We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Was expecting a bit more”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Badacsonytomaj
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Was expecting a bit more”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have selected the hotel because it was recommended and sooo highly rated by our friends and colleagues. We spent 3 nights and 4 days in the hotel, 3 adults and one kid.
We went for a 2 room apartment, bedroom plus living room with spare bed.
Our first impression was upon entering the rooms that they are too small. Than we tried to accommodate ourselves, there was no real place to put our luggages, things and belongings in the rooms and in the bathroom. We missed the usual bedside tables as well. The room outfit is very nice and unique but sometimes you must consider also the practical side of interior design...
Where to put bathroom assessories next to the wahsbasin - we were 4 of us...
It is my personal mania taking shower without holding the shower nozzle in one of my hands - there was no hook to hold it.
The wellness area was OK for us, having a child over 6 who can take 27-28 celsius water temperature and learned to swim already, but families with smaller kids could use the jacuzzi (recommended up to 5 person...) only. It was many times overcrawded with kids and parents, grandparents.
I found it strange why we could not use the deck chairs on the wellness terrasse, they were locked, had to take a sunbath only on the terrasses next to our room on the second floor.
The balconies of the rooms are not separated, it is a one common area, you could easily walk from one room to the other through the balcony, one morning we met a little guy (age 2-3) looking into our room through our open balcony door.
I missed the moscito net, would have been nice to have a protection, my kid got a few mosquito pinches through the night.
That's all the issues but we have of course positive experiences as well just we are maybee too critical guys :-)
The location is just perfect, to walk to the lake, to the cellars, to access from the main road.
The food is very unique and healthy, we always found it tasty, and also the quantity was OK.
The hotel personnel is very nice and friendly, I enjoyed the chats with one of the cleaning ladies, they were very helpful, offering programs as well!
All in all our stay was OK, maybee our expectations have been set too high considering the many recommendations and the hotel prices...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank agnes d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear agnes d!

Thank you for your great, detailed review. It is very helpful to get so much information from your stay. Although most of time our suites provide sufficient room for a familiy of four, should you need more space next time, please opt for the family suite, as it comes with two bedrooms, a living room with a kitchen area, two toilettes and a bathroom - not to forget the 100 sqm sunterasse!

Normally the deck chairs are freely accessible. This must have been a one off error for which we apologise!

We greatly appreciate your positive feed back on food and most importantly about our colleagues!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    40
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
27
76
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

We spent a long weekend at Hotel Bonvino as a couple and we had a very nice, relaxing time there. The food was excellent, breakfast with 6 different types of milk (as I cannot drink normal milk, it was a good surprise for me), and very tasty food also for dinner.
As the weather was really hot, most of the guests stayed at Balaton so we were alone in the wellness area most of the time.
The personnel was very kind and helpful, you could feel yourselves as a really guest, which is unfortunately not so common in Hungary. When we asked for a glass of wine late in the night, there was no problem, the waitress who was to go home, stayed just for us, and she was very kind.
We also participated at Wine Academy program which was very interesting and we got to know new things (and also won a bottle of wine).
Negativities: We missed the gym, it would be good to have a gym in a wellness hotel. There were some bloody, dead mosquitos on the wall, the soap dispensers are not easy to use.
We will return for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KataRe_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear KataRe_13,

Thank you for your review. It is extremely rewarding to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Peter Torok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinglake, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

I must start this review by saying we did not use the spa and stayed just one night as we passed through on our way to Budapest. The hotel is very reasonably priced (130 Euros for two people at half board). I am not sure if you could stay here at a room only rate as we don't speak Hungarian and staff had limited English. This is fine, we don't expect everyone around the world to speak the same language as us and all staff were very friendly and helpful despite our language barrier. There is free, secure undercover parking and WiFi is freely available throughout the hotel, although the connection strength is variable. The room was average and I would have said more at a three star level. The ceiling, interestingly, was just raw concrete. The bathroom was small and the shower (no bath) was adequate, but our drain was blocked and water remained ankle deep in the shower recess from the evening until the next morning when we left (yes we did inform staff, but I am not sure I made myself understood). Dinner was a buffet served between 6 and 8pm (which is early for Europe) and was edible, but nothing to write home about. Breakfast the next morning was also fine, but not special. The wine bar on the terrace was nice, but served a very limited selection of local Hungarian wines, and did not include the best Hungary has to offer. We probably would not return, but if you are passing by, the hotel is good value for the price.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Jennifer H,

We greatly appreciate that you shared your view about our Hotel. At the same time, I'd hope we would manage to give you a better experience. We'll look into the problem in the bathroom, it happened in some of them as a construction error, we'll fix those within the shortest delay. As our wine bar is one of the thing we are more proud of I'll like to point out that we do offer a huge selection (over 100 varieties, nearly all of them by the glass!) of Hungarian wine - more than any other Hotel in Hungary (well, probably).
Thank you once more for your review and I wish you a pleasent stay in Hungary

Best Regards,

Peter Torok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

We spent a weekend at Bonvino with friends and our babies (4 adults and 2 babies) and it was simply perfect. The location is excellent, it is not far up on the hill,just a few hundred meters from Balaton. We could not find anything negative during our stay. The rooms are fairly large in size, you can easily move around even with a babycot installed. The design is beautiful, and the whole atmosphere is very positive. The restaurant is excellent. We were on half-board, and enjoyed it very much. One great advantage! The hotel has a large room just next to the restaurant that had been converted into a play area, so kids can play during dinner, and parents can see their kids through glass windows. Great idea! The staff is very polite and helpful. I would definately recommend this hotel, and of course will be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedingkoala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear speedingkoala,

Thank you for your review. It's great to know, you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to see you again!

Best Regards,

Peter Torok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debrecen, Hungary
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

This April we had our second stay at this hotel. Last year I spent 3 days there with my sons and now we stayed another 3 days with my wife and the two kids. We had a family suite which was about 55m2 and had a balcony of 80m2 or even more. It is not mistaken. The balcony was in fact a large sun terrace. The best thing about this hotel that it is big enough to have the best catering (I mean food variety, wine tasting events, afternoon cakes, spa services etc.) And in the same time it is not that big hotel to be overcrowded. (You do not meet here with the tourist rush at the dining buffet) The hotel design and the quality materials used are outstanding.
Only downside could be that in summertime, there is a small amusement park in about 100 meters, and it has some flashing lights but not much noise, so it might disturb some guests. (I saw that at our first stay in last August. Now in April the amusment park was not there.
I am sure that we will return.

Room Tip: The rooms begining with 3 have the terrace. The family suite with the large balcony is the 302.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viktor_HU_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Vantus_12,

Thank you for your great review! We look forward to welcome you again soon!

Best Regards,

Peter Torok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have spent 2 nights in Bonvino, at the end of February. In overall, we have been very satisfied, since the service was really over expectations, the wellness not overcrowded and the meals tasty. We certainly come back in the future.
Rooms
We have been given the rustic room, we did not like it. I would rather recommend the modern one, my boyfriend's brother had that type. We had bathtube, but the modern room was equipped with spacious shower. Nice, pleasant 4* rooms.
Wellness
There is one huge pool, mainly for swimming, a jacuzzzi for 6, 2 saunas, 1 infrasauna, 1 steamcabin. There are 16 beds overall, so we have 'booked' two at 8.45 am with our towels. A huge plus, that the wellness has 'quiet hours': 8-9 am, 12-14, and 8-9pm, during which children under 14 cannot enter :-) I think this is also very logical, since it is mainly a wine hotel, there are other hotels around lake Balaton which are family hotels.
Food
Not a big variety: 2 soups, 3 starter, 4 main course, couple deserts for dinner, but all of them were very tasty, I think the chef is much better than in other 4* Hungarian hotels I have visited so far. The breakfast was ok, the juice and the coffee could have been better.
In overall I mainly recommend this hotel for wien-loving couples, who like new, modern hotels and appreciate polite and caring service.

Room Tip: Ask a room on the first floor (rooms beginning with 3), 301-307 are highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Nora28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear K_Nora28!

Thank you for your great review. It is such a great pleasure, to read that we were abe to meet your expectations. We look forward to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

A great base to explore the Badacsony wine region. The hotel has a special character, the staff/owners are clearly trying to achieve something more than what you get from the faceless big chains. Most of the time they succeed. Whilst the rooms are ok in size, they are lacking a bathtub, which one would except from a 4 star hotel. However this was our only complaint. Whilst the pool/spa area is on the smaller size, it was big enough to handle all the guest during a autumn bank holiday weekend. The food and wines on offer were very good, making the most of the local producers. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear zachy,

Thank you for your great review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Actually we do have rooms with bathtubes -please make sure you ask for one when you make your next reservation or just write to me and I'll have one for you! They are at no extra cost. Looking forward to see you again!

Peter Torok
torok.peter@hotelbonvino.hu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badacsonytomaj
15.1 mi away
Danubius Health Spa Resort Heviz
10.4 mi away
Wellness Hotel Katalin
Wellness Hotel Katalin
#1 of 1 in Gyenesdias
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
21.7 mi away
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
#1 of 20 in Balatonfured
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Albergo Giardino Hotel
Albergo Giardino Hotel
#2 of 4 in Balatongyorok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Pelion
Hunguest Hotel Pelion
#1 of 2 in Tapolca
4.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
22.2 mi away
Aura Hotel
Aura Hotel
#4 of 20 in Balatonfured
4.5 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony

Property: Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony
Address: Park u. 22, Badacsonytomaj 8258, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Veszprem County > Badacsonytomaj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Badacsonytomaj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony is a new hotel with a unique design concept. It offers luxurious relaxation facilities,a wide range of high quality local wines and Hungarian cuisine in the centre of Badacsonytomaj only 300 metres from the shores of Lake Balaton. Each of the stylish rooms is air-conditioned and features a balcony, a flat-screen TV, a minibar and an elegant bathroom with bathrobes. Hotel Bonvino Badacsony has an indoor pool with a jacuzzi, Finnish and infra saunas, steam cabin, child pool section and specially developed Spa treatments. Children and parents enjoy our indoor playroom and outdoor playground. Countless wine-related activities as well as beautiful natural trails await! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing