We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Charming Lonno Lodge
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

Lonno Lodge is an absolute gem.
The management work tirelessly to ensure that you are happy and feel welcome. Aldo the owner, who designed and built the property has created a masterpiece that he can be rightfully proud of. The pool, restaurant, grounds and rooms are spectacular and a refreshing change from the often shoddy finishes in many Kenyan hotels.
The food and cocktails are delightful and you eat in beautiful surroundings.
I cannot fault Lonno Lodge for a single thing. Complete and perfect!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsanteSanaKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
159
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nairobi
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Top class luxury. Great location on gthe beach. Loved their pool. Food amazing with an Italian flair as per the owners. We enjoyed a two bedroom suite with fantastic views. Staff was superb with prompt attention and careful handling of guests. Their bathrooms up to top standards. Loved the comfortable beds. Good location in Watamu. Silvia is a great host and tried her best to please us. Will surely return again.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fred o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham,UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

After a week camping on safari, and a few nights in the nearby basic Mida Eco Camp, we opted to spend our last night of our holiday in what must be the best place on the Watamu-Malindi coast at Lonno Lodge to end our holiday on a high note. It was a great decision. We had a 2 bedroom suite for our family of four, and found ourselves as the only guests in the hotel which was quiet for a few days. Normally this might lead to a lack of atmosphere - but at Lonno Lodge it worked perfectly. With the lovely pool to ourselves, and our exquisite suite (more of a detached villa really), plus fabulous food (catering to our fish and vegetarian diet well) and discreet and efficient staff we had a wonderful stay. We arrived in the morning and didn't leave until late the following day for our evening flight, so made the most of our single night. The owners, Aldo and Silvia, were lovely, and it was great to not have to worry about leaving the suite early because no one else was due in.

Before we arrived we had visited Turtle Bay beach south of Watamu and seen the row of hotels on this part of the coast. We were so pleased to have chosen Lonno Lodge compared to the mass market, all inclusive hotels that we might have picked on Turtle Bay. It is expensive by comparison, but worth it for something that is exclusive and first class in every respect without crowds of package tourists wearing arm bands.

Our only problem was when it came to leave - we didn't want to! It made ending our holiday so much more difficult!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BackpackerDreaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We just came back to Nairobi from Lonno Lodge- we were the first guests for this season after a few rainy months. We stayed in one of the suites with a very naughty 16 month old boy, but truely enjoyed the simple but luxurious atomospher of the room, garden and magnificent ocean view. Aldo and Silvia are great hosts, very warmly welcoming us, and prepared specially beautiful foods for my husband, who is strict vegetarian, and for me- i guess, i have not eaten such great italian-taste dishes in the hotels for years! My baby was happy, excited to learn new things and to get to know how to greet to their nice dogs, though he needed some attentions not to fall as he always attempted to run around.
When weather is not perfect, Aldo and Silvia recommend you to visit Snake Farm nearby, but also let you take a tour around bays of Watamu, which we really enjoyed the diversity.
We were truely relaxed, and my husband even complained when we returned to Nairobi that he never felt so untired during the holiday but now coming back to reality again. We sincirely recommend especially those Kenyan residents to come to this lodge when you are coming to this side of the coast.
Lastly, thank you Silvia and Aldo, and all the staffs :)

Room Tip: you can mail to Aldo and Silvia, they can recommend you a good one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miyukiNairobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Spectacular resort by the watamu beach...exclusive for those who know what a serene holiday should be.Gives a touch of class to your holiday

Room Tip: Get closer to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VivienKenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwen27
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2012

The Lonno lodge is a little bit of heaven on earth. Personally I like my heaven warm, tranquil, beautiful, chilled, with gorgeous weather and amazing food - I got it all...

The owners are a nice couple who make you feel welcome but are not intrusive, the pool is beautiful, at the right temperature, and chlorine free. There is no air conditioning, but it's not really needed as there is a permanent breeze that keeps you cool, and for the eco-friendly minded, it's obviously better.

The hotel overlooks the sea, and at low tide a leisurely exploration of rock pools is highly recommended, although watch out for the sun burns! Sandy beach is a couple of miles down the road.

The one thing that could be slightly better is the meals (there's only so many 4-course Italian dinners I can stomach!), but all in all probably the best boutique hotel I've ever stayed at.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012

We were most fortunate to spend four nights at Lonno with our two children over Easter. We booked there because of the excellent online reviews and we were not disappointed. We have long dreamed of a trip to Kenya and wanted to make it very special. After three extraordinarily fabulous days in the Mara, we arrived dusty and tired from Malindi airport. We were immediately greeted with warmth by Silvia and Aldo (and the dogs!) and also by ice-cold freshly made fruit concoctions. Our room was style personified - simple, cool and spotless. We had a huge terrace with views over the pool and ocean. Heaven.
The whole complex is stunningly designed and there is incredible attention to detail. Architecturally, the impact is fascinating and makes the lodge feel like a tiny little Arabic village with cool alleyways and decorative, intriguing doorways. The pool and communal areas were absolutely beautiful and we spent many, many hours in their vicinity. We also enjoyed exploring the tidal reef directly in front of the hotel and were amazed to find appropriate and much-appreciated footwear supplied by the hotel.
It's hard to call Lonno a hotel though, because you feel less like a guest and more like a friend. The staff are superbly trained and ever-willing to assist in the smallest of tasks. Silvia even cut fresh aloe to apply to our daughter's sunburn. We found the meals utterly incredible given our location in the middle of (almost) nowhere. Silvia sources food from the local market daily and makes extensive use of fresh seafood. We have eaten in some of the world's top restaurants and Silvia's two extraordinary chefs would shine in any of them. Truly, we were amazed (and so, so full!) and sent our waiter to pry the chefs from their kitchen so we could thank them personally.
Silvia and Aldo are always readily available and sit down to every meal with guests, but they were completely unintrusive and clearly have an aversion to stating the obvious. Without a single sign or piece of literature, we were a million miles from the over-controlling British environment. We are sure this contributed to our ability to "switch off and zone out". Bliss.
Our only mistake was to leave from Mombasa. Far from Lonno and hideous in every way, it is a place to be avoided at all costs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watamu hotels
0.4 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
276 reviews
5.7 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
1,167 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sun Palm Beach Resort
Sun Palm Beach Resort
#20 of 26 in Watamu
28 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
195 reviews
3.3 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#2 of 26 in Watamu
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charming Lonno Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charming Lonno Lodge

Property: The Charming Lonno Lodge
Address: 390 Kanani Road, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
#1 Family Hotel in Watamu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charming Lonno Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charming Lonno Lodge Watamu is a luxury hotel on the sea side of the Watamu Marine Park, Kenya. Its secluded structure, with nested private tiny beaches, is the optimal spot to relax and indulge on the white beach of Kenya. Despite the proximity with the sea, a huge double swimming pool with salt water is available for our guests. Guests whose presence is limited in number to provide everyone with privacy, silence and top quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Charming Lonno Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonno Hotel Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing