We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Kitesurfing Destination” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tribe Watersports

Tribe Watersports
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tribe Watersports is based in Watamu, Kenya, and provides a world class watersports service which includes lessons, rental and hire. Currently East Africa's only BKSA approved Kitesurfing School they also cater for SUP, Deep Sea Fishing and Scuba Diving. From their HQ they run the Watamu Kitesurfing Club a rescue and storage service for kitesurfers living or visiting the area. If you have a sense of adventure come JOIN THE TRIBE...
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Kitesurfing Destination”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

We didn't know what to expect from our 10 days in Watamu, but thanks to Ben, Ellie and the team we had one of the best kitesurfing trips yet!

Watamu is a great kiting area, with so many different spots and conditions to suit all levels. Perfect warm flat water over the sand bar, great waves out back to have fun on, and Mida Creek for those wanting to explore. The downwinder at the end of the day back to town was a great way to finish off each session. We were there at the end of August / beginning of September and the wind was really constant and reliable. Perfect 12m weather most days with the occasional 10m day.

Some of our group were having lessons and renting from Ben and they all got on so well - having the boat means that Ben can zoom to the back of the sandbar so that the girls had loads of space and didn't have to worry about other kiters. The rental equipment was all this years kit and in superb condition.

Ben made sure that we had a great time in the evenings too, recommending the best restaurants and suggesting suitably age-relevant places to party on the weekends. Watamu was such a fun town - all the locals were really friendly and genuinely happy to show off and share their beach with tourists.

Thank you so much Ben and Ellie, and we can't wait to come back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
“Didn't want to leave !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Beyond ideal on so many levels...Watamu is a beautiful place where we settled in and felt safe and at home very quickly, with lots to keep us busy!
Can't recommend Tribe and their set up enough. It was great for kiters of every level...the experienced guys in our group loved it and I had everything you need as a beginner kiting...progressing was easy with the conditions, the kit and the guidance we had!!
Ben, Ellie and the team @ Tribe were incredibly accommodating on all fronts and always went the extra mile...All round we had an amazing week, such a fun bunch of people who really know their stuff and love what they do which makes all the difference. Can't wait to go back !! xxx

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PamMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Watamu fortnight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

A fantastic trip - i really cannot recommend Watamu and Tribe Watersports enough:
(1) Watamu - lovely beach, warm sea, plenty to do, nice restaurants, felt very safe throughout
(2) Wind - consistent every day we were there. Usually 10 or 12m weather. Top-notch kit available for hire if needed. Very smooth wind, no gusts.
(3) the kiting spots - better than anywhere else I have previously visited (including Boracay, tarifa, egypt etc), yet no crowds. Waves out back, flat water behind the sand bar at low tide. Very easy downwinders at the end of every day. Shallow at the sand bar. No sea urchins!

Most importantly, Ben/Ellie and the team could not have been better hosts. They really went the extra mile throughout, and gave us great advice on accommodation, food and evenings out.
Highly, highly recommend and cannot wait to go back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Henry992013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing location, perfect conditions”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

The 3 day beginners course with Ben was amazing. Beautiful beach, with the sandbar providing the perfect conditions for beginners. Highly recommend Tribe for all your kiting needs. Ben is an excellent teacher who is super encouraging and gets you going quickly. Can't wait to come back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HattsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
2 reviews
“Great people, great equipment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Highly recommended.

Spent a few days in Watamu for trying out Kitesurfing and can really recommend Tribe. Ben has many many years of experience, really helps you to get started quickly and encourages you - I have a good comparison as I did a class a few years ago and must say we progressed here so much faster.
Conditions in Watamu are also really great - you get to try out many things in the water where you would be on land elsewhere. Tribe's equipment is brand new and very good stuff.
Last but not least, Elli was extremely helpful organizing everything. Thanks a lot guys!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Markus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tribe Watersports also viewed

Watamu, Coast Province
Watamu, Coast Province
 

Been to Tribe Watersports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing