We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
$188
View Deal
Tripadvisor$188
Hotels.com
eDreams$188
Agoda.com$188
Expedia.com
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveler rating
402
61
15
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
402
61
15
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews plunge pool bedroom penthouse seafood food was amazing deep sea fishing kids club spa pools coast alice chef units infinity paradise activities ocean ensuite
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 491 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2017

I visited Medina Palms in July with some friends and was blown away by the hotel's landscape, and most especially the villa we were staying in. The villa had beautiful views of the beach, which we backed on to, and of the rest of Medina Palms' stunning grounds. We were a group of 6, and the villa was of the perfect size, ensuring that we all had our own space, with large bedrooms, and spacious communal areas - all tastefully decorated.

The service was outstanding. All of the bar and waiting staff were friendly, professional, and highly competent - especially Pascal, Victor and Sophia, who served us most days. We also had some spa treatments, which were of a very high standard, in the relaxing Sakina Ocean Spa. Once again, the staff were excellent, having mastered the relaxing ambience needed in a spa. Housekeeping were also very good.

The food was certainly a highlight. The Amandina restaurant catered to a wide range of tastes. We were also able to switch up where we could eat on some nights, rather than just in the main restaurant. The hotel staff catered to our needs perfectly, serving us by the poolside, in the covered coffee garden, and even on the roof of our villa (a night which came with its own cocktail bar!).

Medina Palms staff were also very helpful when we wanted to plan excursions. As a result we were able to visit lots of local sites in Watamu, such as the Gede ruins, a turtle sanctuary, a snake farm, as well as a local restaurant called 'Crab Shack' on Mida Creek, which is not to be missed. On our final 2 days, with the help of the hotel, we went on a spectacular 2 day safari trip to Tsavo East National Park.

This was the perfect holiday, and I can't wait to come again!

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank rebeccav543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Manager at Medina Palms, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Dear Rebecca,

Thank you for you raving review. We at Medina Palms pride ourselves in offering award winning personalised services that carter to the individual needs of our clients. Our meals and cocktails are prepared from scratch by our highly trained chefs and bar men to ensure that you savour all the flavours our tropical paradise has to offer. The calmness elicited by the cool Indian Ocean breeze you enjoyed in the Villa is a relaxing breath of fresh air that we hope will have you visit us again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017 via mobile

I went to the medina spa for a wax. I was very disappointed. I ended up having to show the beautician the correct way to wax because it was very uncomfortable and was breaking my hair. However they did offer me a different free beauty treatment with them to make up for it which I thought was good although I would rather not go back there after my uncomfortable experience .

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank tessandersen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017

This was my first time to visit Watamu and first time to Medina Palms. I was thoroughly impressed by the facilities and extremely hospitable staff. Had great food, fantastic weather and an awesome spa session as well! Stayed three nights in number 45.I will definitely go again.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Manager at Medina Palms, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Dear Peter,

Our rooftop Spa is perfectly positioned to ensure you enjoy the cool Indian Ocean breeze as you rejuvenate your body to one of our many organic inspired treatments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for the positive review. We would like to have you stay with us for more than 3 days next time and explore all that Medina Palms and Watamu have to offer. See you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2017 via mobile

Spent 10 days at Medina Palms with a group of friends in July. The villas are stunning - spacious, well-equipped, comfortable, and with beautiful views out onto the Kenyan coast. The hotel grounds are also fantastic, with a serious of pools cleverly running down waterfalls towards the beach, and lovely arched walls in the style of the local and historic Gede ruins.

We all made use of the hotel's gym as well as luxury spa treatments, which are fabulous and excellent value! Despite a lack of experience, we all tried our hand at Wind Surfing, with the beach just a few steps from our villa. The hotel restaurant is certainly a highly, offering a range of gourmet local and exotic cuisine. As guests, we were able to eat on their beautiful poolside terrace or order dishes to served in the villa. The restaurant also had a lovely bar (aperol spritz and Negronis were a regular feature of my evenings).

Overall, the staff couldn't have been friendlier - they are kind, humorous and highly professional! The hotel was also happy to help us organise successful excursions in the local area - visits to the local markets, a snake farm, a turtle sanctuary, a superb private boat cruise, a visit to the ancient Gede ruins and an extraordinary overnight Safari in the Tsavo East National Park. Thank you Medina Palms : I hope to be back!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled with friends
5  Thank WillS219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017

We had a lovely three-day stay at Medina Palms this week. The staff, accommodations, and food were all great. But, the real highlight of our stay was an afternoon learning to windsurf with the brilliant Alphonce. Alphonce is a real treasure. Not only does he know what he is doing, but he is also a skilled teacher and the kind of patient, laid back, and friendly instructor that turns an impromptu lesson into a fun, memorable afternoon. He stayed late—with no complaints at all—to give my boyfriend a few more chances to master turning. We had so much fun we came back for more windsurfing the next day. Asante, Alphonce!

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jd2222_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric O, Manager at Medina Palms, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Dear jd2222_12,

Karibu and thank you for the complimentary review of our facilities, food and water sports instructor Alphonce who made your holiday more indelible. We would like to welcome you back in the near future for intermediate level lessons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews