We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Turtle bay as seen by a 13 year old boy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Turtle bay as seen by a 13 year old boy”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Turtle Bay proposes lots of activities such as beach volleyball, scuba diving lessons and boat trips to the reef, sailing. Food was great.there was a buffet and a pizza . The hotel is all inclusive and you can have as many drinks as you want. We saw a small reef sharks (they are harmless to humans) from a boat we rented and off of sand banks. That was amazing. Waiters can get a bit wild sometimes with some of the clients. No Tvs in the room. Overall the stay was amazing.I got a scuba diving lesson in the pool.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandre D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    231
    63
    20
    20
See reviews for
313
335
46
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Many people have reviewed the hotel and talked about the great staff, the food, rooms, location etc, so I'll talk about a few other things on offer. We are about to go to Turtle Bay again. we have been going for 14 years and this will be trip 28! Yes we do go to other places in the world but class this as our second home and the perfect place to chill, relax and be part of the local culture and life without the "naff" tourist things you get in so many places around the world.
The Hotel; do try the Blue Turtle restaurant, especially if you are celebrating something. we use it regularly and the food, service and atmosphere beat any of the 5 star restaurants we have been in.
Let the men watch the football in the TV lounge! great atmosphere and it means the girls can go for a massage or beauty treatment by the great girls who work just by the table tennis (10 times cheaper than the UK!) or arrange (with reception) for the european hairdresser to come.( cheap compared to the UK)
the shop is worth a visit. good prices, plenty of variety and great for all those things you may have forgotten.

Take time out to chat to the Security staff ( on the beach and by the gate) they often seem ignored by the tourist, they are trained, skilled and spend all day( in the baking sun) and night making sure you are safe. They will talk to you with one eye as they are always looking around at what is going on. Same goes for the gardeners,cleaners, reception staff. They all make your holiday!

Book a taxi or a Tuk-Tuk at reception and go on a tour of the village of Watamu. Yes the hotel does some great tours but looking at local life can add another dimesion to your holiday.

Don't take sweets out for the local children PLEASE.... imagine how many sweets these children get from tourists. If you want to do this then give them a toothbrush and toothpaste as well. We have seen the consequenses of too many sweets, there are no dentists here, just children with rotting teeth. Give them a pencil, rubber, sharpener or a pair of shoes.

Any gifts you want to buy to take home then buy them at the African market that comes to the hotel. Don't wait till you get to the airport, they will cost you 10 times as much! anything large they can ship to England via DHL. We have done this several times and the goods always arrive home before we do!

If you are lucky enough to be there at a low tide, then go for a guided walk amongst the rock pools.( either with a hotel guide or the boys on the beach who know wher to find unusual things such as puffer fish, octopus etc!

Boys on the beach will always talk to you when you first arrive, try to sell you something then leave you alone until you are nearing the enof your holiday. If you don't want their company tell them you are staying longer than you are! some of the beach stalls are worth a look and the locals love to have a chat with you, don't afraid of them, they will never try to harm you, mug you or threaten you. ( their livelyhood depends on tourists)

Save a few shillings ( about 200 each) for a cup of coffee in the airport ( don't buy the hot dogs) you arrive about 3 hours before and once you have been in one shop you have been in them all! security at the airport is very tight, you and your bags will go through several scanners, pat downs and checks.

Please enjoy your stay, maybe you will become one of the many repeaters! ( who always get a fantastic repeaters lucnch)

Room Tip: We prefer Lamu rooms for the quiet but there isn't a bad one anywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mzungus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

In the last 10 years i have been 7 times and every time i go i love it and never wanna come home, i have made loads of friends with the satff and they always remember you, and very helpful, i have been back in uk for about week now after my hols at turtle bay which i took my boyfriend for the first time and he really enjoyed him self and we already decided when we was on hols that we are going back to turtle bay nxt year, can't wait but hoping to stay 3 weeks. Well recomended.

Room Tip: i like the club rooms as i have stayed in the luma rooms before and not keen as feels small as i had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank naomi o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
250 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed at TBBC during the last week of Feb and the first week of March this year. It's really difficult to know where to begin because the place is nothing short of superb. We had a lamu room near the small pool and it was huge and spotless. Our cleaner Joseph was in every day and kept the place immaculate. The waiters and all the other staff make this place very special, they are attentive but not intrusive and will go out of their way to be helpful and always with a smile on their face. The food is first class and there are so many varieties that it is almost impossible not to put on weight! The hotel may only carry a 3 star rating but the service provided is definitley 5 star. Full compliments to the General Manager, Damien, for doing a great job! I will post some pictures shortly.

Room Tip: Lamu rooms are bigger and quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

There has been many excellent reviews of this resort of which I concur with them all.
Any comments to the contrary should open their eyes and see just where they are in the world.
I think anyone would have to travel a lot further to get such dedicated staff whose ultimate aim is their clients complete satisfaction, how they keep a broad smile for their 8 hour shift is beyond me, I would happily have any of them as a member of my staff.
One little thing for Damian, some nice Dinghy's would certainly not go amiss on the condition that guests know which end is which.!

Our holiday Rep 'Victor' I had known from another part of the coast, a very good man who seems not to be appreciated by his company but is a mister fixit for any request.
And whilst I comment on Thomsons, why do they fly antique aircraft on this route especially as they have just published half a billion Pounds profits over the last year on their holiday trade.
Diane and I will be back after our last sojurn to SA.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erinholm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

This place is excellent. The staff makes every effort to keep you happy. Drink service is slow but the cocktails aren't terrible for inclusive. The Kids Club is amazing for the kids. The pool is warm and clean. Food is amazing but if you can pull yourself away from the buffet, the Blue Turtle restaurant is absolutely worth it. We cant say enough about this place. There are several places to eat there for variety, multiple bars, and lots of activities to do there from the kids club, the adults (darts, volleyball,water aerobics, etc.) and the excursions (we really enjoyed the Malindi tour). We threw on a trip to the God Our Father Orphanage that is affiliated with the hotel and shouldn't be missed. Great, great place to stay.

Room Tip: We liked the ground floor as it made coming in and out of the rooms quick and easy. Better for kids...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JutWags7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2013

This was my first time in standard club rooms but these were larger than lamu and very good. Service and staff were as excellent and welcoming as before and I sometimes wonder which hotel our very negative guests were staying in! All my friends commented loudly on how great the food was, very well done to all the chefs. The choice was terrific and the beef was melt in the mouth. We used the beach and quiet pool all the time, apart from water aerobics in the main pool, and they were lovely, and service was again excellent by the attendants and waiters. We had a mini safari at Tsavo East which was 'tented' and again thoroughly enjoyed. I cannot wait to come a 4th time! Very well done to Damian and all his great staff down to the cleaners (very clean facilities) and gardeners.

Room Tip: I have had lamu rooms twice but at no cost as an 'offer' with Solos tours, but this time all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watamu hotels
3.4 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
2.9 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
2.4 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#2 of 26 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Beach Club

Property: Turtle Bay Beach Club
Address: PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#8 Family Hotel in Watamu
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Bay Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Turtle Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Beach Club Hotel Watamu
Turtle Bay Beach Hotel
Turtle Bay Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing