We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star price for 2 star quality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watamu
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tembo Village Resort Watamu
Ranked #12 of 24 Watamu B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Having read the very positive reviews, we were amazed with the poor staff attention, state of the room and quality of food that we were served with during our 3 night stay. The room was very small, the fan in the very very hot room was not working all the time because of power cuts and lack of back-up. When the fan was working, it was doing so poorly and not relieving us of the heat. When we asked about this the owner replied that we should not have chosen a room with a fan. As a couple living in Nairobi, and travelling throughout Kenya a lot, we always prefer a fan over airconditioning so felt her reply very awkward. The solution was to remove the mosquito net to feel some breeze. We had no choice but to stay full or half board, therefore could not eat a la carte, and the food options for us were not impressive at all. Had the feeling the restaurant is losing its good name as it was not busy at all during our stay. The only positive element was the pool which was nice. Will definitely not return and not recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanV573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinakenyaWatamu, Owner at Tembo Village Resort Watamu, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2013

Hello and thank you for your review.

Mostly, we are very surprised by your feedback as we were never approached during your stay with your concerns; we would have immediately made provision for you to receive whatever was requested. Living in Nairiobi, i believe you know all about the climate at the coast in high season. You booked a room with fan and some guest are fine with it, others NOT and they go for the air conditioned rooms at a small extra charge.

As for the food not being very good, of course the appreciation of food is a personal consideration. If you had any meals at Tembo Village that you were not happy with, this was not brought to our attention for us to rectify. If it had been we would have been happy to investigate what and why the meal was not to your satisfaction and taken steps to improve the quality of your meal in particular and the dish in general. We are fairly confident that our cuisine is among the better ones in Watamu from the continually positive feedback that we receive. Yet there is always room for improvement and direct feedback at the time of a meal is the best means of achieving this.

We are very sorry to hear that you were so unhappy with your stay at Tembo Village but also wish we had been given the opportunity to address your concerns while you were here.

Thank you for the compliments about the swimming pool.

If i can assist you further and/or if you would like to give us more detailed feedback on the food items that you were unhappy with please feel free to do so. We will be happy to address them with the kitchen.

Kind regards,
Bettina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 118 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here from 25th December 2012 until 3rd January 2013 Bettina and her husband Peter and all their family are so nice and friendly nothing was a problem for them if you required anything.
Staff are friendly Millie my waitress is a lovely person always greeting you with a smile.
Lara Bettina's daughter is lovely we had some good chats together.
Room spacious, clean, food was great good choice of food each night.
Location is good, 15 minute walk into village, or to catch transport into Malindi.
I liked this hotel so much I have already arranged to go back in September this year and also looking at xmas and new year again.
Would recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilian232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

My friend and I stayed at the Tembo Village for two days last week. We made an emergency booking after spending one night at Villa Veronika in Watamu, which had been recommended in both the Lonely Planet and Rough Guide but which turned out to be pretty awful - there's been a recent change in owner there apparently and the place was dirty, window screens and taps in the bathroom were broken and it didn't feel very secure or safe. The Tembo Village was an absolute haven in comparison. It's located about ten minutes (by foot) from Watamu village - an easy walk and especially enjoyable in the morning and late afternoon, when locals are also commuting by foot. The hotel is set in a beautifully designed building amongst a lush, well-maintained garden and with African-inspired decoration. Our room was light and airy with amazing elevated beds (I felt like the princess and the pea), comfy bedding, free bottled drinking water and a hot shower. The owners, Bettina and Peter, were friendly, and sunbeds were put out for us every morning. If I find myself in Watamu again I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlotte t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Staying in Tembo has been such a fantastic experience accommodation was superb and to a high standard . each meal was cooked to perfection and not one bad word could be said .
The owners Peter and Bettina were superb hosts they were very friendly and gave their upmost to accommodate our needs . Peter , Bettina and their family not only great hosts but became very good friends . We will return to Tembo in the near future and i strongly recommend this hotel to stay in

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markR656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My wife and I travelled to the quite village of Watamu as a break between game drives in Tsavo West and Tsavo East, and to explore Watamu's attractions at the same time. We stayed at Tembo village because of its excellent location and its reputation. We were surprised with the quality of the food and the effort made by the staff to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. It was easy to visit several attractions, such as Mida Creek, Gede Ruins, Arabuko-Sokoke Forest, Marafa depression, Snake farm and Butterfly project in just a few days. We stayed 3 nights but staying a couple more nights makes it easier for swimming/snorkeling.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdsat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Well we are back to Tembo for an extended visit.It is as if we have never been away.This place has a charm that never seems to fade.We have been welcomed back as though we are part of the family and feel so comfortable here.We are enjoying the same high standards that we experienced on our first visit.The weather at the moment is good,with warm sunny days and cool evenings.The tropical gardens are looking very colorful and the place looks even more picturesque this time round.Done a little more exploring,and found some near deserted beaches,where you can sit and have a beer and soak up the atmosphere.As before,I have no hesitation in recommending Tembo Village Hotel as the place to stay,whilst you explore the unspoiled area around Watamu. Stan and Sally.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StanHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

After 6 days of safari through Kenya Watamu we arrived at a rest well deserved 4 days.
Peace, quiet, and good food ....... beverages,
And especially sympathy the bosses Bettina Peter and Lara.

Après 6 jours de safari à travers le Kenya nous sommes arrivés à Watamu pour un repos de 4 jours bien mérité.
Tranquilité, calme, bonne cuisine and....... boissons,
Et surtout la sympathie des patrons Bettina, Peter et Lara.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ramagufa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watamu hotels
0.8 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#18 of 26 in Watamu
156 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sun Palm Beach Resort
Sun Palm Beach Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
809 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
0.8 mi away
Barracuda Inn
Barracuda Inn
#11 of 26 in Watamu
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tembo Village Resort Watamu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tembo Village Resort Watamu

Address: Jacaranda Road | P.O. Box 504, Watamu 504, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Watamu
Price Range: $50 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tembo Village is a family-run boutique Hotel with 11 rooms and self catering apartments. The small Hotel is build in Swahili style on one acre of property, set in beautifully landscabed gardens, second road to Kenya`s internationally acclaimed Watamu National Marine Park. It offers guests an atmosphere of quality comfort, tranquility and privacy. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing