We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Hype about an average resort”
Review of Hemingways Watamu

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Watamu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hemingways Watamu
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Having lived in Nairobi now for 2 years, we heard a lot about Hemingway’s, and how out of this world this resort was, hence our decision to spend a couple of nights there. What a disappointment, having been to a number of resorts on the Kenyan coast both North and South , Hemingway’s, is just an average Hotel, maybe because it was out of season, that is was disappointing. What made our stay, however was their friendly staff, who made up for an irregular hot water to our room and a telephone in the room that did not work either. Benson their waiter for 20 years is just a star.
Would not go back to Hemingway's any time soon though.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaapVL2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 252 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay at Hemmingways Resort. The service was good and staff very friendly but the quality of food had deteriorated and the bathrooms require up-dating.
It remains a good value hotel with bed, breakfast and dinner included in the rate. The hotel runs some good excursions, Gede Ruins, dhow cruise, snorkeling and a daily bus to Malindi.
I would recommend a stay but urge the management to look at the quality of food as currently it is not 5 star quality!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkSkigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

My brother and I have travelled here from Ireland to fish for the last number of years and it is such a marvellous holiday and can honestly recommend it without hesitation. Sometimes the fishing may disappoint but this is only one aspect of the vacation. The moment you arrive the staff come to welcome you back as if you are returning home and they just cannot do enough for you. Food is truly excellent and no dish is too much trouble to prepare for you. Can't wait to have a Tusker at the bar in 2013!

Room Tip: The North Wing is excellent and could not find fault.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marlin591
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

we went to hemming ways for our honeymoon after being introduced, by our friends who had been there before..
We were treated like royalty to say the least. The entire team was amazing. I actually had the best 5 days of my life so far. Jeff, OM, Maggie , Simon and the whole team, just know that you really really made our stay worth our while. OM we still miss dinner time! and yes we will be coming again and again especially with our kids!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

I visited Hemingways in July 2011. I have been to Watamu before but not this resort. I must say I had high expectations but was very disappointed.
First of all the room was very well appointed, especially the spacious bathroom, but it smelt terribly! Musty and damp and a very strange chemical smell. Admittedly it was their low season but the room smelt as if it had been locked up for days and had not been aired before I arrived. I asked very courteously at reception for something to be done but nothing happened at all so the first night was very uncomfortable and cold!! I returned from dinner to find the bed turned down, which was nice and that the air conditioning had been left on full blast...which was not! This was the winter season so the evenings are very cold. It then took another day to get an extra blanket!
Service was slow and really rather unco-operative in the dining room. Break fast was cold and the afternoon tea had the smallest selection and size of cakes I have ever seen!
The guys at the pool side bar were friendly and the lunch was nice (but extra and very expensive)
Altogether a very disappointing but expensive stay.
I then left and went a few kilometres down the road to a little place that cost a fraction of the price and had a lovely time!

Room Tip: Try to get one that smells nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sueskenyatravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

i spent 4 days at the Hemingways Resort in Watamu Kenya in January 2012...to cut a long amazing story short, it was the best 4 days of my entire life. as the entire resort is locate on the amazing white sand shoreline of kenya, it is the best natural location for constant fresh sea breeze, peace and quite, sea food all day long and the most amazing freshly squeezed everything! the rooms are absolutely perfect, the service staff are extremely professional (the front desk ladies are the best), there is real security of your assets (i left money, ipad, phones on my room table in plain view for all 4 days and not a shilling disappeared even though they came into my room every evening while i'm at dinner to spray insecticide)and free fast wifi in your room! i mean seriously?! it is to die for.

i am thinking really hard to find some criticism of this resort and can't find a single one. the odd thing though (not their fault), is that the entire beach empties out naturally by 6 pm everyday. i found this intensely weird cos one would expect that such a beautiful seaside location would have people on the beach all night long but i guess thats also why their beachfront is so clean. it is so clean that fish swim right up to your feet along the shoreline and i saw an eel right by my leg as i waded through the water one evening. super cool!

the beachboys were great :). they just say hello to you ten times over, and if you mistakenly speak to any of them, you'll realize they've been monitoring you more than you'd be confortable to know. however, they're pretty harmless (don't quote me on that as i never carried a camera or money along the beach) and always trying to sell something to you. ladies will love the attention these boys give, plus they'd even ask you to marry them! i think thats code word for paying them to be your 'escort' during your stay.

all in all, absolutely fantastic experience and totally worth every single penny you spend there. lots of fishing club guys from italy too if thats your thing...so there, i honestly must go there again very very soon.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oroque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

What welcoming and courteous staff all round. This hotel has recently been refurbished, based on our comparison to other well established hotels in the area, we found it to be value for money. The rooms are well presented, clean and the beds are comfortable, the bathroom has been kitted to a high spec. We had a Deluxe room in the North wing, fabulous view with free wi-fi!! Our vegan dietary requirements were catered for to the finest detail!! Hustle-free complimentary shuttle service to the airport was included in the cost. We would like to thank Hemingways for a great experience.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Palmfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watamu hotels
3.2 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
199 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
830 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sun Palm Beach Resort
Sun Palm Beach Resort
#18 of 26 in Watamu
43 reviews
0.2 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#3 of 26 in Watamu
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways Watamu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Watamu

Address: P.O. Box 267, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Watamu
#9 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#10 Spa Hotel in Watamu
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Watamu 5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingways Watamu is an iconic tropical paradise on the Kenyan coast sitting right in the middle of the pristine Watamu Marine National Park with its idyllic white sand beach and turquoise waters. The exceptional personal service and sincere charm of this established hotel has come to represent Kenyan coastal luxury to so many travellers for close to 30 years. There is so much to do here - learn to kite-surf; get your PADI certificate, take a sunset dhow cruise on Mida Creek, play a round of golf on the nearby world class golf course, Vipingo Ridge; or go on safari for a few days in Tsavo or the Maasai Mara. If that all sounds a little too energetic, relax around the pool with a good book as you work your way through our cocktail menu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hemingways Hotel Watamu
Hemingways Hotel Malindi
Hemingways Resort Malindi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing