We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you like all inclusive and limited options then you cant beat TBBC” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Turtle Bay Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Ranked #13 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“If you like all inclusive and limited options then you cant beat TBBC”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

the food was brilliant. you cant fault it. the rooms are simple but comfortable and the variety of entertainment on offer is good. if you are a family then its great value for money adn you can leave the kids to eat when they want and not worry about having to stick to meal times.
the drinks variety was a little disappointing as the spirits are local and not great but they do have a cash bar so you can buy better quality spirits if you want. the service was very good and if you wanted peace and quiet having the optional second swimming pool that kids are not allowed in is a good idea. i was using the hotel as a base for business which is not what the hotel is geared up to so will say that if you are on holiday and with family then i reckon it will tick all the boxes and you wont find need to complain

Room Tip: ask for the rooms that are in individual blocks near to the quiet pool and beach as those are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank kckenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    225
    60
    20
    20
See reviews for
303
334
45
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Margate, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

TBBC was just the perfect place to celebrate our 40th wedding anniversary. It was our second visit in 8 years and it was an amazing holiday. The food was excellent and of outstanding quality. The staff were attentive and just could not do enough for us. The Fun Base team were brilliant and we will miss the the 3pm call of "Water polo, Water polo, Water polo". The Sundowner trip on the Turtle Bay owned Dhow was magical and fantastic value for money. The evening entertainment was varied and always enjoyable. Thank you Turtle Bay for a really amazing holiday and we can't recommend it highly enough. We WILL be back
Pauline & Barry

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, Kent
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

I knew the Watamu area from visits many years ago, but chose to go to TBBC on the strength of the Tripadvisor reviews and was pleased we did. Family was myself, wife and two daughters aged 9 and 6 and we all loved it.

The hotel is not flash in any way but is very efficient, clean and especially friendly. We were in the club rooms and there was plenty of room for the four of us. I think the main highlights for us were:

a) the staff - they are always eager and friendly across the whole range from the cleaners, reception, askaris,kids club / entertainment team, chefs, waiters, bar staff and pool attendants. They defininitely made the holiday for us and make the hotel stand out (especial thanks to Ratibu, Silas, Mary, Dennis and Masha)

b) the food - which despite being a buffet is excellent, mainly because they actually cook most of the food fresh in front of you rather than leaving it lying in heated pots. The whole family enjoyed the food which has plenty of options and the meat particularly is very fresh and tender. The pizza restaurant is also good for a change.

c) location - Watamu still is a great location right in the marine park. Great snorkelling (used the local beach guys to get the boat to the coral gardens), rockpooling and general messing around on the beautiful white sands. Yes there is seaweed at this time of year but it is amazing the way it changes from one day to the next (loads of seaweed one day and then completely clear the next) and it is a marine park hence the hotel cannot clear it away.

The whole family had a great time and the mix of nationalities there gives it a nice feel. We also did a three day air safari to the Masai Mara through JT safaris (to Governors camp) which I also recommend.

We'll definitely be back!!

Room Tip: Ask for Club Rooms up near the reception if you want quiet family rooms - they are furthest away fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KentStu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, england
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We chose Turtle Bay for our wedding as we know Kenya, and the hotel very well, and couldn't think of a more perfect place. Initially we thought it would be just us but some of our amazing friends and family decided to make the trip and joined us. Always tricky as its difficult to know if people will like what you like, but all of our friends had an amazing trip and actually got on which was a real bonus. Nancy the wedding planner was fantastic from day one and all of my emails were promptly answered, and on arrival we went through everything and couldn't believe it when the staff delivered it all too.

Everything was taken care of from flowers, to legal papers, beautifully decorating the venue with the things we had bought and requested right through to allow me to make cupcakes and my wedding cake with the staff and my daughters decorate them. We weren't looking for perfection, just a chance to be involved which I am sure is unusual as most people just want to hand everything over and turn up and get married.

We threw a party lunch for the children from the Happy house children's home, who came to sing at our wedding,, the day before the wedding, and the staff were amazing. The kids had a fabulous time with lots of food, laughter and care and we were all in tears by the end of the day.

There were 31 of us in total, plus the kids and staff from Happy House, plus the Masai dancers at the wedding, but to our amazement several of the hotel staff took the time and trouble to come too and it was just so lovely. Our reception was lovely and followed by a great dinner in the Blue Turtle restaurant. I have heard people say their wedding day was perfect and always thought it was a bit cheesy but can honestly say ours was and it was so unexpected. This was really down to the staff who genuinely seemed to enjoy working with us and also our fantastic guests who were respectful and enjoyed having the best time in the best way.

This hotel prides itself on looking after guests by being in tune with them and working with them to meet their needs. I can honestly say if this is what you are looking for you will find it at TBBC.
Even the locals on the beach took the time out to come and see us on our wedding day even though I think they were a bit bemused by us all wearing fairy wings!!!!!

The only downside was the wedding held the day before ours which was attended by some pretty ignorant people who then decided to party until 3am, waking up all of us which wasn't great the night before our big day. Not great to get no sleep the night before your big day - so thanks for nothing folks! So a little note for security - please can you enforce the rules that say the bar shuts at 12.30am and no going in the pool when it is shut. Idiots who decide to go in the pool at 2.30am when they have been drinking really are pathetic and need controlling.

However, all this said If you are considering TBBC then please do it, I promise you won't regret it. It is the perfect place for a holiday and an even more perfect place to have a wedding. Thanks to everybody I hope we will be back very soon.

Room Tip: All rooms are simple but adequate. All of our wedding guests were upgraded to a Lamu room, which ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolineVAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

The TBBC is a wonderful place to be! I was there over August Eid Period. We were there with my pal and we really had a good time. We cannot fault the food esp the crispy chips, accommodation the Excellent service with smiles to make our stay memorable! Thank you all for making our stay a perfect adventure and i cannot wait to come again and ask my family to come and explore. I thank Jack, Moses, Celestine, the hardworking F&B team, animators, front office, Hse/keeping and Sabina and Damien, You have a great Team!Keep it and treat them well, they have a passion to serve and make someone feel very very special and enjoy their vacation. Thank you very much, we were excited by the team spirit of your staff.

The evenings were rejuvenating, the music, shows and the dances!

This is definitely a wonderful place of return! Keep up the good works.



Sincerely,

Rose,

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

The welcoming remarks at the gate, made me feel am there n looked forward for a great stay at the hotel. Anti Rosy and i checked in the hotel and the smiles at the reception was genuine and big. Antie Rosy was excited and could not wait to be a fish in the pools and sea! Our first stop was in our rooms 200 block, the view from the sea and the breeze was refreshing. We said a little prayer and thanked God for the journey mercies and jumped into the shower and took off for dinner.
The dinner was excellent; tasty, filling and variety. We were spoil for choice. OMG, the breakfast was amazing and the crispy, lovely and tasty chips; we ate,ate and could not stop to salivate every time.
The evenings were amazing with shows and the music and interacting guests we all had a wonderful and unwinding stay and the time spent was worthwhile. We are definitely coming back again soon!
Every person at the hotel from the top to bottom was there with a smile to make our stay memorable!We thank you TTBC family for your commitment to serve and give us lasting memories! We cannot fault anything, your place is a little heaven! I am sharing the experience and my pals will definitely have to come and explore Watamu, TAMU!

A big thank you to all of you!

Antie Rosy says'' that place is a perfect heaven, i cannot wait to come back again''!

Kindly,

Jei& Antie Rosy

Room Tip: If you need quiet rooms, try on the south side of the quiet pool. If you wanna be near the facilitie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jei S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

An absolutely wonderful hotel, for families and those without children. Doesn't make sense that it only has 3 stars. It's beautiful, inside and out and the staff are amazing, so friendly, genuinely want you to have the perfect holiday. They are happy to take you out and about and show you all the local sights. Food and entertainment are 5*

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JeanHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watamu hotels
3.4 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
1.8 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
2.9 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#18 of 26 in Watamu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
2.3 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#6 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#2 of 26 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turtle Bay Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Bay Beach Club

Property: Turtle Bay Beach Club
Address: PO Box 10, Watamu, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Watamu
#8 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Turtle Bay Beach Club 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Orbitz, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Turtle Bay Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Bay Beach Club Hotel Watamu
Turtle Bay Beach Hotel
Turtle Bay Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing