great vacation! we went there last december and the staff was friendly and great. if you are traveling with children - there are lots of activities that the hotel staff holds. with each activity participated, you get 'points' and you can purchase something from their little store at the hotel. Adults too get to participate in activities, from beach walks, water aerobics in their pool and beach volleyball (we did a lot of that) the snorkeling was a great experience too as it's close to the protected marine! The rooms were very clean and spacious. The restaurants and food and drinks were excellent too
have fun!!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank whuski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2008

Like many people we were very disappointed to have our holiday cancelled last minute by First Choice especially as we had planned to visit the Children Of Watamu a school helped run by Sue and David Hayward who are doing marvellous things for the local children.

We decided to book ourselves the flight was with Kenya Airways was easy to do online and was excellent, we were well looked after flew to Nairobi and then Mombasa but a good tip is to see if you can get a flight to Milindi from Nairobi which is only 20 mins from Turtle Bay. We also contacted Turtle Bay by e-mail who were excellent, helped us so much and arranged for us to be picked up the good news the roads have been resurfaced which makes travelling a lot quicker and less bumpy!. We had a very warm welcome (cool flannels and drinks) from the hotel and were so pleased we made the effort as there were no signs of trouble. We were made so welcome by the staff and also the people of Watamu nothing was too much bother.

The hotel trip organiser Tumu helped with trips and we had a marvellous 2nd day trip to Hells Kitchen an amazing but very hot place our guide Tom was very knowledgeable and our driver Ben was great fun and pointed out so much on our travels.

The hotel introduced us to Johathan who is an amazing guide he knows the birds and community so well even if you are not a bird lover its worth organising an early morning walk with him he will share so much local knowledge with you. The walk takes you across the hotel to the village opposite and you walk to part of the mangrove creek very inspirational. Other trips we took include Sabaki River and Mida Creek with a walk along the boardwalk.

Also its worth meeting up with Felix the Hotel community officer and he can show you some of the marvellous projects the hotel support we visited all 7.. Felix will also arrange for any sponsorpship you would like to give.

Our Main reason was to visit the SDA school which is well worth a visit the headmaster Silas will make you most welcome. I ended up making a video to support the work of Sue and David who are now working on the next phase a ‘happy home’ very inspirational people well worth supporting.
The positive – The people who make you so welcome, the beach is amazing walk to the wishing rock one way or to blue bay the other. Mornings are great to see the sun rise over the Indian Ocean great!. Beach boys are good just be firm and say no and mean it. Hamish and Big John were good and helped shows us the marine life and sort out a safari for us. Fishing and snorkelling are excellent and if lucky you may see a release of a turtle by Watamu Turtle Watch. We bought sponsorship of a nest and a turtle release for friends who loved getting an email and photo. Visit the shops on the beach be prepared to haggle but enjoy a laugh with them its argos as you never seen before!.
The community work is great take a walk to the village opposite get a guide if unsure but you will be greeted by jambo and loads of smiles. Visit the schools especially SDA you may be welcomed by a song or two in fact everything was positive and make sure you take a camera to capture some of it. I took loads let me know if you wish to see more pics.
No real negatives entertainment a bit subdued but due to lack of numbers and of course the fact we had only 11 days there before our safari and visit to Voyager was a negative. We are so pleased we made the effort to go and amazed how easy it was to arrange. One thing for sure we will go back to Turtle Bay we made so many friends in our short time there. It has it all an ideal place to relax or if you are like us there is so much to see and do it’s a holiday and an adventure all in one!

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank wisitmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews