We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unforgettable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Charming Lonno Lodge
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
2 reviews
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We had a very peaceful stay at the Lonno Lodge. We really appreciated the warm welcome, the kindness and the availibility of Silvia and Aldo. Same for the the helpfuf and professional staff. We will recommend this wonderful place when back home. We hope to come back again as soon as we can.

Fabienne & Manuel

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabienne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    16
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
87
159
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2011

We stayed at Lonno Lodge at the end of our safari and trekking trip in Kenya ... even we arrived at a horrible timing at 4.30/ 5 in the morning without information in advance, silvia and aldo welcomed us in such a nice way... we stayed at Lonno Lodge for 5 days... the rooms are beautiful - just 3 double rooms and 3 suites.. all of them gorgeos and unique... as the whole place/ location/ food and service...

As I'm a vergeterian they managed to surprise me every day with an excellent menue..

Am travelling a lot, but such a jewel is hard to find. Would give you 10 POINTS!

Thanks a lot Silvia and Aldo for the beautiful stay in Watamu <3

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marincee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2011

Undoubtably the most exquisite place I have travelled to in a very long time. The accommodation is simple, rustic and and as good, if not better, than any 5 star hotel I have ever stayed in. The staff are very warm and if your are lucky to bump into the owners Aldo and Sylvia, they promise to make you feel just at home. From a mix of Portuguese architecture and Arabic influence, rises this true diamond in the rough. The meals will have you wanting more and more. The meals are mainly European cuisine with an influence of African flavour. Keeping in touch with friends and family is absolutely possible with Hi-speed wireless internet available within general areas, but restricted within the rooms. But then, why are you really wanting to use the internet, when you can spend your afternoons walking along the white sandy beaches. If your looking to get away from it all and want good piece of mind, look no further for Lonno Lodge offers this, and so much more. P.S. If your nice enough to Aldo, he might take you to his secret ice-cream spot!!! Enjoy your memorable stay. Nic Alexander

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicalexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Veneto, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

This hotel has the most wonderful rooms, food and service I have ever experienced. The only thing I cannot work out is why it does not have 6 stars. The key to its success is the wonderful personal service provided by Aldo and Silvia. Aldo has done a wonderful job with designing an exceptional property and Silvia has guided an amazing culinary restaurant experience and both of them provide exceptional attention to detail. After staying for two weeks with our two sons of eight and eleven years, we consider Aldo and Silvia as friends. And what can we say about the dogs, who we miss enormously? This is an ideal place for people with young children or without children who appreciate quality and fantastic service. Moreover, we combined local experiences of snorkelling, exploring beaches and marine life with a one-day safari from the hotel then a two-day safari. This was a great combination of enjoying Kenya's lovely coast and amazing safari. We recommend this hotel without reservation.

Room Tip: book well in advance because this place is the best and you don't want to miss out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dominic S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Firstly we have to say that Trip Advisor gave us the first insight to Lonno Lodge and it was unusual to see such an array of excellent reviews .... none of them were wrong !!
We arrived at the Lodge and were met personally by Aldo and the dogs ( which are fine !) from that moment it was Aldo and Silvia's attention to detail that made this holiday exceptional
The top Tower room is lovely, the views stunning and so it turned out that the rest of this beautiful lodge were the same. Everything practically hand built by Aldo and his team of Kenyan labour showed how Italian style could be mixed with local culture and materials to produce a holiday location quite like any other we have been to anywhere is in the world

And then there was the food .... being Italian ( well half anyway ) it was a real treat to arrive at lunch and dinner to sound of the small bell, to be met by antipasti, pasta and main dishes, usually Italian , but all freshly produced from local ingredients sourced that day from local markets .... Silvia has crafted a small local team to produce fantastic food to such a degree that by the end of the week when we were the only guests it was like being with family and we have to say very fortunate to have the land rover working so that we could do a personal jeep safari with Aldo and Silvia and lunch on the beach at Che Shale to round off an amazing vacation

If you throw in 3 days on the Masai Mara reserve ( and we would recommend the Mara Rianta Camp by Exploreans ) and a must do trip to the local snake farm Bio Ken then you have a vacation that promised so much but actually delivered more than we ever hoped.

If you a thinking to visit Kenya, then for sure you will not find a better spot than on the top of the beach at Lonno Lodge in Watamu and definitely wont find better friends than Silvia and Aldo who go that little extra distance to make you feel at home !!

To Aldo and Silvia ...Mille Grazie per tutto !!! ... Katia and Paul ( Dubai )

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but just for the views from the roof terrace, take the top tower room is simp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Haslam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I picked Lonno off the internet because it looked like it would be nice. My daughter & I were not disappointed. We arrived in the evening to be met by Aldo & Sylvia with hot freshener towels and a long cool fruit drink in their delightful thatched banda. Being at Lonno is a bit like staying with good friends or relatives in an interesting and lovely coastal mansion where they make sure that you are made welcome and are well looked after. It has very much a family atmosphere where you are treated more like a welcome friend than just a paying guest. There are only eight guest rooms. Aldo designed and built the place and has built in all kinds of eco friendly features including a self contained solar power system and his own water desalination plant. This puts less strain on the limited resources from the local community and ensures that the lodge always has clean water and enough power for basic functions. I'm not sure what you'd call the style, perhaps something between an Italian and Moorish mansion linked with traditional East African coastal architecture. Interesting! The end result is very impressive. The lodge is situated at the less well developed nothern edge of Watamu where the small beach in front of the hotel is only accessible at low tide. At low tide it is a short walk to the more extensive Watamu beach. The place is fairly new and in good repair , safe within an extensive gated compound, the staff are friendly and competent and the food was excellent. Be prepared for 5 course evening meals! All in all, if what you are looking for is a nice friendly, quiet and relaxing place to stay on the coast this place will I think suit you well.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GMHobart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We stayed for five great days at Lonno Lodge in July and enjoyed every minute of it. The hotel building is beautiful and Aldo and Sylvia were fantastic hosts - happy to help and make sure we were being well looked after.They upgraded our room and treated us to a bottle of champagne which was a lovely touch, especially as we were on honeymoon.
The room was amazing,the decor had a perfect culture mix with a slight rustic feel, plus we had all the mod cons needed including a cold water dispenser, mini bar, tea and coffee facilites and also fantastic views of the stunning sea.
All of the staff were really friendly and welcoming to us, and the food was absolutely out of this world, Sylvia has trained the kitchen superbly in Italian cusine, we adored the 4 course lunches and 5 course dinners. There was also an excellent, well priced wine selection and outstanding expresso's.
We miss relaxing on their beautiful large day beds, looking out to sea and chilling in this beautiful part of the world which is still so secluded and peaceful.
Aldo took us on a snorkelling trip which was great fun, the water was so warm and the water was packed full of interesting and colourful sealife.
We had an amazing stay and would highly recommend it to anyone, Thank you again Aldo and Sylvia, we can't wait to come back with our friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fremontSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watamu hotels
0.4 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#3 of 26 in Watamu
276 reviews
5.7 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
1,167 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#17 of 26 in Watamu
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Sun Palm Beach Resort
Sun Palm Beach Resort
#20 of 26 in Watamu
28 reviews
3.2 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
195 reviews
3.3 mi away
Medina Palms
Medina Palms
#2 of 26 in Watamu
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Charming Lonno Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Charming Lonno Lodge

Property: The Charming Lonno Lodge
Address: 390 Kanani Road, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
#1 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#1 Family Hotel in Watamu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Watamu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Charming Lonno Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Charming Lonno Lodge Watamu is a luxury hotel on the sea side of the Watamu Marine Park, Kenya. Its secluded structure, with nested private tiny beaches, is the optimal spot to relax and indulge on the white beach of Kenya. Despite the proximity with the sea, a huge double swimming pool with salt water is available for our guests. Guests whose presence is limited in number to provide everyone with privacy, silence and top quality service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Charming Lonno Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lonno Hotel Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing