We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place around!”
Review of Pension Obester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pension Obester
Reviewed May 14, 2012

This Pension is one of the nicest places we have been to.
The whole place is very beautiful, old and traditional but fully renovated in 2011 with new beds and has a lovely feeling to it.

It´s very well situated in the best wine region of Hungary, and close to Lake Balaton with it´s beaches. We rented a car at the airport and it´s a two hour drive from Budapest. You can also go there by train, but expect a slower ride. A car may be prefered, since the area is quite rural.

The Hungarian-Swedish family that runs the pension is so sweet and caring for their guests.
Of course they speak excellent english too. They also serve the best barbecue dinner at night in the pension´s garden. So good!

During the days we drove around the area which itself is very scenic and beautiful. We had typical lunch dishes, langos and palacsinta, in different small places. We also did some excellent wine tasting in local wineries situated all over the place. The prices in the area are very reasonable.

We will definitely go back. Preferably in the fall when the grapes are ripening.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (48)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 48 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

We spent a couple of amazing days at Obester. We will come back sooner or later. It's a fantastic place to stay with stunning views over wineries, lake, stars.... we totally love it!

The room had great views, fridge, and very clean.The whole pension has a very nice decoration that it makes you feel very comfortable The breakfast was fantastic to start the day with energy. Also try the palinka!!

The location is great, near by some really nice towns, great wineries and a big etc!!

The owners are really nice and they will take care of you.We had the pleasure to spend an evening with them having some wine testing. It was the highlight of the trip.

we love the dogs and the cat!!

Best

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Giro_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

We spent four wonderful days at Obester, and will return for many more!

This place has it all: beautiful surroundings, nice rooms, relaxed atmosphere, and a friendly staff that makes you feel right at home. Oh, and great wines!

Also, don't miss the BBQ evenings under the walnut tree, overlooking Lake Balaton and all the vineyards.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sverker B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2011

We stayed here for one night on a two-day trip to sample the wines. Obester is a good base for the area, it's in a lovely location on the hillside and has views down to the lake from the patio area.

I like the outdoor area. In the summer and at the weekends during peak season, there is a grill open and it's probably a great place to hang out and sip a glass of wine or two.

Obester doesn't get full marks because the apartment we had was really quite small (two-bedroom apartment). One bedroom was a good size but the other one barely fitted in two single beds. The bathroom and kitchenette were tiny, and probably would have been a hassle if we were staying longer or had attempted to do some cooking. There was also a dining table in our apartment, but no sofa for lounging around. With all five of us in the apartment at the same time, we felt a bit cramped.

As we had a small kitchenette, we did not get breakfast included in our rate, so we paid extra for it. The breakfast buffet was okay, but nothing to write home about. I felt like Obester could have made more of an effort here.

We came at the beginning of September and a lot of the vineyards were not open for tasting during the week. If you are coming outside of the peak season, which ends at the end of August, then it's best to plan to come at the weekend, as most places are open then. We still had a fab time at the vineyards that were open though and had great sunny weather during our trip.

Obester could easily get five stars if it just makes a few improvements, like improving the breakfast, being better at responding to emails and reservation requests, and installing a larger kitchenette in the apartments.

I really recommend a trip to Badacsony. The area is beautiful, the wines very good and it's great for some long walks (if the weather is not too hot).

Room Tip: I think there are two apartments available, I think we might have had the smaller one. Ours was up t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tinhtinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Just as everyone else has said this place is lovely. Just stayed for one night on our travels around the lake but really it should have been more. The views are wonderful, the hosts are Hungarian / Swedish and really look after you. In the evening they get the bar b q going and cook very good food for you if you wish to take the option of eating up there - take it. We ate on the patio overlooking the lake and it was great.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank mikeinstanton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We spent only one night at Obester, travelling through and decided to stop for a night at Lake Balaton. The minute we arrived we could relax, enjoy the breathtaking view and the friendly hospitality. Our room was nice with a view to the lake, though the bathroom was a bit tiny for us (we are both tall), but the place was quiet and after having a lovely breakfast (expect something better than the average hotel breakfasts) we could happily continue our trip. Next time we'll definitely plan on staying longer than a day. Thank you!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erika043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Went last week with my girlfriend and were just blown away by the stunning view of vineyards and the lake. Spent hours each day just watching the sun set slowly across everything below with a wonderful bottle of locally produced wine. The owner and his family were extremely attentive and very kind. Everything was clean and comfortable in a great country setting just outside of the small center. Certainly intend to return here again to enjoy the grill, some more wine, and that view. Compared to other options I've experienced around the Balaton, this was by far the best yet!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank huntour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Badacsonytomaj hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bonvino Wine and Spa Badacsony
0.8 mi away
Hotel Halaszkert
Hotel Halaszkert
#4 of 6 in Badacsonytomaj
23 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandahl Rezidencia
Sandahl Rezidencia
#2 of 10 in Badacsonytomaj
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Balaton Eldorado Camping
Balaton Eldorado Camping
#5 of 10 in Badacsonytomaj
6 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bacchus Apartments
Bacchus Apartments
#1 of 10 in Badacsonytomaj
19 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Borbaratok
Hotel Borbaratok
#2 of 6 in Badacsonytomaj
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pension Obester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pension Obester

Address: Romai ut 203, Badacsonytomaj 8261, Hungary
Location: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Veszprem County > Badacsonytomaj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Badacsonytomaj
Price Range: $87 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Pension Obester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing