We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Perfection”
Review of Medina Palms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Medina Palms
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Pure Perfection”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Watamu is one of the top 10 beaches in the world and Medina is simply a 6 acre paradise on this beach. Having stayed in countless holiday apartments and hotels, I was simply rendered speechless by the beauty of this place. Everything is finished to the HIGHEST standard, from cutlery to taps. The staff are attentive and trained to the highest standard, and they smile from their heart. Passion runs in everyone's blood at Medina, passion from what they do. Beautiful spotless apartments, fantastic food, great atmosphere, pure heavenly paradise. I wish I could stay here forever. This is one of the places you MUST visit.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, stay or even better buy the Amani presidential suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wakenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    40
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
122
89
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The pictures on here definitely don't lie, it is just the most beautiful place with an amazing pool going all the way down to the beach. We stayed in a friend's apartment which was really lovely, housekeeping came every day and kept everything spotless and did all our washing up, just luxury for a group of students! A couple of friends learnt how to kite surf with the water sports club there and the guy instructing them was really fun and was always volunteering to drive anyone not surfing down to watch the others. A couple went snorkelling and said that was amazing and the club offered free kayaking too so a few of us went off and did that as well.
It was so easy to do whatever you wanted - lie by the pool, go down to the beach, go in our own personal jacuzzi - which just made a lovely holiday, would die for the opportunity to go back there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juliet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingstone Zambia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We never had the pleasure of staying at Medina Palms whilst on vacation in Watamu, however my little son and I visited the Medina Palms often for light lunches, wonderful coffees and just to sit in their beautiful gardens enjoying the breeze and the tranquility. We had an amazing three course meal at Medina on one of the nights and the food was out of this world! The service from our waitress, Daupine, that evening was immaculate. But the best place to visit at Medina is the Sakina Spa. What an absolute treat! I had numerous treatments over the course of our stay and each one was simply divine. It is beyond doubt the best spa I have ever had the pleasure of going too. The bonus was that they did kids treatments too .... so whilst I was busy enjoying my massage / facial / mani / pedi .... my little guy was being treated to kids massages, facials etc! He loved them, especially after hours in the sun and sea, it was a real treat. I can only recommend the entire property and we will certainly visit them again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
Helpful?
Thank VivienneSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

A new addition to the Watamu coastline Medina Palms is an absolute gem. We didn't stay there, only went for lunch which was great. The cocktails, tapas, staff and surroundings were all perfect. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JnDNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Spent ten days at Medina Palms earlier this year and was blown away by the amazing beach, beautiful villas, friendly staff - the list goes on. I don't think I have felt so refreshed after a week's holiday as I did after my stay at Medina and I would recommend it to anyone. We stayed in a Penthouse with an ocean view and waking up to that view every morning was spectacular. I recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommygun147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Divine beach, gorgeous hotel, world class cuisine and a an unparalleled staff. Medina is the perfect place to escape reality, lay back and enjoy the finer things in life. Whether you want to relish in a little alone time or spend some quality fun in the sun with family, friends or that special someone - Medina Palms is the place for you! FH

Room Tip: The beach cottages are exceptional!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firyalh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have stayed at Medina twice now and had seen the brochure for this property before and how beautiful this looked. But when I stayed at Medina, the accommodation actually looked better in real life then it did in the pictures! The staff there are very cheerful and make your stay all that more enjoyable. I was also impressed by their water sports section, I haven't seen a more professional outfit anywhere else along the Kenyan coast. I recommend staying at Medina or at least paying them a visit if its going to the spa or having sundowners sampling some of their amazing cocktails or visiting their water sports area. You will be blown away! I look forward to my next visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watamu hotels
3.3 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
2.9 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
269 reviews
1.7 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
195 reviews
2.4 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
1,165 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#13 of 26 in Watamu
911 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Palms

Property: Medina Palms
Address: Plot No. 2 - Mida Creek Road | P.O. Box 18 - Watamu, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Medina Palms 4.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Medina Palms is perfectly situated on the powder white sand beach of the Indian Ocean in Watamu, Kenya. This ground breaking hotel offers a range of luxury suites and villas, with views over tropical gardens and pools, tree top level penthouses with inner courtyards, and magnificent beach front villas. The hotel offers fine dining at our signature Amandina Restaurant, the sophisticated Long Bar and Star Lounge, as well as our tropical coffee garden. On site facilities includes Tribe Watersports Centre, a fitness studio, the luxury Sakina Ocean Spa offering 5 treatment rooms, state of the art conference facilities and a choice of exclusive spaces for meetings and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Medina Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing