We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family Holiday”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of La Grange

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
24 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 11
Mayenne, Mayenne, Pays de la Loire

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

LionelG84...
2 reviews
“Family Holiday”
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We found La Grange very comfortable and spacious. We were a party of ten, but the accommodation was more than sufficient. Having four small children to look after we found the washing machine and dish washer a must. There were plenty of things for all tastes - DVDs, CDs, TVs, books, games, puzzles, bicycles and of course the swimming pool with lots of inflatables.
The owner provides lots of useful information before your visit, including the code for the wi-fi. This involves lots of letters and numbers and so we found the best way was to copy and past the code from the owners email. The only problem we encountered was finding La Grange once was had reached Menile, but perhaps we should have done more homework on Google maps. We had an excellent stay and would highly recommend La Grange

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The over-all accommodation provided was excellent
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KarenC67
Wiltshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great House, Great Area, Great Holiday”
Reviewed September 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were a family of 10 including teenagers and grandparents and this house suited us perfectly. This was our 4th year of staying in France in similar properties and this was by far the best house we have stayed in. The standard of the rooms was very high with plenty of space for everyone.
We loved the pool which is a good size and we definitely needed it with the hot weather we enjoyed.
The house is situated in a nice small village with an easy 5 minute stroll to the river which we fished on a number of occasions. The owners also provide bikes that we used often to cycle along the tow paths.
The nearby town of Chateau Gontier (5 minute car ride) was ideal for shopping, eating out and a local weekly market. We also went to the zoo which is a worthwhile visit and hired electric boats on the river.
We used the Golf course at Anjou which is a 20 minute car ride.
Communication with the owner was excellent both prior to and during our stay and we would not hesitate in recommending this wonderful holiday home to anyone.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louise F
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
“Realed France”
Reviewed September 6, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Lovely spacious house, ideal for our group which consisted of two families. Enough space for everyone to have their own space whilst being sociable too. Unfortunately the weather was a bit wet so we weren't able to be outdoors as much as we liked. Not that it stopped the children, having a pool is definitely a bonus. When the sun did finally come out, the patio was a sun trap and it was a short walk to the river. Menil is a sleepy village and we did venture along the river to Daon by canoe, bike and on foot. Overall a relaxed holiday in a beautiful house.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house itself - with a pool was an added bonus
Liked least: No freezer - even a small one would be good to make ice for drinks
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mothert20...
Clare, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Having read all these reviews you're going to book it aren't you...”
Reviewed July 16, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

As has been said this is a wonderful property: it's large spacious, airy, cool in 30+ degree temperatures. Some of the design elements just make me smile - a large mirror next to a door with a frame just like that of the door so you have a view into two different rooms in one trompe l'oeil is lovely. The standard of tiling is exquisite (I know I shouldn't base a whole holiday's enjoyment on quality workmanship) but it is all just so well done.

We are a cycling family and carved out several excellent routes which were quiet and flat(ish). There is plenty of room in the house to store expensive carbon machines. Being the owner of a clumsy teenage son I can also attest to the speed of the local casualty unit.

The pool is heated to quite a degree so under 1 yr olds were quite happy in there for extended periods.

You will probably have forgotten this by the time you go but If you approach by the southerly (suggested) route the road as arrow straight and les flics know this and are out with their cameras on a Saturday - I think business was brisk for them.

We had a few problems with the router. there is a locked office and the router is in there. Again you won't remember this (and won't be able to access it due to said router problems) but just in case you have the memory of Stephen Hawking the fuse to the router is on the bottom row of the fuse box and labelled 'bureau'. A quick flick off and on will reset it and normal service will be resumed.

There isn't too much of a touristy nature nearby and it's akin to Luton pretending to be a 'London' Airport with Chateau-Gontier claiming to be in the Loire but we weren't there for the culture so no issues from us on that.

We'll be back I'm sure.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter L
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic house”
Reviewed September 12, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Brilliant week in the sunshine - great pool - loads of space - we went as two families with teenage children who were in the pool most of the week. Chateau Gontier only about 10 minutes away by car with good restaurants and plenty of shops. Would go again

Date of stay: July 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DKTripper
Koege, Denmark
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
“Super duper”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Excellent house and really nice heated pool. Perfect communication and instructions from the owner. Very recommended.

Only 1 hours drive from Le Mans if you're there at race week :)

Date of stay: June 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KLG644
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Every thing we anticipated and more”
Reviewed May 26, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We were a group of 7 mature male cyclists,and having travelled through the area some years before we wanted a base from which to explore the countryside in more detail.We were
looking for a large Gite that wold accommodate our specific requirements of seven beds and the Gite owner was very helpful even buying another single bed to meet our requirements.
On arrival the Gite owner was there to greet us with a bottle of wine and some milk (if we needed it)
The Gite was everything it said in the advert with spacious rooms and good quality furniture and equipment .
The sun shone and the tow paths along the picturesque Mayenne were flat,and when we felt fit there were some more challenging rides in the beautiful surrounding countryside.
The village campsite bar/restaurant also acted as a Depot de Pain, with a quaint hand powered ferry taking you across the river.
The next door village of Daon about 7K away had a lovely Auberge doing an excellent 4 course lunch for 11€.
Everyone agreed the Gite and the area were well worth visiting again.

Date of stay: May 2014
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.