We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ice cream - who can live without!”

Bahati Gelateria Italianna Anna & Andrea
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Small cafe/shop which sells home made icecream, pastries, soft drinks, coffee, cakes. I can't find them on the web, but it is very popular with tourists and locals here in Watamu. They do have a facebook page and I can provide a telephone number and email address should that help?
Watamu, Kenya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ice cream - who can live without!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

So glad to have the ice cream parlour here in Watamu - best ice cream on the coast! You can also get baked goods and very good coffee. I go there all the time and take all my non local friends who rave about it.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hildegard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    71
    24
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best gelato!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014

What a delight to stumble upon this little gem on the main drag of Watamu village on our week of vacation last September. Once we discovered it we found ourselves there every morning for cappuccinos and every afternoon for gelato (sometimes a couple times a day for gelato!). In a week we had sampled all their flavours, and I can say they were all delicious. The waiter quickly learned who we were and automatically brought us our cappuccinos in the mornings and laughed knowingly when we came back in the afternoons. Andrea himself makes the coffee drinks.

When we returned to Watamu last week for a conference, a visit to Anna & Andrea was at the top of our must-do list. We were severely disappointed to learn that they are closed for the season until August.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liliasna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Got to try”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Really great gelato / Amazing flavours - they are usually busy so expect to wait a bit. I must say great coffee as well

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank them2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Yummy Italian icecream and other delicacies”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We started lunch with generous portions of foccacia paninis and then sneaked in a Carroli (bit like a creamy custard tart filling rolled in a flaky pastry case all sugary and crumbly, before scoops of lovely icecream, all delicious but they ran out of the cappucino flavour boo hoo. There are some interesting stalls nearby and a tuk tuk gets you there without any fuss. It is mostly an Italian hang out place and can get quite busy in the afternoons.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franschhoek, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our first stop each year when we arrive in Watamu”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

When we think of Watamu the first thing that springs to mind is Anna and Andrea ! Not only are they two of the most special people, fantastic hosts but the ice cram here is seriously OUT OF THIS WORLD !!!! Fantastic coffee, delectable pastries, you can also order special birthday cakes and even take tubs of ice cream home for the last thing at night "fix". No day in Watamu is complete without a visit to Anna and Andrea.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank dragon117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bahati Gelateria Italianna Anna & Andrea also viewed

Watamu, Coast Province
 

Been to Bahati Gelateria Italianna Anna & Andrea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing