We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Informative”
Review of Bio-Ken Snake Farm

Bio-Ken Snake Farm
Book In Advance
More Info
$195.00*
and up
Day Trip to Malindi and Watamu
Ranked #5 of 25 things to do in Watamu
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bio-Ken is a research centre, which deals with reptiles, especially snakes and snake-bite. Located less than 5 minutes drive from the hotels in Watamu - Kenya, it houses the largest collection of Snakes in East Africa and is open to the public. There are about 127 different snake species in Kenya. Of these only 18 have caused human fatalities and only another 6 could kill you. Another 10 could cause you a lot of pain and the remaining 93 or so, are non-venomous nor dangerous.
Winnipeg, Manitoba
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Informative”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We really enjoyed the snake farm. It was a great opportunity to get close to the snakes and learn more about them. The staff are very knowledgeable and seem to take the protection of the snakes seriously. We really enjoyed our visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank zimmer67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    52
    17
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Snake Heaven”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Fantastic farm, they really care about their animals, and even rehome them after they are able to survive on their own. Even got to hold some snakes and a chameleon!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Caitlin_Mackenzie199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Really interesting place to visit”
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I visited the Bio Ken Snake Farm Feb 2014.

Very impressed with the knowledge that the staff have for these snakes and other animals. Probably left the place with a different opinion of snakes :-) I went mainly because I wanted to take some macro photos and was not dissapointed.

Many species to see. Not possible for me to tell which are dangerous and which are harmless.

Well worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Boys own trip!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

The boys went for a visit to this attraction and were totally absorbed! They were allowed to hold non-venomous snakes and came back full of information. A short tuk-tuk ride away. Does close during the middle of the day so check times.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

We went to Bio Ken for an outing for our son's birthday. The literature in the hotel promised an interesting family excursion. In reality they do a fabulous job creating anti-venoms and you will get to see many species of reptiles - some fairly alarming! Do not be expecting a tourist attraction - this is a working facility who are looking after reptiles that have been injured and are unable to return to the wild.

They do a fantastic job and all the staff are exceptionally knowledgeable about the animals they are caring for. We were lucky enough (I think) to be able to hold a snake - which for children is probably the main point of being there but I would not say it is appropriate for small children. My son turned 13 on the day we went and he is a sponge for information so it suited him. A lot of children may get bored looking at tanks where the snakes may not be fully visible because frankly they are very private creatures!

The python is fantastic and we saw a small constrictor - I think a twig snake - attempting to eat a live frog which was fascinating.

As ever when animals are in captivity I was left with a sense that they should be in their natural habitat - especially if you have been on safari before you go here - but the animals are unable to return to the wild so I suppose it is their only chance!

The opening hours for the afternoon begin at 2pm - we turned up at about 10 to 2 in a tuk tuk and the facility was closed. Our tuk tuk driver called somebody and within a couple of minutes we were welcomed in, paid our entrance fee and the guide was lovely - willing to answer any questions we had and shared so much knowledge about the reptiles.

Definitely worth a visit for educational purposes - very interesting!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BogginsFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bio-Ken Snake Farm also viewed

Watamu, Coast Province
Watamu, Coast Province
 

Been to Bio-Ken Snake Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing