We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Can do better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Temple Point Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Temple Point Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Marine Park Rd, Watamu 80202, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Tunis, Tunisia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can do better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Sea view rooms does not meet the expectation. I guess I am used to an open balcony overlooking the sea and maybe sand around. Other standard rooms are much better value for money compared to what I was moved to as sea view. The grounds near the sea view rooms could do with some attention. Entertainment and food was good during our stay

Room Tip: No need to book sea view rooms...not worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rogers O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    129
    39
    11
    6
See reviews for
55
160
7
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

There are a few places that can strike a balance between the service available against the needs of the client. Temple Point Resort is one of such places. During our stay, it was a cosy place with a range of outdoor activities in the lagoon and in the hotel. Just don't get into an argument with Mwikali during breakfast!. Watamu is a relatively quiet town. So for those who would like a break from the fast lane that other cities like Mombasa would offer, Watamu is the place. Gede Ruins is also a must see site - so full of history!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tefis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Everything in this resort was designed to make it one of the best hotels on the Kenyan coast (or may be it was some time in the past, I don't know) but now it gives an impression of abandonment. The rooms (the ones I saw) are big and comfortable but need small repairwork here and there, the grounds are not taken proper care of, rubbish everywhere, poolside beds are old, breakfast and dinner were good, cannot complain, staff is O.K. Located more on the Mida Creek side with access to a small beach, which dries out at low tide, making one walk pretty far to the ocean front with its magnificent long white sand beach. The nearby marine park is worth visiting as the creek with mangrove trees and smaltime fishing. There is an old moslem Temple on the grounds.

Room Tip: Rooms above are better then below. (The guesthouses all have two stories)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikhail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Everything about the hotel was good except the food which is monotonous. They need to improve! The environment, location,facilities, rooms, staff etc is very good. Value for money if ur on bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M_Bajaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romeno, Italy
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

we stayed in temple point resort two times: first time on honeymoon. It was like arriving to paradise...the garden was so tidy, flowers and plants everywhere, everything so clean, everyone very kind, always someone taking care of us and our needs. the buffet-restaurant was delicious, with italian and world cousine, and the possibility to have the dinner on the beach, so romantic!! this time, nine years later, we retirned with our kids...the rooms where quite the same, but everything was old, consumed, the garden was savage and dry, the bathroom in the room was broken and dirty...the restaurant had every night the same dishes rice-rice-rice-meat-meat-meat a and fish, salad, but not variety like the previous time. there were three persons thata should have been the activities staff but they didn't organize a thing. last time, on the contrary, we were quite pissed off because the staff was always calling us to do something: a football match, playing cards,, dance, sing the karaoke... Talking to the workers there they said thata before the resort was owned by "viaggi del ventaglio" and everything was better, but now the owner is a german society and they don't care so much of it...you can see it. But africa is africa, and when you leave it you suffer anyway, also if the hotel wasn't so good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grimilde0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

There are probably fancier hotels on the coast north of Mombasa, but I am very happy here at Temple Point. We just sent snorkeling with the hotel's Captain Ferdinand and had a great time with a great variety of beautiful fish, much like Hawaii. This is a picturesque location, with a lot to do or a great place to relax. It has a big nice pool, tennis, archery, volleyball, billiards, a nearby IBA and other great places to view birds (have local guide David take you through Arabuko Sokoke Forest for birds like Sokoke Pipit and Scops Owl), bikes to use, etc. We are finishing a month long Kenya trip to see wildlife, and the seafood and other local food is a nice change from the standard faire at other lodges. A couple of words of advice - if you have laundry for this hotel to wash, make sure that you tell them when you need it - don't assume same day delivery and don't expect the wifi to always work (like much of Kenya). It is working now as I am writing this. It is warm at night here, but there is air conditioning for the huge rooms. Too bad I have to return home for work!

Room Tip: Get an upstairs room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank centralcoastguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

An excellent destination for families during holidays. The food is very good (but come with baby formula if u need it). The rooms have balconies with lounge sofas , these are good for family relaxation or discussions in a relaxed setting. Very high hygiene standards throughout. The staff are particularly helpful and funny (esp the animators). The masseuse is highly skilled, I actually ended up sleeping during the massage. Also try bike riding, the gym, lawn tennis or archery and lively evening animations with a live band. The turtle rescue mission and surrounding community also deserves your visit/support (on a boat ride to a nearby village we saw the most expensive boat in Kenya worth $1 million)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jadiel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watamu hotels
5.7 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#1 of 25 in Watamu
5.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
4.6 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#3 of 25 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 stars 593 reviews
0.5 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#5 of 25 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
3.0 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#15 of 25 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
2.7 mi away
Turtle Bay Beach Club
Turtle Bay Beach Club
#9 of 25 in Watamu
4.5 of 5 stars 795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Point Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Point Resort

Property: Temple Point Resort
Address: Marine Park Rd, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Watamu
#11 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Temple Point Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Temple Point Resort is a premier holiday beach resort located at the end of a headland between the Indian Ocean and Mida Creek. Surrounded by tropical gardens and the Mida Creek lagoon, the hotel is situated right inside the Watamu Marine National Park. Conveying the atmosphere of a delightful private home with luxurious accommodation, the resort standards are designed to provide the highest quality venue for both individual holiday makers and corporate functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HRS, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Temple Point Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Point Hotel Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing