We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem surrounded by vineyards”
Review of Pension Obester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pension Obester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Little gem surrounded by vineyards”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We've just spent 5 days at Obester penzio and we loved everything about this 200 years old noble home,the surroundings are fabulous,the view of the vineyards and the lake are breathtaking!
The owners really make you feel at home the moment you walk in!It is a family,couple,solo great place,
It might look busy but never feels like it,peace quite relaxing time best describes the place!
If one thing is missing, and that is a personal opinion! Is an infinity pool with the lake in the background!
We loved it and will be back soon hopefully.
Thank you Catharina,Zoltan,Marha,and Hector.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Emmanuel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
23
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

All I wanted to do was sit quietly beside a lake somewhere after the frenzy and heat of the 2013 F1 Grand Prix and read my Kindle, not even really to talk with anyone after a gruelling seven months at work. This Guest House - "Óbester Panzio & Grill" in Badascony is a perfect getaway to allow you to do just that. Catharina and Zoltan are two of the best hosts you could hope to meet; charming, helpful, kind, knowledgable, thoughtful and able to help you find the kind of break you need. Nothing was too much trouble and they particularly went out of their way to help me find suitable restaurants serving vegetarian food in the village - (quite a challenge once you're outside of Budapest!). The breakfast buffet choice is wide and varied - great for veggies and meat-eaters alike. Catharina & Zoltan stock a great selection of wines in their own cellar which makes sitting on the terrace, watching dusk fall over the lake in the warmth of a summer's evening, accompanied with a glass of chilled, crisp Riesling, a simple and pure joy.
The room was excellent value for money, perfectly big enough for me, comfortably furnished including TV, spotlessly clean, (additionally equipped with a decent sized fridge), free WiFi, and the air-conditioning was a huge boost given the temperatures have been sky-high during my visit to Hungary. The location is idyllic, slightly away from the hustle and bustle of the village, with glorious views over Lake Balaton. I would recommend you either hire a car whilst here or at least a bicycle so you can get out and about to explore the scenery of this beautiful wine-growing region of Hungary. Otherwise it takes about fifteen minutes to walk to the village centre, 20 minutes to the beach. If travelling from Budapest, avoid the train if you can - it takes forever and stops everywhere, although it is cheap. Better to hire a car and drive from Budapest to Badascony / Lake Balaton as then at least you have that freedom to explore once here.
Would I come again to Badascony? In a heartbeat - but with a car. Would I stay at Óbester again? Without a doubt. I don't think you could beat it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KvB09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Zoltan and Catharina will make sure you enjoy yourself. Cosy and cool, relaxing and the ambience is just embracing and friendly. Enjoy the wine, the BBQ and not least the amazing view of the lake. If you´re looking for a Balaton experience, this is it. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: There´s a view from every room, really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is at an excellent location on the lake away from any of the towns. To get to the wine tasting place, you follow the row of grapes right behind your room.

Host and hostess were very accomidating. While we were out, Zoltan was going to make us dinner reservations at one place we requested. They were closed due to rain. So he called the other place right by. When they didn't answer, he drove over there to make us reservations for that evening.

Common area is very nice and open to guests. The breakfast was fine. The rooms were clean and good for a B & B.

I would recommend staying here if you plan on seeing the North shore of Balaton the west side.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stanspec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sc
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We enjoyed our stay wtih Catharina and Zoltan in their peaceful guest house. Our room was small but clean with great views of the surrounding area.

Catharina and Zoltan were warm and engaging hosts that recommended sights to explore and restaurants. We sampled some of the local wines on their lovely terrace and purchased a lovely white wine of the region.

They live in a quaint village close to the lake and several interestin sites. A nice place to stay not far from Budapest and the wine regions.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smokie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had a really nice time here during our 3 nights' stay with a family of seven adults. The owners (Catharina and Zoltan) organised a wine tasting for us in the hotel's own wine cellar. We also had dinner and breakfast on the grill terrace and enjoyed the beautiful views. The hotel is about 15 minutes walk away from the 'strand' (beach) but if you're not up to it you can get a 'hegyi taxi' (mountain taxi) for about £5. Loads of places to visit/walk to nearby and an abundance of restaurants and wineries. Some of us stayed in the smaller rooms, while our parents/older reatives stayed in the slightly larger, more comfortable ones, so worked out perfectly for comfort/etc.

The only comment I'd make is that we could have done with a radio in the room (there is TV, though) and maybe a communal computer in the living room would be a nice touch (although there is one on the beach if you're desperate to get online.)

So overall, our stay was brilliant and made even better by Catharina's and Zoltan's helpfulness and cheerfulness. This was our second stay at Obester and we're already planning the third!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank novakivi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stayed at Obester for two nights. The hotel is beautiful, the host family is very nice and the grill dinners are excellent. But the best of all is the magnificent view from the terrace. Overall great value for money.
It is very challenging to find any issues with this hotel. If any the hotel may not be the best if you want to be close to the lake's shore (although it is just a 10-15 min walk away). But if you are looking for a beautiful countryside location and tranquility (as we were) this is the best place around.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uriaste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Badacsonytomaj
22.3 mi away
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
Anna Grand Hotel Wine & Vital
#1 of 19 in Balatonfured
728 reviews
8.7 mi away
Zenit Hotel Balaton
Zenit Hotel Balaton
#1 of 1 in Vonyarcvashegy
128 reviews
7.0 mi away
Albergo Giardino Hotel
Albergo Giardino Hotel
#1 of 4 in Balatongyorok
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.0 mi away
Sarffy House
Sarffy House
#1 of 1 in Dorgicse
84 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hullam Hostel
Hullam Hostel
#2 of 10 in Revfulop
36 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Halaszkert
Hotel Halaszkert
#4 of 6 in Badacsonytomaj
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Obester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Obester

Property: Pension Obester
Address: Romai ut 203, Badacsonytomaj 8261, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Veszprem County > Badacsonytomaj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Badacsonytomaj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Pension Obester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing