We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meets Our expectations Again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tembo Village Resort Watamu
Ranked #11 of 22 Watamu B&B and Inns
Nairobi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Meets Our expectations Again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

After I stayed at Tembo Village in April with my friend, we had such a grand time that I decide to go aback again with my partner and another couple.
Bertina was her usual charming self and after just a short call all was booked.
We had the whole place to ourselves and we went partying in Watamu and came back later in the night.
All in all we had a total blast and I will recommend this place to anyone looking for a nice place to staying without having to go broke over a holiday.
Thank you Bertina!

Room Tip: There is a beautiful beach just a walk away and a snake park a minute away for those interested.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    34
    4
    8
    8
See reviews for
31
47
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

The hotel is unpretentious from outside, but inside the rooms are set in beautiful gardens. The rooms are comfortable and have lovely character symptomatic of the coastal region. However, the fans are not adequate to keep the rooms cool (particularly when there is a power value) and you do need air conditioning. Unfortunately, we did not realise that air conditioning was not included in the tariff and an additional charge was payable. I did try to arrange for air conditioning on the second night but the management was unable to locate the remote control! Finally, air conditioning was provided on our third and final night, so at last we enjoyed a good night's sleep (despite a power value during the night that lasted for about an hour).

Breakfasts are adequate if not spectacular and the swimming pool is a nice place to cool off.

The hotel offers excellent value. It was a pity though that we could not get air conditioning from the outset though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrDuncanBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

We needed a weekend getaway from the cold of Nairobi and Tembo Village was perfect. They were able to give us the number of a reliable tuk-tuk driver and give us recommendations on where to go. The rooms were clean and quite comfortable and close to the very well maintained pool. Wi-fi is available now so you can stay plugged in, should you desire to. Bettina and Peter treated us very well and we would certainly come back again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brennan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timbuktu, Mali
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed at Tembo Village for a couple of days before and after our trip up north. It was the first time but definetely not the last time =). Bettina and Peter's place has about 10 rooms, a cozy atmosphere and a great pool. This is definetely the place to relax when visiting Watamu!
We prefered a room without a/c (but with fan!) which are straight on when entering the area. Great bed, spotless bathroom, warm shower with (!) perfect pressure, throughout clean room, small terrace and a really nice and cozy interior. What do you need more?
The garden and the pool are nicely arranged and welcoming you as soon as you get out of your room. The breakfast was great (self made bread buns, fruits, eggs,..thank you Lara =)!) and the waitress (soo sorry but I forgot her name) was a sunshine. As we were around with our own car I can not write anything about walking distances to the beach or other places. If you need any help, no matter regarding what, you can always feel free to ask the owners, Lara or any staff member. They are all incredible friendly and helpful!! THANK YOU once again!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kenegy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I stayed at Tembo village this easter and it was an incredible place. Home away from home. Very beautiful cozy and clean rooms and towels changed every other day. The staff are all extremely helpful and cheerful people. Lara was especially a sweetheart and always available for any inquiries. Keep up the beautiful work at the beautiful place Bettina
Thanks for having us and we had the best days there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at Tembo back in February. It was a short break as a couple as part of a family holiday in Kenya with our baby twins.
The rooms are clean and simple making good use of local materials and furniture. The bed was huge with mossie nets and we had a fan which was perfectly adequate despite it being pretty hot (30 plus most days).
The staff were charming and helpful without being obtrusive and Bettina and her daughter Lara provided great service. It is a family run property which we really enjoyed as it made it a more personal experience than some of the bigger resorts in the area. This was my sixth visit to Watamu and having stayed both in private villas and big hotels like Turtle Bay on previous occasions I think Tembo strikes the right balance with a chilled atomsphere but good facilities like the pool and a beauty therapist.
We were full board and enjoyed the food with fresh fish, meat, fruit and vegetables. The personal style of dining in individual bandas is also a nice touch.
Overall a lovely break offering great value. I think the negative reviewers must have been staying in a different property or are expecting something for nothing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucky_meUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2013

Having read the very positive reviews, we were amazed with the poor staff attention, state of the room and quality of food that we were served with during our 3 night stay. The room was very small, the fan in the very very hot room was not working all the time because of power cuts and lack of back-up. When the fan was working, it was doing so poorly and not relieving us of the heat. When we asked about this the owner replied that we should not have chosen a room with a fan. As a couple living in Nairobi, and travelling throughout Kenya a lot, we always prefer a fan over airconditioning so felt her reply very awkward. The solution was to remove the mosquito net to feel some breeze. We had no choice but to stay full or half board, therefore could not eat a la carte, and the food options for us were not impressive at all. Had the feeling the restaurant is losing its good name as it was not busy at all during our stay. The only positive element was the pool which was nice. Will definitely not return and not recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanV573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinakenyaWatamu, Owner at Tembo Village Resort Watamu, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Hello and thank you for your review.

Mostly, we are very surprised by your feedback as we were never approached during your stay with your concerns; we would have immediately made provision for you to receive whatever was requested. Living in Nairiobi, i believe you know all about the climate at the coast in high season. You booked a room with fan and some guest are fine with it, others NOT and they go for the air conditioned rooms at a small extra charge.

As for the food not being very good, of course the appreciation of food is a personal consideration. If you had any meals at Tembo Village that you were not happy with, this was not brought to our attention for us to rectify. If it had been we would have been happy to investigate what and why the meal was not to your satisfaction and taken steps to improve the quality of your meal in particular and the dish in general. We are fairly confident that our cuisine is among the better ones in Watamu from the continually positive feedback that we receive. Yet there is always room for improvement and direct feedback at the time of a meal is the best means of achieving this.

We are very sorry to hear that you were so unhappy with your stay at Tembo Village but also wish we had been given the opportunity to address your concerns while you were here.

Thank you for the compliments about the swimming pool.

If i can assist you further and/or if you would like to give us more detailed feedback on the food items that you were unhappy with please feel free to do so. We will be happy to address them with the kitchen.

Kind regards,
Bettina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watamu hotels
0.2 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
1.1 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mawimbi Lodge
Mawimbi Lodge
#1 of 30 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tembo Village Resort Watamu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tembo Village Resort Watamu

Property: Tembo Village Resort Watamu
Address: Jacaranda Road | P.O. Box 504, Watamu 504, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tembo Village is a family-run boutique Hotel with 11 rooms and self catering apartments. The small Hotel is build in Swahili style on one acre of property, set in beautifully landscabed gardens, second road to Kenya`s internationally acclaimed Watamu National Marine Park. It offers guests an atmosphere of quality comfort, tranquility and privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com so you can book your Tembo Village Resort Watamu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing