We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“friendly relaxed with great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Crewe
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“friendly relaxed with great staff”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

stayed for a two week holiday incorporating a 3 night safari.
good location for room overlooking quiet adult pool close enough to the beach to hear the sea pure bliss.
staff are great and go out of their way to make sure your having a great time and have everything you need.
food excellant and plenty off it. entertainment if you want it or if like us you are after a quiet drink and a chat retire to the main bar.
fantastic holiday which we will remember with affection

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the pool are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cheryl Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    568
    229
    63
    20
    20
See reviews for
311
335
46
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Stayed with my family for 4 nights. The rooms are good - spacious and clean with a decent balcony. Had no TV which is great by us. Choice of meals was good. The staff are great! Lots of activities and for the children, a great place. The beach was full of sea weed, which is seasonal nuisance but still had a great time walking by the sea during low tide. For the price, a great place. You will not be disappointed.
Dr Kibata

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet - those facing the beach may be have a little more noise as they are near the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kibata G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just got back from a fortnight's totally chilled and relaxing break at Turtle Bay Beach Club. It was amazing! Rooms spacious, clean and more than adequate (we were even fortunate enough to be given a sea view upgrade free of charge, due to being low season), people were brilliant and the food was excellent - one of the best for all inclusive I have ever known. All credit to the staff and management at this place, you are treated as if you are really special and nothing is too much bother. Drinks brought to you at the pool so you don't have to move all day, totally relaxing surroundings, even missed dinner one evening and the Chef kindly cooked us a meal specially! Drinks not watered down, snacks all times of the day or night and the best poached eggs at breakfast ever - always served up with a big smile - thank you Alex!! Safari was everything I expected it to be and was an experience of a lifetime. Given the chance, I would return in a heartbeat. If you should happen to read a negative review on this site, please don't believe a word of it. Whatever these people expect obviously can't be found anywhere. One of the best holidays of my life - do not be put off, judge for yourself. My advice? Don't hesitate - book up and go!

Room Tip: Sea View rooms were amazingly beautiful and a little larger with bath and shower. Lamu rooms are in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This was our 4th visit since 2006. We had a ground floor room L40 which was 5 metres from the beach and close to the adult pool. Some of the other hotels around Kenya we have stayed in do not have a pool, let alone A/C. At TB our room was perfectly clean and the decor was pristine. The A/C and ceiling fan were both whisper quiet. We had no need of a mini-bar or a TV. We had driven down from Nairobi for a long weekend to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. I could not fault the food and it did not make us ill. We booked direct with the hotel and were able to negotiate a good discount, and even though it was the low season, the hotel was busy. Given that everything is included it is a good deal. It was a nice touch to be presented with a box of Macadanian nut chocolates. Well done to Damian the manager and his team for making us feel at home. Beach: the beach boys were friendly yet not intrusive. They have a living to make and know every angle on how to get your attention but will go away if you do not want their company. You just have to say it in a nice way.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank philip e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
145 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

I and my wife had heard alot about turtle bay in watamu and our wedding anniversary was the perfect moment to try out the place! The staff at the reception were very welcoming and gave us a good brief intro of the hotel as it was our first time!
We were taken to our room which was an ocean front room and it ws an amazing atmosphere..the rooms were nice and cosy, just that a bit of more maintainance is needed overall otherwise it was great and they should have kept only one double bed Instead of triple beds (one double nd one single)..a couple does not need that extra bed!
Coming to the food, we were given a special anniversary dinner menu in the restaurant itself, which was excellent and the service was just outstanding! Everything was very well organised fromthe decor of the chairs to the well presented dishes! It was the highlight of the night and made our anniversary night even more memorable..
The entertainment department needs to improve as we practically found it very boring. More variety should be added.
Breakfast and lunch the next day was good and nice variety of food was available..not forgetting the pancakes which were served as snacks.
The staff were ever smiling and always walking around to assist incase of anything.kudos to them!
Overall we had a relaxing and nice time at TBBC and made our special day vry memorable.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank AamirSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I have just returned from a 2 week stay at Turtle Bay with my boyfriend. Ignore the people rating the hotel 1 star and moaning, we had a great time!

1) yes, there is no TV but you're on holiday in Africa - YOU DONT NEED TV!
2) there is wifi in the pool/restaurant area and the hotel lobby.
3) there is activities for adults!!! walks every morning, darts, water polo, water aerobics, boules, so I don't know why the person below says there wasn't!!
4) the food was great, and anyone that says otherwise is a fussy eater! There is lots of variety and we hadn't got bored by the end of our 2 week stay.

We had a great holiday at Turtle Bay and found the hotel had everything we needed, the staff were so friendly and helpful and always greeted us with a smile!

The hotel rooms were basic, but had everything we needed (fridge, hairdryer, aircon, fan, lots of wardrobe space, balcony etc), the room is only there to get ready in and sleep, there is so much more to be seeing!!

I highly recommend a village walk with the beach boys, and also a walk on the reef, they're really lovely and know a lot! Walking around the village was fascinating, seeing the children so happy even though they have nothing! we gave them 500shillings for the reef walk and 1000shilling for the village walk, considering they were over an hour each this is nothing (around £4 and £8)

I also recommend a visit to Rainbow orphanage, we organised this at the front desk and they sent us on a free shuttle bus, 6 of us. the kids were absolutely amazing and so lovely, we took them a football which they loved, although they were most interested in trying on our sunglasses!!

I would visit again in a shot!! Thanks for an amazing stay!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 2012travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have heard so much about this place, so i decided to go and check it out for myself. OMG what a place. I dont even know where to start. I mean i know its meant to be a holiday and a relaxing place but come on seriously. Rooms pathetic, so old dusty, dirty and SMALL. i have been to smaller rooms in Italy but this was so wrong, linen looked like its 50+yrs old, the whole room was dusty and so dirty i could not sleep the whole night. the whole hotel is old and the colors they have used is like we are in the hippy years. no facilities at all, Fine the kids will enjoy since they have lots of kids entertainment but us adults what do we do??? No games no nothing. Now lets go a step further, check in was ok, reception again old, than came lunch time, we reached late so we missed the lunch, but nice staff they said lets go have snacks, we ordered burgers, it took 30mins for burgers!!! wow, finally when they came, they were smaller than a freaking PIE, and it took half hour for it>??!??! and surprising it was COLD, fries were even colder... anyway so while eating 2 of us were done, one person was eating, and the waiter came and said " may i borrow the sauce since the other guys want it" what???? dont you have another bottle??? then came dinner, i was looking forward for the dinner thinking it would be awesome. but NOOOO, it was the most simplest dishes and nothing out of the world, simple beef, (taste less) salad BAD and OLD, but hey, when i went to ask for icecream for my kid i did get it 20mins later. so thats good. anyway, dessert was cake and banana pie, cake was ROCK HARDD why??? so all entertainment finished by 11, so we went to the room, so now what do we do?? TV hell no there is no TV in the rooms, ok so lets surf the internet, call the reception pls give us a password, and they said sorry i dont know and i dont have a password, wow. in this day and age no internet in a hotel?? why??? so we decided to sleep but how do we sleep? the ac is too low, and no remotes in the room to make it higher... and not to forget the dusty and bud filled beds to toss and turn the whole night. what a disaster. i will definately never go to this place again and i would suggest to them to please upgrade your rooms you need to, there is too much competition so please make up and keep up.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amu838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watamu hotels
3.4 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
2.9 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
258 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
113 reviews
2.4 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
1,161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#2 of 26 in Watamu
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Beach Club

Property: Turtle Bay Beach Club
Address: PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#8 Family Hotel in Watamu
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Bay Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Jovago.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Turtle Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Beach Club Hotel Watamu
Turtle Bay Beach Hotel
Turtle Bay Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing