We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“mini paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mawe Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mawe Resort
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
sarteano. italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“mini paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

we had a wonderful time. 3 days by the pool, 2 on safari and 3 more back by the pool - pure bliss. there's the "don't sit down/don't touch that" type of chic and the informal, comfortable and wholely inviting type and st. thomas is definitely that. the staff were wonderful, attentive and helpful - the rooms were large and airy ... huge, comfortable beds ... deep-plush towels and bathrobes ... a/c was available but we never felt the need for it. the food was excellent. the hotel is situated on a shelf of ancient coral overlooking the indian ocean. there is no beach as such but it's a short walk down some steps through a tunnel to a lower level of coral and on to a lovely, white sandy beach in an adjoining bay. be prepared to be hassled by men hawking safaris of one sort or another, restaurants, etc.. the second time we went, one of the staff offered to accompany us and they hassled us less. (if you are accompanied, tip accordingly.)

we paid for full board - breakfast, lunch and dinner - and we were glad we did. there are restaurants in other hotels but this involves hiring a taxi or chuk-chuk and possibly a late return to st. thomas in the dark. what little we saw of watamu was not all that inviting - but to be fair, we are both of a certain age and our days of adventure and discovery are long gone.

(having said that ... our return flight on air ethiopia was the one that got hijacked to switzerland and we had a very adventuresome time of it indeed ...)

if you do choose to go on safari to tsavo east national park i would suggest you arrange this through the hotel and if possible, request that mr. ali mumba be your guide. there were 5 in our safari group and one of them said she had experienced another driver who did just that - drive - and they saw very little game as a result. ali was constantly on the look-out for game and thanks to him we were able to see three lions before he shared their location with the other guides.

at the risk of being accused of dabbling in hyperbole or being overly generous, i'm going to give the hotel 5 stars - simply because i can't think of a thing that was missing from the facilities or wasn't provided for by the staff. i repeat, we had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billkilpatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mawe R, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Mawe Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Billkilpa,

Thanks for your review on tripadvisor, and we defently are sorry about your flight back home.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    15
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
130
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of our honeymoon.
Although it's a little tricky to find (hint: print a map to give to your taxi driver) once you arrive you won't be disappointed. This boutique hotel is ideal for a break on the Kenyan coast.
Bruno, the owner and Joan, the manager will go out of their way to make your stay exceptional.
They helped organise our boat trip and even drove us to Malindi which saved us 30mins in a taxi.
It's worth opting for one of the luxury rooms as they have balconies and are more airy and light.
The staff are fantastic and can't do enough to help you.
Highly recommended - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank blink79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mawe R, Responsabile reception at Mawe Resort, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Blink79,

thanks for your kind review on Tripadvisor.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

We couldn't have hoped for a better first hotel experience in Watamu. The place has stunning views, excellent service, very good food, and Bruno and Giusi are wonderful hosts that go out of their way to cater to your every desire.

I cannot imagine staying anywhere else in Watamu! Bravi!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gpiacentini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We were 2 friends travelling and after a 6 days' safari finished our trip in Kenya in Mawe, Watamu. Not that we already weren't aware of time..days of week..next day... this place takes you yet to another dimension of relaxation, bliss and amazement.

We've had different hotels in Kenya welcome us, however NONE is as spectacular, surprising and warm as this one. Food was superb, delicious. Rooms are spacious, bathroom luxurious, beds...some of the most comfortable in the world!

Great views, and do spare an hour or two to walk around the reefs at low tide.

Room Tip: There are only 12, and if you can, ask for a room overlooking the hotel yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olyvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Watching the infinity view of the ocean from the confort of a sunbed after a cool dip in their pool.. an amazing experienced. I enjoyed my stay as the staff made sure I did. They had every detail of my stay there covered. Its been a week ago but I miss the place,the cuisine, wow,everything was amazing. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. We were taken on a beach stroll during the low tide up to the Love Island, an experience I will live to recall. Mawe Boutique Hotel is a place you will feel safe,relaxed and comfot in any aspect

Room Tip: The Deluxe roomsw upstairs are the best due to the view of the ocean from your bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mawe R, Public Relations Manager at Mawe Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Greetings from St.Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel!

Thank you for sharing your very kind words in your "ideal holiday getaway" review following your recent Stay in Mawe Boutique hotel.

On behalf of the entire team we all look forward to being able to welcome you back in the very near future. Please let us know when we can arrange this for you.

Sent with all our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We were a little apprehensive at first about mawe; but we don't regret it at all. The hotel is a stunning piece of local architecture, built using materials only from kenya. Our deluxe room was stunning, a large space and huge balcony with sea views. I loved the fact that it would take me 30 seconds to walk from the room to the dining area, a small but cosy hotel that still gave us our privacy. Although its does not have a beach, it is on a cliff with stunning views and access to the beach during low tide. The staff are amazing, Joan the manager was absolutely fantastic with helping us out with any requirement we had. Bruno the current owner is a great host and even though there was a language barrier we still managed to laugh our nights away. We thoroughly recommend mawe to anyone looking for a luxury boutique resort with specialized service. P.s the massage was also very relaxing.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rsahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mawe R, Public Relations Manager at Mawe Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Rsahi,
thanks for your review and it was our pleasure had you as our guest.
We all hope to see you soon,
Best regards from all staff of St.Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Hey to everybody,
i ve been in Mawe Resorts few weeks ago and I miss that awesome place soooo much. So far and different from all other resorts, you feel to be in a private island just for you. Everything is true and typical. All the staff surprise you everday with little treat making you the happiest person. And if you think you can not do anything, you wrong, there are so much stuff to do… walking on the reef, blue safari with typical Swahili boat, visit little villages….

If you are looking for something different GO FOR MAWE RESORTS!!!

Thanks to all the staff!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1980petite_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mawe R, Public Relations Manager at Mawe Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hey,
thanks for your review. We really appriciated, we hope to see you soon again at St.Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watamu hotels
1.1 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#3 of 25 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 stars 592 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
5.2 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#5 of 25 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#15 of 25 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
2.9 mi away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#8 of 25 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 stars 794 reviews
2.9 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#2 of 25 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 stars 234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mawe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mawe Resort

Property: Mawe Resort
Address: Jacaranda Road, Watamu 80202, Kenya (Formerly St. Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mawe Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Masterpiece of design,Mawe Resort Watamu Boutique Hotel stands on the rocks directly above the sea with breathtaking views of Indian Ocean and the islands of Watamu Marine Park. This Hotel is an intimate and exclusive holiday destination that can be rented in its entirety or just one of the twelve rooms ( 8 Deluxe and 4 Suite Ocean View ). Either way it provides the ultimate in relax and sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Mawe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing