We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

When you arrive, many of the people say "Welcome to Paradise" and this is fairly accurate. The hotel staff as many of the reviews say are 1st class and make you feel very welcome in particular Ratibu and Khamis (Hamish) and Daniel the drinks waiters as well as the rest of the team including the G.M. Who makes a point of meeting everyone. The food is great with plenty of variety for all and the accommodation is also very good, we had one of the sea view room by the beach and the view is something special. Not quit sure why this is not a four star? Also the lads on the beach are a friendly bunch and we struck up a friendship with Tony and James and yes they want to sell their stuff but also enjoy a good conversation and are happy to tell you anything about the area, they will also leave you alone if asked politely. We went on a three day safari from here and this was also first class ( All with Thompson's) . The diving season starts in October for real but i did get a shallow dive in at 9m and there was a fair bit of sea weed on the beach that can't be cleared as it in the park but not a big issue. We played golf in Malindi which is about 25 mins away but there is a championship course about 80k's away by taxi although my wife found walking around the shops etc in Malindi an experience, need to keep your wits about you for pick pockets but not any worse than any western city or town these days. We will be back at some point in the future for sure. We were there for two weeks at the end of July / early August

Room Tip: Beach view rooms are worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ScottD962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    231
    63
    20
    20
See reviews for
313
335
46
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schull, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Travelling with 15, 13 and 11 year old children. The hotel was the 3rd we visited in Kenya and compared to the other two it seemed a little tired and dated, although it was clean and comfortable. We were there in winter so the lack of a/c in the room wasnt a problem but I imagine it could get hot in summer. The mosquito nets in the room are a good idea going all around the beds as opposed to tucking into them which makes it hard to get in and out. Rooms were fine but could do with less beds and more space to sit. Nice little balconies. The pool was nice but not nearly enough loungers. Plenty of loungers on the beach but hard to get out from the shade of the palm trees and too windy to play cards etc. Entertainment was ok. Food was excellent and plenty of it at any hour of the day. Nicest food we had even though other hotels better rated. Didn't try out the other restaurants as the all inclusive was already so yummy. Very relaxed atmosphere here and very casual. The whole place is all inclusive and waiters came around to the loungers at the pool and beach to offer drinks regularly. We went snorkelling which was lovely although a little pricey for what you get. Staff were friendly and undemanding. Not a real party place though they did have music most nights. Lots of families and lots of children although they do have an adults only pool for those wanting to get away from the screaming and splashing of the main pool. Beach was a little seaweedy but you didn't have to walk far to get away from it. lots of beach boys but they didn't seem pushy. Nice for a beach walk early in the morning.

Room Tip: There is frequently disco music playing till quite late so ask for a room away from the pool if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane6166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shetland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I booked through Hayes and Jarvis from Aberdeen for 3 weeks for myself and 2 children aged 10 and 16. We had the most fantastic holiday....staff, rooms, location, food, beach, trips, fun base team, dive centre etc were perfect for our diverse needs. I could go on.....!
I am never one for visiting the same country twice but am very tempted by this hotel. We met fabulous people and enjoyed the food and drinks on our inclusive package. Probably my favourite thing was the way the pool boys would position your sunbed just where you wanted it on the beach and then put down a soft mattress for your free towel and by the time you were settled on your comfy sunbed one of the waiters would be along offering you a drink. Bliss!
My son did his PADI diving course here and it was so convenient as the dive centre is in the hotel. The funbase team had activities for adults, teenagers and younger and provided entertainment all day long....I hardly saw my kids!! This hotel offered just what my family needed and would be perfect for couples, families and singles.
If you are doing safari I do believe we used the best company around....F.Kings.... who we found online independently. Thoroughly recommend them and this hotel. Enjoy!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Braeland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

we had a very nice holiday here, been there several times but still that refreshing feeling. Friendly staff and excellent facilities. The beach is excellent and the evening entertainment nice for a relaxing holiday maker. Not for Party Animals. Highly recommended. I

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingorik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed for almost 3 weeks divided by a safari, best hotel experience ever! Extremely friendly staff, varied and good food and plenty of activities for all of us. Our daughter had tears in her eyes when she said good bye to the staff... We have already recommended this lovely place to others, and will hopefully return some day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjetil_helle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed for 8 days after a 6 day safari. The staff really make a difference at this hotel. They all try to remember your name and address you by name throughout your stay - a really nice touch. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful but not at all pushy - if you say "no thanks" to any of the activities you don't get any pressure to change your mind.

The hotel felt quite quiet when we arrived and got quieter as our stay progressed, despite it being school holidays. Never any problems getting a sunbed - especially if you have a word with the pool boys each evening.

Food is buffet style but always had plenty of choices and the food is always piping hot. We didn't hear of anyone who was ill during our stay. Drinks are brought to your sunbed throughout the day. Rooms will be sprayed every evening for mossies if you ask and there are mossie nets above the beds.

You will get beach vendors but they take the kids to see the moray eels lurking in the rock pools and then try and sell you a boat trip - again there is no pressure but you will get a gentle reminder each time they see you on the beach.

Each day the staff take adults and kids on different walks so you get to see some fo the village life and surrounding areas. You can also arrange to visit a local school or orphanage.

Only negatives to mention is it's a 2.5 hour drive from Mombasa airport, which after a whole day of travelling at the end of our safari was a real killer. Also, if you are in the main block you will get noise from the evening entertainment until midnight some nights so if you're a light sleeper ask for a room in a different block.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have just returned after a two week stay at this little gem, wow what a place you are made welcome from the moment you arrive to the moment you leave, you are treated as part of their family.

The food was fabulous, plentiful and you had a great choice, the hotel, rooms, pool,and ground were spotless, nothing was too much trouble, on our first day there we returned to our room to find Morris changing out toilet seat as Morris when seeing to our room felt it was loose and got it changed, we had not even noticed it, but he said it was not up to standard and this reflects the attitude of the hotel, everything was done to a high standard.

There is plenty to see and do, but what I really liked was that the entertainment staff would walk round asking you to join in, if you declined there was no presure put on you and you were left to relax, they had boards around the hotel showing all the activities over two weeks so you were able see what entertainment was on where and when.

A huge thank you to all the staff, for a unbelievable holiday, and to those staff, Thomas, Nicholas and Doris who gave their own time to take us out into the community to visit the villages, schools and their families, this went beyond their call of duty.

This hotel is perfection and we will certainly be returning to visit our new extended family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watamu hotels
3.4 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
2.9 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.4 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#2 of 26 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Beach Club

Property: Turtle Bay Beach Club
Address: PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Watamu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Bay Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turtle Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Beach Club Hotel Watamu
Turtle Bay Beach Hotel
Turtle Bay Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing