We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location, perfect conditions”
Review of Tribe Watersports

Tribe Watersports
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tribe Watersports is based in Watamu, Kenya, and provides a world class watersports service which includes lessons, rental and hire. Currently East Africa's only BKSA approved Kitesurfing School they also cater for SUP, Deep Sea Fishing and Scuba Diving. From their HQ they run the Watamu Kitesurfing Club a rescue and storage service for kitesurfers living or visiting the area. If you have a sense of adventure come JOIN THE TRIBE...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Amazing location, perfect conditions”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The 3 day beginners course with Ben was amazing. Beautiful beach, with the sandbar providing the perfect conditions for beginners. Highly recommend Tribe for all your kiting needs. Ben is an excellent teacher who is super encouraging and gets you going quickly. Can't wait to come back!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hattie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
2 reviews
“Great people, great equipment”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Highly recommended.

Spent a few days in Watamu for trying out Kitesurfing and can really recommend Tribe. Ben has many many years of experience, really helps you to get started quickly and encourages you - I have a good comparison as I did a class a few years ago and must say we progressed here so much faster.
Conditions in Watamu are also really great - you get to try out many things in the water where you would be on land elsewhere. Tribe's equipment is brand new and very good stuff.
Last but not least, Elli was extremely helpful organizing everything. Thanks a lot guys!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Markus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“top spot”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

just had 3 day beginners lessons with Ben. Dad + 16 + 18 year olds.
Top location. Ben could not have been better. Highly recommend
good kit, friendly people
met some nice people from various countries
hope we can return
xx

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank geoff t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Kiting With The Tribe”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Our trip to Tribe Watersports consisted of brand new kit rental, BKSA tuition and accommodation, all of which was organized by the Tribe team. My partner had one to one kiting tuition with Ben and having never kite surfed before managed to make great progress. There was an excellent array of equipment available allowing any size of rider to get out on the water regardless of the conditions.

There is some world class kite surfing to be had at Watamu and Tribe can organize some epic downwinders which I would highly recommend! Ben and Ellie could not have been more accommodating and friendly. Their expert advice blended with the chilled atmosphere helped make this one of the best and most memorable kite surfing trips.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sam1990186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been better”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I did a three day beginners course with Tribe in June and really didn't expect it (me) to be as successful as it was. Ben is clearly a natural teacher with lots of positive encouragement along the way that meant I was up and riding with no problems :) Tribe were totally professional from start to finish, all the equipment was new and safety was obviously a priority. Having friendly local staff on the beach to help catch and launch kites was a real help too. Watamu beach is beautiful and having the sandbar makes it perfect for learning. I'd definitely recommend Tribe and will be back for more as soon as possible!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katepenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tribe Watersports also viewed

 
Watamu, Coast Province
Watamu, Coast Province
 

Been to Tribe Watersports? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing