We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel on a stunning beach”
Review of Hemingways Watamu

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hemingways Watamu
Ranked #19 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Hotel on a stunning beach”
Reviewed April 12, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in early January after a safari. It was wonderful to return to civilisation following a few nights ina tented camp. Our room overlooked the beautiful white sand beach of Watamu and the Indian Ocean, very comfortable and black out curtains ensured a good nights sleep. We had been wanting to stay at this hotel for sometime and we were not disappointed. Staff extremely friendly and helpful, food very good as is afternoon tea. Aside from the hotel the beach is simply beautiful. If you are going to Watamu and want to be directly on the beach I dont think you can do better. Inclusion of breakfast and afternoon tea makes this good value. Easy to see why there are so many return guests.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yugosunseeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    51
    22
    9
    10
See reviews for
76
75
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2011

My wife and I have just returned from a 10 day honeymoon at Heminways in Watamu. The team under Simon's command couldn't have been more friendly and welcoming throughout the duration of our stay everyone smiles constantly throughout the day making your stay a real pleasure. Within an hour of arrival we had both totally relaxed after the gruelling flight and transfers.

Heminways is right on the beach which is of fine white sand, yes there is a little sea weed but this cannot be removed for ecological reasons. At low tide its possible to walk out onto the reef and see a variety of sea life, at high tide the water is turquoise and ridiculously warm at 30C.

Our first room was in the new part of the hotel, it was beautiful, well appointed and air conditioned to perfection. The second part of our stay was in the older part of the hotel offering large rooms and even better views if that's possible, the only drawback is slightly noisier air-con.

The food at Heminways is second to none, some nights the menu is a la carte with 2-3 choices at each of the courses, on other nights a buffet is laid on with a huge variety of delicacies, throughout our stay the food was cooked to perfection and presented beautifully. If you get the chance try the steak, its the best I have ever tried tender and with an amazing taste and the freshly caught fish is to die for. The pool bar serving lunch has an enormous range of choice from simple burgers right up to lobster, my only regret was I wasn't there long enough to try all of it. The drinks are very reasonably priced and a wide variety are available.

Heminways is now my worldwide favourite hotel, we will be back. Thank you Simon and the team you guys gave a master class in customer service.

regards Lizzie and Graham Hendra

Room Tip: the food is amazing try everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHendras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2011

Fishing at Hemingways is better than any place that I have fished aroung the world.The hotel managment and staff all outstanding.The rooms very good and food quality and choices could not be better.Hemingways was the best place that I have been to to relax and spend a few days fishing

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronnie081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

We had a great stay at Hemingways. I have previously stayed at two other places on the Kenyan coast, and Hemingways is the best. This is what I liked:

-The staff was polite, helpful and caring.
-The food was great, beyond my expectations.
-The facilities were in good shape.
-It was not overly crowded where one has to fight for a good spot by the pool, like so many resorts.
-I did not feel "nickel and dimed," which I greatly appreciated.

One does have to keep in mind that this is Africa.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron_Adkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East London, South Africa
1 review
Reviewed February 1, 2011

We went with the Captain Morgan / Ski-Boat Magazine group and we had an absolute ball! I would definately go back tomorrow given a chance.
The staff are wonderful, friendly and so accomodating. It was a dream coming back to your room after supper to find roses on the pillows and the aircon turned up high.
The pool staff are stunning, friendly and very quick with their service.
We were lucky enough to be able to fish, that was an experience of a lifetime.
From the meals right through to the snorkling, at the risk of gushing, it was truly a really relaxing holiday of a lifetime, can't wait to go back.
You don't have to spend all your evenings or days confined to the hotel, there are the towns of Malindi and Watamu you can visit as well as the other hotels along the beach. Here you can have a meal and enjoy the nighlife and music.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shipston-on-stour
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Sadly Hemingways is a hotel with tired rooms, and very ordinary food . It claims to be a family hotel but children told to be quiet in the pool. delightful staff but very slow service.

main customers base seems to be brits happy to put up with ordinary fare and facilities thinking they are at somewhere special. The breakfast the worst I have seen. .

I will not be going back. The rest of my trip to Kenya on Safari however was amazing

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bell1032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2010

I've been in the hotel industry for 15 years and Hemingways just gets it!!! Our room overlooking the ocean & endless palm trees is stunning with perfect lighting, ceiling fans, air con, big cosy tubs, great big comfy beds & beautiful balcony with 180 degree view of the calm sea. The hotel has captured the true essence of a relaxing, romantic getaway which shows in their returning clientele. Attention to detail superb. Service excellent (even at the pool!). Staff fantastic & unbelievably helpful. Food way to good, location ideal (although an interesting journey to the exquiste Vipingo golf course near Mombasa). Good gym, great spa and the never ending roses in the hotel are just stunning. The hotel encourages an ''elegant sanctuary getaway' so I am all for the no mobile phone rule in public areas and the kind request for smart/casual dinner attire. Diving is just next door and there are lots of activities to keep you busy incl. snorkelling Coral Gardens, sailing on the traditional Dhow in the Mida creek, fishing and so forth. I have never enjoyed big resorts to much and prefer the small boutique hotels which this small leading luxury hotel of the world has captured. A truly superb essence & we have every intention to return in the near future.
.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GypsyGirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watamu hotels
3.2 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
2.7 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
276 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
1,167 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
135 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sun Palm Beach Resort
Sun Palm Beach Resort
#20 of 26 in Watamu
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hemingways Watamu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hemingways Watamu

Property: Hemingways Watamu
Address: P.O. Box 267, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Watamu
#7 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#10 Spa Hotel in Watamu
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Hotel Class:5 star — Hemingways Watamu 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hemingways is nestled on one of the world's top ten beaches and few places can compare for relaxation. Every one of our 74 rooms offers an views of the ocean and the endless white sands of of the Watamu Marine Park. Gentle sea breezes tame the hot equatorial sun keeping the tropical landscape surrounding the gardens, pools and terraces cool and comfortable. Simple yet luxurious this very personal hotel has tradtional thatched roofs, white washed walls and uses bright local materials for decor and furnishings. Friendly helpful service in a relaxed and elegant setting where mobile phones are silent and stress has no place. Our chefs make the best possible use of the abundant offerings of the Indian Ocean, the delicious organic meats and an abundance of home grown fruits and vegetables from our farms. Special diets are happily catered for; let us know what you need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hemingways Watamu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hemingways Hotel Watamu
Hemingways Hotel Malindi
Hemingways Resort Malindi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing