We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fabulous little place!”
Review of Marijani Hotel

Marijani Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marijani Hotel
Ranked #13 of 25 Watamu B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 6, 2012

We stayed here for a few days over Christmas and had a really lovely time. The guys who run this place are extremely helpful and friendly; they made us feel very welcome. My 4-year old son loved the pet turtle, dogs, cats and dancing parrots and had more than one giggle with the staff.
The rooms were simple, great value for money and kept clean all the time. Breakfast was delicious and they even offered to organize any foods we thought were missing such as yoghurt.
Organizing our stay with the German owners was a piece of cake with very prompt responses.
There were lots of mosquitoes, so do make sure you bring your bug spray. The nets provided were great, and the staff brought us a second new one within minutes so one of us could sleep on the balcony.
The location is great; a stone's throw from the beach and still close enough to shops etc for convenience.
They also helped us to arrange snorkeling trips with Carlos - a very lovely and caring man who made it his business to ensure that we had a good time and that we were doing what we wanted to do as opposed to following some sort of schedule. If you're ever in Watamu, I highly recommend asking around for Carlos if you're interested in doing any trips.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onceinabluemoonmoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 35 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed at Marijani for 5 nights in December just before Christmas. We arrived after a very long bus journey and our room wasn't ready but they kindly let us use another room to have showers and freshen up. We found the hotel to be very secure, there was always someone watching the gate. The staff were really helpful and friendly, we made some good friends there who we even spent the evenings with. We stayed in the budget room which we found to be clean and comfortable. The staff cleaned our room and changed bed sheets and towels every other day but would have done it everyday if we'd asked. We also hired bikes from them which was a great way to explore the area. The breakfasts were great, especially the fruit platters! If we had any questions there was always someone to ask. At one point we had a problem with our bank account and they were really helpful with this matter.
The hotel is so close to the beach and also to the village so excellently located for whatever you want to do. The only thing that is a shame is that perhaps the owner who isn't there too often could put more effort into the upkeep, although it's a brilliant place to stay it has even further potential. Also if the website were updated business would probably improve greatly. Thank you to the staff for making our stay here so enjoyable.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank esr2505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The Marijani is a very friendly guest house in small village of Watamu near Malindi, Kenya. The room rates are very good and the staff so willing to help the guests. It is set in lovely surroundings near Watamu beach on the Indian Ocean.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We came for the 2nd time at Marijani after 6 months, with some friends.
The house is still charming, the garden is OK, the staff is friendly - location perfect very close to the beach. But it is also true that their is a total lack of maintenance: windows broken, one shower not functioning well, and the ceiling fan absolutely terrible, making such a noise that we could not sleep. We asked for a standing fan and were providing one that was broken, so we had to fix it with a chair. Given the heat in the Kenyan coast it is a big issue.
The staff is friendly, but also very pole in getting things done.
In short there is a lack of management. If nothing is done, the place will be below standards.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soph6907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

The hotel is built nicely, but no one is taking care of the upkeep! All the rooms have problems like the shower hanging down, the fan not working, the flush spoilt!
We had booked a private two bedroom independent unit with a living room, verandah etc but were given two dingy rooms on the ground floor of the main house, next to the Kitchen! The rooms were freshly varnished, so they were also stinking. There was no one responsible and the owner, who exchanged the emails with us, did not even bother to come and meet us, despite our SOS call to him.
It seems, we were not the only one with problems, as a lot of guests were heard complaining and fighting with the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranthambore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2010

We (couple and adult son from Norway) stayed at Marijani week 13/2010. We chose the stay in Watamu because our son had signed on as a volunteer at a project nearby, so we met in Nairobi and spent one week's holiday at the coast.
The reception was friendly, our rooms comfortable with proper moskito-nets, OK functioning bathroom (there were different standards) and a spacious veranda. Cleaning to our satisfaction and change of linen and towels several times during the week. The location in regard to the beach and the village is convenient. The staff around us was friendly and helpful. Safety inside the property very good. As to animals, the dogs were friendly and quiet. One of the "housetigers" (cat) adopted me (mum) and demanded full attention when we were in, to my pleasure. We have no hesitations to recommend Marijani for a quiet and relaxed holiday. (The most annoying during our stay was the eager "sales-boys" at the beach and in the streets.)

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReisendeMoss_Norway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

We stayed for 5 nights in the Marijani guesthouse and we were not disappoited! The staff is very friendly, a really nice atmosphere, most of the rooms have access to a patio, the rooms are clean, full functional mosquito net, local style and design of the furniture. Breakfast inclusive, dinner on demand.
I deducted some points because of the following points: however the room was very clean, the bathroom could have needed some refurbishment. The owners are currently building a pool on the roof, so I thought, regarding the great location close to the beach, a refurbishment of the bathrooms would be more necessary than building a pool...The room in which we were in was quite small and dark, without air conditioning, so some nights it was really too hot to sleep well (but this is Kenya!). There was a fan but since the room was so high the air did not distribute well...The staff is very friendly and also very diligent, so they started cleaning the garden and the patios quite early in the morning which made us wake up.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sobresaliente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watamu hotels
0.0 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#18 of 26 in Watamu
165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
283 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ocean Sports Resort
Ocean Sports Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Charming Lonno Lodge
0.0 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#6 of 26 in Watamu
1,178 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barracuda Inn
Barracuda Inn
#9 of 26 in Watamu
1,015 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marijani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marijani Hotel

Address: Watamu, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Watamu
Price Range: $37 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Marijani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing