We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice small hotel with great service and delicious meals”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Badacsonytomaj
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice small hotel with great service and delicious meals”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We have spent 2 nights in Bonvino, at the end of February. In overall, we have been very satisfied, since the service was really over expectations, the wellness not overcrowded and the meals tasty. We certainly come back in the future.
Rooms
We have been given the rustic room, we did not like it. I would rather recommend the modern one, my boyfriend's brother had that type. We had bathtube, but the modern room was equipped with spacious shower. Nice, pleasant 4* rooms.
Wellness
There is one huge pool, mainly for swimming, a jacuzzzi for 6, 2 saunas, 1 infrasauna, 1 steamcabin. There are 16 beds overall, so we have 'booked' two at 8.45 am with our towels. A huge plus, that the wellness has 'quiet hours': 8-9 am, 12-14, and 8-9pm, during which children under 14 cannot enter :-) I think this is also very logical, since it is mainly a wine hotel, there are other hotels around lake Balaton which are family hotels.
Food
Not a big variety: 2 soups, 3 starter, 4 main course, couple deserts for dinner, but all of them were very tasty, I think the chef is much better than in other 4* Hungarian hotels I have visited so far. The breakfast was ok, the juice and the coffee could have been better.
In overall I mainly recommend this hotel for wien-loving couples, who like new, modern hotels and appreciate polite and caring service.

Room Tip: Ask a room on the first floor (rooms beginning with 3), 301-307 are highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K_Nora28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear K_Nora28!

Thank you for your great review. It is such a great pleasure, to read that we were abe to meet your expectations. We look forward to welcome you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    42
    16
    6
    3
See reviews for
27
79
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Budapest
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

A great base to explore the Badacsony wine region. The hotel has a special character, the staff/owners are clearly trying to achieve something more than what you get from the faceless big chains. Most of the time they succeed. Whilst the rooms are ok in size, they are lacking a bathtub, which one would except from a 4 star hotel. However this was our only complaint. Whilst the pool/spa area is on the smaller size, it was big enough to handle all the guest during a autumn bank holiday weekend. The food and wines on offer were very good, making the most of the local producers. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear zachy,

Thank you for your great review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay. Actually we do have rooms with bathtubes -please make sure you ask for one when you make your next reservation or just write to me and I'll have one for you! They are at no extra cost. Looking forward to see you again!

Peter Torok
torok.peter@hotelbonvino.hu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Pretty nice hotel with great interiors. Staff is very friendly and helpful.
We've been absolutely satisfied with the food and got some extra weight during the weekend.
It was great to have a bonus massage and a glass of wine as a returning guest.
We'll come back next year for sure.

Room Tip: In the modern room next to the car parking place I heard some pulsating machine noise during the nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank serlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear serlock,

You made our day! Thank you for the nice review. We'll make sure you'll enjoy your next stay as much as you enjoyed this one.

Looking forward to welcome you again!

Peter Torok
(torok.peter@hotelbonvino.hu)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

- not the location supposed to see after the website
- there was a hungarian style festival just right near the hotel. they didnt even inform us before about it! it was pretty disturbing during our stay especially with a 5 yr child.
- no hoovering during our 5 day stay! even if we asked for cleaning
- check out carefully the drinks invoice you receive
- higly overpriced

+ lovely interior
+ good food
+ nice wellness, but @wintertime it might be not enough
+ even in 40 degrees good air condition

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrAquary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Dear MrAquary,

We are glad to receive your review. We will make sure that all the things you enjoyed will remain at least of the same quality, while at the same time we also want to correct our mistakes.
The local fair (which is organised independently of us) is now over and we will transmit to the local authorities the complaint about it - so that for next year they can find a better suited place for that attraction. If you could write me the details of your stay, I could check what happened regarding your billing and the housekeeping. It might not be helpful to you now, but usually it is this latter department which receives the best comments from our guest. If something went wrong we would like to correct it.

Best Regards,
Peter Torok (torok.peter@hotelbonvino.hu)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
331 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Based on the description of the hotel I expected more. There was nothing wrong with it, I was just expecting more in the way of room and facilities. There is not much of a spa that I could see and the rooms are nice but basic and the pool is indoors.

One concierge in particular went very out of her way to be helpful and the staff in the wine bar were also very helpful. Other than these folk most staff did not speak english and we did not speak Hungarian so that made it a bit difficult.

We did enjoy the local wines and tasting rooms and had several excellent dinners in restaurants in town.

We ended up doing day trips during our stay because we didn't find enough to do in Badasconytomaj. This is not a reflection on the hotel; just a general comment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank booptraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter T, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear booptraveller,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions about our Hotel. We were sorry to read your mixed review. I would be glad if you could share with me what was that you considered as not fully meeting your expectations? We are keen to enhance our services to provide a perfect holiday next time you visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunajska Streda, Slovakia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2012

We stayed for a short holiday, for three nights.
The hotel is situated in middle of Badacsony, good and for some people not, because of the noise.
The appartman we had was a two room app. With a separate living room and a bedroom. Really pleanty of place for two, but also for two plus children.
The halfboard was superb, really good choice of cold sausages, vegetables for breakfast, the buffet dinner worth the for star.
The wine card consisting at least 100 wine sorts, mostly from Badacsony region.
We tried the wellness with sauna, jacuzzi and indoor pool, I had also a wonderful massage.
The Balaton lake is 100m away, okay the water is not clear like the sea, but if you are a good swimmer, you find clear parts.
We went for a halfday tour with wine tasting, we went up the Badacsony hill. There is a superb viewpoint at the top of the hill, sensational photopoint.
All in all, I really recommend this brand new hotel, kindly staff, superb food and wine.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowman6705
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Dear "snowman6705"

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your review, hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I found Bonvino very overpriced for what they are offering: they call themselves a wellness hotel, but it only has a small wellness area, nothing really special. The swimming pool is very nice and has a decent size.
The rooms are nice, they have a very feminine design though. There are parts of the building that seem to be unfinished, like the cealing of the rooms.

What was very disappointing to me that the shower creams and the room amenities were low quality, I expected more for the price we have paid for the room.
The breakfast was TERRIBLE! Starting from the fact that instead of orange juice only sirups and apple juice were available. Although it looked like a nice breakfast, with a closer look one can see that they use very cheap stuff, cheap salamis, cheap coldcuts.... the fruit basket, I mean, com'on, was a small plate with 2 oranges and an old apple!!!
4 stars???

But the best comes now: we asked for a cappuccino and an american coffee. The lady told me she would prepare it, after 5 min I went back to her and she said she was about to prepare them. Then she told me that it was for extra payment!!!!
So for a 100 EUR you cant get a cappuccino duing breakfast included in the price? How is that so? I was sooo angry.
Then I wanted to talk to the manager about it, but I was informed that the manager on duty was just on his way to work.
We had eggs for breakfast: it was so oily that I felt sick the whole morning.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank szirat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony, responded to this review, June 30, 2012
Dear Szirat,

We are grateful for your feedback. I am very sorry to hear that your stay with us did leave mixed feelings.We took immediate actions regarding the speed at which coffee is prepared as it is our aim that you could enjoy our premium coffee as quickly as possible. Actually, we do offer free (and unlimited) coffee and tea to every guest for breakfast only espressos and cappucinos are charged. We are very proud to be able to offer our signature, home-made elderflower sirop in addition to the 100% fruit juices which we change daily.
We'll double our effort to ensure that only high quality food reach our guest. Our Chef and her team are continuosly looking for local produces for our breakfast and dinner buffet which already enable us to offer amongst other goat cheese, Mangalitza products and organic milk from nearby farms.

Many people notice the unpainted ceilings -it is an integral part of the hotel's design making artistic references to the various icons of wine making. This one in particular refers to the modern wine cellars that are a pleasure to discover in Hungary or abroad.

We hope that you'll give us a second chance to give you a holiday experience that will be just amazing.

Best Regards,

Peter Torok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badacsonytomaj
10.4 mi away
Wellness Hotel Katalin
Wellness Hotel Katalin
#1 of 1 in Gyenesdias
346 reviews
21.7 mi away
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
#1 of 19 in Balatonfured
699 reviews
7.3 mi away
Hunguest Hotel Pelion
Hunguest Hotel Pelion
#1 of 2 in Tapolca
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Silverine Lake Resort
Silverine Lake Resort
#2 of 19 in Balatonfured
197 reviews
16.2 mi away
Ket Korona Hotel
Ket Korona Hotel
#1 of 6 in Balatonszarszo
84 reviews
9.5 mi away
Zenit Hotel Balaton
Zenit Hotel Balaton
#1 of 1 in Vonyarcvashegy
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony

Property: Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony
Address: Park u. 22, Badacsonytomaj 8258, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Veszprem County > Badacsonytomaj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Badacsonytomaj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony is a new hotel with a unique design concept. It offers luxurious relaxation facilities,a wide range of high quality local wines and Hungarian cuisine in the centre of Badacsonytomaj only 300 metres from the shores of Lake Balaton. Each of the stylish rooms is air-conditioned and features a balcony, a flat-screen TV, a minibar and an elegant bathroom with bathrobes. Hotel Bonvino Badacsony has an indoor pool with a jacuzzi, Finnish and infra saunas, steam cabin, child pool section and specially developed Spa treatments. Children and parents enjoy our indoor playroom and outdoor playground. Countless wine-related activities as well as beautiful natural trails await! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing