We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Paradisiac retreat!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mawe Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mawe Resort
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Paradisiac retreat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We were 2 friends travelling and after a 6 days' safari finished our trip in Kenya in Mawe, Watamu. Not that we already weren't aware of time..days of week..next day... this place takes you yet to another dimension of relaxation, bliss and amazement.

We've had different hotels in Kenya welcome us, however NONE is as spectacular, surprising and warm as this one. Food was superb, delicious. Rooms are spacious, bathroom luxurious, beds...some of the most comfortable in the world!

Great views, and do spare an hour or two to walk around the reefs at low tide.

Room Tip: There are only 12, and if you can, ask for a room overlooking the hotel yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olyvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    16
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
145
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Watching the infinity view of the ocean from the confort of a sunbed after a cool dip in their pool.. an amazing experienced. I enjoyed my stay as the staff made sure I did. They had every detail of my stay there covered. Its been a week ago but I miss the place,the cuisine, wow,everything was amazing. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. We were taken on a beach stroll during the low tide up to the Love Island, an experience I will live to recall. Mawe Boutique Hotel is a place you will feel safe,relaxed and comfot in any aspect

Room Tip: The Deluxe roomsw upstairs are the best due to the view of the ocean from your bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffrey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mawe R, Public Relations Manager at Mawe Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Greetings from St.Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel!

Thank you for sharing your very kind words in your "ideal holiday getaway" review following your recent Stay in Mawe Boutique hotel.

On behalf of the entire team we all look forward to being able to welcome you back in the very near future. Please let us know when we can arrange this for you.

Sent with all our best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We were a little apprehensive at first about mawe; but we don't regret it at all. The hotel is a stunning piece of local architecture, built using materials only from kenya. Our deluxe room was stunning, a large space and huge balcony with sea views. I loved the fact that it would take me 30 seconds to walk from the room to the dining area, a small but cosy hotel that still gave us our privacy. Although its does not have a beach, it is on a cliff with stunning views and access to the beach during low tide. The staff are amazing, Joan the manager was absolutely fantastic with helping us out with any requirement we had. Bruno the current owner is a great host and even though there was a language barrier we still managed to laugh our nights away. We thoroughly recommend mawe to anyone looking for a luxury boutique resort with specialized service. P.s the massage was also very relaxing.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rsahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mawe R, Public Relations Manager at Mawe Resort, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Rsahi,
thanks for your review and it was our pleasure had you as our guest.
We all hope to see you soon,
Best regards from all staff of St.Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
world
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Hey to everybody,
i ve been in Mawe Resorts few weeks ago and I miss that awesome place soooo much. So far and different from all other resorts, you feel to be in a private island just for you. Everything is true and typical. All the staff surprise you everday with little treat making you the happiest person. And if you think you can not do anything, you wrong, there are so much stuff to do… walking on the reef, blue safari with typical Swahili boat, visit little villages….

If you are looking for something different GO FOR MAWE RESORTS!!!

Thanks to all the staff!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1980petite_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mawe R, Public Relations Manager at Mawe Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hey,
thanks for your review. We really appriciated, we hope to see you soon again at St.Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watamu hotels
1.1 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 25 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
5.2 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#6 of 25 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#3 of 25 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
2.9 mi away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#10 of 25 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
0.6 mi away
Seven Islands Resort
Seven Islands Resort
#5 of 25 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mawe Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mawe Resort

Property: Mawe Resort
Address: Jacaranda Road, Watamu 80202, Kenya (Formerly St. Thomas Mawe Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mawe Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Masterpiece of design,Mawe Resort Watamu Boutique Hotel stands on the rocks directly above the sea with breathtaking views of Indian Ocean and the islands of Watamu Marine Park. This Hotel is an intimate and exclusive holiday destination that can be rented in its entirety or just one of the twelve rooms ( 8 Deluxe and 4 Suite Ocean View ). Either way it provides the ultimate in relax and sophistication. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Mawe Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing