We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting”

Watamu Turtle Watch
Ranked #6 of 23 things to do in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Local Ocean Trust is a private, not for profit organisation committed to the protection of Kenya's marine environment. We love our local ocean and we use practical conservation, community involvement and development, education, research and campaigning to promote the sustainable use of Kenya's marine resources. Watamu Turtle Watch is our flagship programme. It was started by local residents in 1997 to protect nesting sea turtles. Now it consists of our Nest Monitoring and Protection programme, By Catch Net Release Programme, and specialist Rehabilitation Centre for sick and injured sea turtles. The combination of these programmes enables us to make a real difference in ensuring the future of endangered sea turtles.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
Reviewed May 9, 2014

A nice place, with tons of information. I was guided through and got to hear a lot about the different kinds of turtles, as well as what they and the community are doing to protect the turtles.
There was only one turtle there, and it was hiding.
Don't expect to see turtles when you go, as they are only there if they are injured - so it is of course good for the turtles if there isn't any when you go there ;)

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    35
    12
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“What a team!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were lucky to visit Watamu Turtle Watch on a recent holiday. What a project it is! Everyone we met was totally committed to saving turtles and we were lucky enough to see three turtles released back to the sea. While I can understand some people's disappointment in not seeing many turtles, surely the whole point is to have as few turtles as possible in rehab. They'd only be there if they were sick.
The project's education system is superb, during our visit 25 special needs children visited and we enjoyed sharing educational gifts from Mid Calder Primary School, Scotland with them.
It's just so lovely to see a project helping nature without interfering with it! Well done, keep up the good work!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A good cause but a bit disappointing”
Reviewed March 7, 2014

We travelled by tuk-tuk to the turtle watch but were disappointed to find out that they only had two turtles (which is a good thing I suppose - means they are doing a good job).

It is a good cause so I am glad we gave them money but it wasn't really worth the effort of going out of town!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetolife298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Turtles”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Interesting we expected to see more Turtles basically it was educational with a money raising bias The presentation was a long time in the heat I was difficult to retain our Grand Children's attention(aged 13 and 8)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Philip J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Expected to see turtles but just one sick one covered up, talk was interesting but the lady does the same one at the hotel.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank darlin08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Watamu Turtle Watch also viewed

Watamu, Coast Province
 
Watamu, Coast Province
 

Been to Watamu Turtle Watch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing