We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, good value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Badacsonytomaj
Certificate of Excellence
hursomhelst
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent, good value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hotel Bonvino has an excellent location, close to the beach and vineyards. The hotel is new and nicely decorated (although I would say the design that works well in lobby and wine bar feels somewhat unbalanced in the bedroom where the "warehouse" style clashes too much with the color and style of the room). But that is of minor importance. Otherwise high standard of the room, we had the "Standard room " which was of decent size and came with a balcony (even if the room name at booking.com indicates it doesn't have).

Room price includes half board and we were presently surprised. We expected a something bland and common as often is the case in hotels of this kind but were surprised by a bufe that brought the best out of some Hungarian dishes by adding some modern twists to them. The food itself would be enough for me to return!

Only minus was the service in the restaurant. When we come down for dinner no one approach us to explain how it worked or if we wanted to get a drink (it was not very busy). When at last I approached the bar to ask for some water, I got handed a bottle but no glass which I wasn't too happy with as the only glass I had on the table I wanted to use for another drink. In the end we didn't order any wine as we were not to pleased having to run back and forward to the bar and wait there for someone to appear to get something to drink. The restaurant staff also seemed very uncomfortable with English but were more relaxed when approached in Hungarian.

We did not use the spa facilities.

All in all great value for the money and will most likely return.

Hotel Bonvino would do themselves a favor of working on their webpage which doesn't at all indicate their style or how nice it actually is.

Room Tip: On booking.com the rooms are marketed as: "Standard Double Room" and "Classic Double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hursomhelst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear hursomhelst,

We are greatful for your detailed review and kind words.We'll make sure to pass on your comments to the restaurant manager to improve the quality of the service.The staff is currently on language training, we hope it will help in the future.
We are also greatful for your room tip. As a matter of fact all of our rooms have balcony or terrasse or direct garden access.

Best Regards,

Peter Torok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    37
    16
    6
    2
See reviews for
26
73
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Terrible services , unprepared and unpolite staff, expensive, very modest food, no real added value for badacsony , noisy place, loud music until 3am, no garage or garage for money only, city has much better places

Stayed July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Gollam76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Gollam76,

Thank you for your review. We are sorry you did not enjoyed your stay.

Best Regards,

Peter Torok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Level Contributor
75 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

I went to have a off site conference and stay at this remotely located resort with a bunch of coworkers. We only stayed for 2 nights and overall the experience is pretty good.

The Good:
The hotel is quite new, and the room is clean and modern. The location is very quiet, except there is a small carnival nearby.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is quite good at it's 3-4 stars standard.

The Bad:
The hotel would turn off my room's AC in the middle of the night to save power bill. I had to call the front desk to get them to turn it back on. That didn't happen on 2nd night.

The Ugly:
There are tons of mosquitos in the hotel, but luckily not in the room. They are in the garden, lobby, hall way...everywhere. Most of us got bitten pretty bad.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel cos I believe the location and the facilities are not that attractive.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eDUBShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear eDUBShanghai,

Thank you for your mixed comments. It was a pleasure to have you and your group as our guests.

We indeed faced some technical problems with the air-co that night, apologise for this.
The mosquitos "attack" by waves: there are days when they are present and annoying and many days when you don't see any. Yours unfortunately was the former.
As you said in your comments:"overall the experience is pretty good", we'll hope this will be sufficent to welcome you again.

Kind Regards,

Peter Torok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szazhalombatta, Hungary
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have spent a very pleasant long weekend with my daughters in this clean, modern hotel. The room was very up-to-date, with comfortable beds, even the extra bed for my daughter was excellent. The windows were properly insulated so we did not hear the train during the night, when we could use the air conditioner instead of opening the windows for ventillation.
The restaurant was also nice, the waiters and waitresses very helpful and always ready to serve the guests. There was a pleasant variety of dishes in the morning and also at the dinner.
The wellness area was also extremely clean and modern, though a bit small, which is not a problem if the weather is nice, because the beach is 5 minutes walk from the hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms with the garden view look very peaceful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zsuzsanna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Zsuzsanna E,

Welcome to Tripadvisor and thank you for your review. We are honoured that our Hotel is your first review. Your praise is yet another encouragement for us to maintain and where possible improve our quality of service. We hope that you'll check back soon to find it out (again) for yourself.

Kind Regards,

Peter Torok
ps: we agree with your room tip! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava, Bratislava, Slovakia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Me and my husband stayed here for 3 nights, from 04/07/13 to 07/07/13. Hotel is very modern, clean and comfortable, only few minutes walk from the lake beach. Double bed room was spacious, bright and convenient. Food was amazing. Breakfast consisted from warm buffet (omelette with mushrooms, sausages..) and cold buffet (different kinds of cheese and hams, vegetable, yougurts, cereals..), diferent kinds of milk (soya, bio, almond..)... Dinner consisted from appetizer (caviar, mussels, octopus..), 2 kinds of soup and 3 main courses (chicke, pork and fish). Everything what we ate was excelent. The stay in this hotel was really gorgeous!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dada F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Dada F,

Wow, we are so pleased to get your great comments. We'll do everything we can to ensure that our level of service continue to satisfy you.

Kind Regards,

Peter Torok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have selected the hotel because it was recommended and sooo highly rated by our friends and colleagues. We spent 3 nights and 4 days in the hotel, 3 adults and one kid.
We went for a 2 room apartment, bedroom plus living room with spare bed.
Our first impression was upon entering the rooms that they are too small. Than we tried to accommodate ourselves, there was no real place to put our luggages, things and belongings in the rooms and in the bathroom. We missed the usual bedside tables as well. The room outfit is very nice and unique but sometimes you must consider also the practical side of interior design...
Where to put bathroom assessories next to the wahsbasin - we were 4 of us...
It is my personal mania taking shower without holding the shower nozzle in one of my hands - there was no hook to hold it.
The wellness area was OK for us, having a child over 6 who can take 27-28 celsius water temperature and learned to swim already, but families with smaller kids could use the jacuzzi (recommended up to 5 person...) only. It was many times overcrawded with kids and parents, grandparents.
I found it strange why we could not use the deck chairs on the wellness terrasse, they were locked, had to take a sunbath only on the terrasses next to our room on the second floor.
The balconies of the rooms are not separated, it is a one common area, you could easily walk from one room to the other through the balcony, one morning we met a little guy (age 2-3) looking into our room through our open balcony door.
I missed the moscito net, would have been nice to have a protection, my kid got a few mosquito pinches through the night.
That's all the issues but we have of course positive experiences as well just we are maybee too critical guys :-)
The location is just perfect, to walk to the lake, to the cellars, to access from the main road.
The food is very unique and healthy, we always found it tasty, and also the quantity was OK.
The hotel personnel is very nice and friendly, I enjoyed the chats with one of the cleaning ladies, they were very helpful, offering programs as well!
All in all our stay was OK, maybee our expectations have been set too high considering the many recommendations and the hotel prices...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank agnes d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear agnes d!

Thank you for your great, detailed review. It is very helpful to get so much information from your stay. Although most of time our suites provide sufficient room for a familiy of four, should you need more space next time, please opt for the family suite, as it comes with two bedrooms, a living room with a kitchen area, two toilettes and a bathroom - not to forget the 100 sqm sunterasse!

Normally the deck chairs are freely accessible. This must have been a one off error for which we apologise!

We greatly appreciate your positive feed back on food and most importantly about our colleagues!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We spent a long weekend at Hotel Bonvino as a couple and we had a very nice, relaxing time there. The food was excellent, breakfast with 6 different types of milk (as I cannot drink normal milk, it was a good surprise for me), and very tasty food also for dinner.
As the weather was really hot, most of the guests stayed at Balaton so we were alone in the wellness area most of the time.
The personnel was very kind and helpful, you could feel yourselves as a really guest, which is unfortunately not so common in Hungary. When we asked for a glass of wine late in the night, there was no problem, the waitress who was to go home, stayed just for us, and she was very kind.
We also participated at Wine Academy program which was very interesting and we got to know new things (and also won a bottle of wine).
Negativities: We missed the gym, it would be good to have a gym in a wellness hotel. There were some bloody, dead mosquitos on the wall, the soap dispensers are not easy to use.
We will return for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KataRe_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear KataRe_13,

Thank you for your review. It is extremely rewarding to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Peter Torok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badacsonytomaj
15.1 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz
10.4 mi away
Wellness Hotel Katalin
Wellness Hotel Katalin
#1 of 1 in Gyenesdias
5.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
21.7 mi away
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
#1 of 20 in Balatonfured
4.0 of 5 bubbles 655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Zenit Hotel Balaton
Zenit Hotel Balaton
#1 of 1 in Vonyarcvashegy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
15.0 mi away
Hotel Palace Heviz
Hotel Palace Heviz
#6 of 33 in Heviz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
7.7 mi away
Albergo Giardino Hotel
Albergo Giardino Hotel
#2 of 4 in Balatongyorok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony

Property: Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony
Address: Park u. 22, Badacsonytomaj 8258, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Veszprem County > Badacsonytomaj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Badacsonytomaj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony is a new hotel with a unique design concept. It offers luxurious relaxation facilities,a wide range of high quality local wines and Hungarian cuisine in the centre of Badacsonytomaj only 300 metres from the shores of Lake Balaton. Each of the stylish rooms is air-conditioned and features a balcony, a flat-screen TV, a minibar and an elegant bathroom with bathrobes. Hotel Bonvino Badacsony has an indoor pool with a jacuzzi, Finnish and infra saunas, steam cabin, child pool section and specially developed Spa treatments. Children and parents enjoy our indoor playroom and outdoor playground. Countless wine-related activities as well as beautiful natural trails await! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing