We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first visit in a wonderful country”
Review of Barracuda Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Barracuda Inn
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2005

I'm just back from Kenia.
I stayed with my family in Watamu (20 kms from Malindi) and I choosed an Italian resort called Barracudda Inn. I did this because friends of mine stayed there and suggested for the excellent italian food and informal service. Indeed we had a lovely staying, and as I'm Italian and vegetarian I did appreciate to have fresh home made pasta and a lot of fresh vegetables......and what about the cakes!!!!! Agata can prepare deliciuos cakes......I tried all, and I'm sorry to say that I also gained some kilos. We had 2 lovely weeks at Barracuda nd no stomac problems at all (I had problems several times in other part of the world).
The Barracudda Hinn is not too big, only 50 bungalows, very clean and comfortable, with A/C. No TV in the room, but after the first night you will forget it. All the staff starting from the director to the gardeners to the pool assistants and the guests assistants (Sammy and Mohammed) are so friendly that you will miss their smiling faces as soon as you take your bus back to the airport.
The white sandy beach is really something and the people of the village near by is so warm.
What I suggest is not to book excursions directly from UK or Europe at all or in Hotel office. You will pay it at European price, while you can get the same things directly there, paying less and giving this people more chance to grown. We met an authorized guide on the beach and he really looked well after us. His name is ALI and for your convenience I'm writing you his mobile number +254734583120, but he can be reached also at the mail adress ali_bakari@hotmail.com , if you wish you can tell him that SUITA gave you this informations. I'm a travel agent in Italy planning to open an office in Watamu. Ali will be the manager of this office before the end of the year.
He can arrange quite everything for you and will show all the beauty of Kenya and the real life, if you wish. It could be an experince to see how happy children are to walk for kms to reach the school.

20  Thank eddie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,036)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 36 of 1,036 reviews

Reviewed 3 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank India M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Consigliamo le stanze tra la 20 e 40 che sono più vicine alla spiaggia, alla piscina, ristorante e z...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank StefaniaC1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank silvia_mezza90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Nicovale_95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Thank 8123david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Watamu hotels
0.2 mi away
Lily Palm Resort
Lily Palm Resort
#16 of 26 in Watamu
185 reviews
1.8 mi away
Mawe Resort
Mawe Resort
#5 of 26 in Watamu
284 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sun Palm Beach Resort
Sun Palm Beach Resort
#18 of 26 in Watamu
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crystal Bay Resort
Crystal Bay Resort
#4 of 26 in Watamu
830 reviews
3.5 mi away
Garoda Resort
Garoda Resort
#6 of 26 in Watamu
1,184 reviews
4.9 mi away
Jacaranda Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barracuda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barracuda Inn

Address: Watamu Road, Watamu 80202, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Coast Province > Watamu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Watamu
#5 Luxury Hotel in Watamu
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Watamu
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Watamu
Price Range: $48 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barracuda Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 86
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Barracuda Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barracuda Hotel Watamu
Barracuda Resort Watamu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing